We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Will O' the Wisp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oakland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Will O' the Wisp
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A relaxing place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

From Pgh, we've been staying at Will O'Wisp for at least 8yrs. We find the staff pleasant and our room is always very clean and comfortable as well as nicely decorated. In some of the units, the bathrooms could use some updating, but they are very clean and the towels always look brand new. There are some rooms where the view is obstructed by trees, but with the new website, you get to see before booking just what it is you're getting. It is also convenient to have Ace's Run Restaurant right there where we have enjoyed their food. The views are breathtaking and we like to sit and watch the boaters go by. The bottom line, I would and have recommended Will O' to my friends, and they've also enjoyed staying there. We feel welcomed there as well as cozy and comfortable but most of all safe. What more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Visit the website first to see exactly what the rooms look like, especially the views and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fran T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    31
    15
    8
    4
See reviews for
33
32
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Since the rooms are individually owned its hit or miss but we were lucky to have a clean, comfortable room on the 7th floor. The bathroom was a bit dated but the main living area was nice and we had a great view for our deck. There were two plastic chairs and table on the deck so nothing fancy but it suited our needs for the weekend. You need to really look at the pictures on the web site so you know what your getting and they also have pictures of the view. The hotel is dated and but it was not dirty or anything. We did not use the maid service. Since we were there only for two days we just asked for towels and didnt have them clean the room.
They have a great big pool up to 8' deep and two hot tubs. They also have a sauna and raquetball court and big game room. A lot of amenties for down time while your there.
We were given two big clunky brass keys to carry around as mentioned in previous posts and one is used to gain entry into the condos but on one occasion the main door was propped open. No keycards used here but its wasnt a problem or a deal breaker for us.
They had small "beach" area out back. What was advertised as a sandy beach was in reality a big patch of dirt. Again not a big deal but if your looking to put your bare feet in some sand it will be a disapointment. All in all we had a good time though and enjoyed our stay plus it was centrally located to either McHenry or the middle of town in Oakland.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FFSOMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The Will O' the Wisp is composed of individually owned condominiums, which are then rented by the hotel. While the public areas of the hotel were quite nice, including the pool and fitness room, our room was a big disappointment. Although spacious, it appeared that the furnishings and decor had been purchased at a furniture liquidation sale 40 years ago, and had been used in that room continuously. Lots of non-matching prints, pilled bed and sofa coverings, and lots of plastic flower arrangements. The balcony overlooking the lake had a nice view, but enjoyment was marred by rust stains on the tiled floor, generated from the metal legged furnishings. Of course, the bathroom had not been updated either. The disappointment in our room was compounded by the bad luck that it rained the entire 3 days of our trip, and there's not much to do in the area if it's raining. After two days in the room, we just couldn't spend anymore time there, and ended our trip a day early, even though we had to forfeit the room cost. The room was very expensive too, renting at $180/night.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank EllenEll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk, Maryland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed in room 307. We had a view of the lake which was gorgeous. Some trees did block some of the view. I was disappointed with the kitchen and living room area, they are in desperate need of updating. The loft area/bedroom and bathroom was very nicely decorated and clean. The maid service was great no problems. The indoor pool was the deepest and largest pool we have ever seen at a condo/hotel or even resorts. I loved the hot tubs very nice and relaxing and clean. The building itself was kept clean but the place needs some updating. I would recommend this condo anyway regardless of the outdated features.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theresa g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Have been going to the willo wisp for 27 years now they have a new managment company and things are not the same. I have no place to park boat trailer, they have increased the prices and now I am charged a 30.00 booking fee.....Too much when there are so many other choices on the lake....Sad
Also they put us in the loft suites beauiful room, but the trees blocked view of the lake.....Very unhappy!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

My husband and I took our 9-year old for a 2 night stay on Easter weekend. I thought it would be crowded in the Deep Creek area, but was pleasantly surprised to find the area very quiet. We stayed in Unit 309 and would recommend it to readers. It is a one level, one bedroom unit with patios in both rooms. It was nicely furnished and the two beds were quite comfortable. We decided to forego skiing but did take advantage of the Wisp's snow tubing and mountain coaster. The coaster was the best part of our trip.
Although it was a holiday weekend, the Will O' the Wisp was fairly deserted. If we had had the time we would have used the pool - it looked clean and quite inviting. The building also has a racquetball court, game room and small playground equipment at the lake level.
As others have mentioned, housekeeping was spotty. They refolded our towels, emptied the trash, gave us more shampoo, but did not remake the beds. Take your own papertowels.
As another contributor has mentioned, security was a concern. Although you need a key for building access, I left our side of the building, went out the backdoor and entered into the main part to go to the lobby. When I returned the same way, the outside door had not closed all the way. Anyone could have entered in from the lake side to the building. I'm not one to be spooked by things like this, but it may be a concern to others.
If you like candy, check out CandyLand in the main part of Oakland. For a good salad, try the spinach salad at Brenda's pizzeria. The pizza bites were great too. The visitor's center just before the turn to Wisp is full of information.
Be aware that the office closes at 10:00 p.m. Since we hadn't arrived by 8:00, the office called us to check on our arrival time. They accomodated us by leaving the key in an arranged a place. It was a great weekend and we will definitely stay at the WO'TW again.

Room Tip: The website has great photos of the individual rooms. There are a variety of room layouts (single l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeftCoaster3400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

My family just returned from 4 nights at Will O' the Wisp. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo unit. The unit is a nice size - just big enough for our family of 5. We loved the indoor pool and hot tub (one of the reasons we stayed there!). The pool and the hot tub were clean and warm. The building itself is clean and was relatively quiet. The workout room and laundry room looked nice too. We appreciated being able to park under cover during all the snow. Management seemed friendly and helpful. When we arrived, the unit was clean and ready for our use. However, housekeeping was spotty. The first day we went skiing, housekeeping came, replenished our towels and dish towel and hastily pulled the covers up on our beds. The second day, housekeeping didn't show up until we were back in our unit after 4pm. Given that we were back and in the midst of showering, I simply asked for some clean towels. The third day, housekeeping came while we were out, but the beds were not made and our dirty dishtowel/rag were not replaced or cleaned up. Just some dirty bath towels were taken away and our garbage was emptied. None of the dresser drawers worked properly; I kept worrying that they would fall out on my kids or they were a struggle to open. Furthermore, the kitchen was missing a few basic elements like a measuring cup. There wasn't anything to clean with - if a small dustbuster had even been available I could have vacuumed up the goldfish crumbs! Finally, the outdoor keys were a real pain. At one point we could not get it to work at all and my husband had to go through the main office to get a new key. I shudder to think of what would have happened if we had gotten back too late and the office was closed. The restaurant is currently closed, too, which we did not know when we made our reservation. Still, we had a great time and would consider staying there again. The most important things (clean, quiet etc) were there but the management should consider some updating and dealing with inconsistencies like housekeeping and their keys.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oakland
3.4 mi away
The Lodges at Sunset Village
14.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hazelton/Bruceton Mills
0.5 mi away
Inn At Deep Creek
Inn At Deep Creek
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Wisp Resort Hotel and Conference Center
0.6 mi away
Suites at Silver Tree
Suites at Silver Tree
#1 of 3 in Oakland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blue Moon Rising
Blue Moon Rising
#1 of 2 in McHenry
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Will O' the Wisp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Will O' the Wisp

Property: Will O' the Wisp
Address: 20160 Garrett Hwy, Oakland, MD 21550-7133
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Garrett County > Oakland
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Will O' The Wisp is the premier condominium resort at Deep Creek Lake. The private pool. sandy beach, and enjoyable onsite dining will make you want to take a second vacation! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Will o` The Wisp Hotel Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing