We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful”
Review of Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #86 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is an older hotel and does not have an elevator for it's 3 stories. However, the staff totally make up for this. The woman working at the front office was fantastic. She was very helpful and knowledgable. I would definitely stay here again. The room was a decent size and very clean. The hotel is right on the boardwalk. It has great parking. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

My family has been meeting up at the Shoreham for some 10 years now for our yearly long weekend get together at the beach. The location is excellent and we've experienced clean rooms and friendly staff, Angel has always been accommodating with our bookings.

Yes this is an older hotel and the rooms aren't decorated, but we go to Ocean City to be at the beach and venture out to the boardwalk and not stay in our rooms all day long, so not a big deal. The beach is right there. The price for an ocean front hotel on the beach and boardwalk is great.

A place to sleep with clean sheets and shower is all that we need. There is a long flight of stairs to get to the first level, but I look at it this way.... it helps burn a couple of calories from the food and drinks. We plan on staying there again next year too.

I agree with the detailed review by ausgezeichnet42, my sentiments exactly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AutumnRed13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed there in July and the room was filthy. The sheets and comforter were stained and dirty. The owner was very argumentative and nasty towards our complaint. The shower head kept falling off as well. The location was the only upside, and is right on the beach/boardwalk. We left a day early due to the conditions of the room.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FirefighterBull14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorehamoc, Manager at Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

I'm sorry that your stay was uncomfortable. the reason you were not refunded your first night stay was due to you walked pass the front desk at least three times and never complained. when you wanted to check out at 5pm the following day is when you complained. I would have like to correct the problem by providing you new linen or even upgraded the room. I'm not sure where the pictures came from but when I inspected the room, it was clean. there was a henna tattoo stain on comforter and I apologized to your husband and was very happy with the one night returned and apologized for you. our policy is we don't offer early check outs money back, but we did refund the one night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just this weekend I went to the beach with my aunt, mom, and cousin and it was a last minute decision to head to maryland. Never again will we stay there. Too many flights of stairs, no elevator. Had to carry our luggage up 3 flights of stairs. The floor was uneven, stains on the bed, small bathroom, the water for the shower went from freezing to hot every second. The tv was positioned to the bathroom and we had to stand in front of the tv in order to watch it. The only positive thing i have to say about this hotel is the view from the hotel and that it was right on the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Don't stay here. i suggest staying at the quality inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank olivia_947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorehamoc, Manager at Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

I'm very sorry you were unhappy with your stay at the Shoreham Hotel, I'm not sure if you complained at the front desk so we could have fixed the issue or moved you to a better room. I hope that in the future you would give us a second chance to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I stayed here in June 2014 for a long weekend. We are both serious beach lovers, and this hotel was exactly what we wanted and expected. The location is simply amazing, and there is ample free parking right behind the hotel. You could park your car here and then not use it again for your entire stay. One caveat: there are no elevators, and the rooms starting with "1" are actually 1.5 flights of steps up. We were in room 306 (recommended), so it was 3.5 flights up. The room was small, sure, but it was clean and had everything we needed for a beach trip: bed, window a/c unit, dresser, mini-fridge, flat TV, free wi-fi, closet, and attached bathroom. Decor is, to be honest, nonexistent -- no pictures on the walls, no throw pillows, no curtains. The shower is a stall, not a whole tub, and the sink is just a sink with no counter. But who cares? You're at the beach! The staff is friendly and nice, and our room was made up in the morning each day.
The building is old, so yes, some of the floors are not level (this is something many reviewers have noticed), but to that I say: Who cares? If you are like us and plan to spend as little time in your hotel room as possible, this shouldn't even be a factor for you. The hotel is on top of Shenanigan's Irish pub, but we couldn't hear the pub at all from room 306. The a/c is a tiny window unit, but the room is tiny, so it works just fine. We were there during "senior week," which always seems to go on for the whole summer, so we'd worried that the hallways would be loud -- nope, not even. They do not allow visitors to come to the guest rooms, so I think that discourages the hard partiers. Now, there are no balconies, so "ocean view" is not going to be as spectacular as it is on some oceanfront properties, but again: Who cares? If you want to see the ocean, just go out on the boardwalk. This hotel is old-school OC. If you are looking for fluffy comforters, free bottled water, room service, elevators, and plush carpet, look elsewhere. But if you want a good place to lie down between trips to the beach and boardwalk, this place is a solid choice. Have fun in OC!

Room Tip: Clean rooms, top floor is quiet, but no elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ausgezeichnet42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We are have been staying at the Shoreham for 8 years and we make our reservation with Angel the manager everytime. She and her staff are always so accomodating to us. It is one of the older hotels on the boardwalk, but that doesn't take away from the comfort and convenience of this property. When you walk out of your hotel, you are right in the middle of everything at 4th street on the board walk. The inlet is only a short walk away. This truly is the best value when staying in ocean city.

-Keller's

Room Tip: If you a tub as opposed to stand in shower, request it because not all of the rooms have the same ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shorehamoc, Manager at Shoreham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

we want to thank you so much for your continued support, and are glad you love it here

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#39 of 104 in Ocean City
544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#89 of 104 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#75 of 104 in Ocean City
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#40 of 104 in Ocean City
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#74 of 104 in Ocean City
67 reviews
0.2 mi away
Madison Beach Motel
Madison Beach Motel
#28 of 104 in Ocean City
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreham Hotel

Address: 309 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-7518
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range: £74 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Shoreham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing