We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #43 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

My husband and I have been staying at this hotel since 1966. It is one of the oldest hotels in Ocean City, but is soooooo well maintained and updated regularly. Its hands down, the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in. The rooms are large and airy, the beds are comfortable and the atmosphere of the whole place is just charming. Our room had a microwave, refrigerator and HD TV with WIFI. The thing we like the best is the porch. Its lined with rocking chairs and it overlooks the famous boardwalk - just feet from the amusement pier and the widest beach in Ocean City. There is a heated swimming pool though we never got a chance to use it, because we were too busy checking out the boardwalk, all of the sights that are within walking distance and the marinas on the bay side. I can't stress enough how nice it is to walk down the hustling, bustling boardwalk and enter the lobby of the Atlantic - peace and quiet - and newly decorated. We usually only stay 2 or 3 nights, but don't even have to move the car once - everything you need is right there. We wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank msnrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Atlantic Hotel is the BEST place to stay in Ocean City, Md. The staff are wonderful...from the check-in staff to the housekeeping staff. They are always friendly and remember you from year to year. Tammy, Hskpg. Supervisor always makes me feel welcome. Her daughter is working there now also. That just proves that Tara and Charlie are great people to work for...that the 2nd generation wants to work for the Atlantic Hotel. You can't be any closer to the boardwalk then walking out the front door and there you are!!!! I can't say enough about this Hotel...!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Just got back from 5 beautiful days in Ocean City, Md. Had another great stay at the Atlantic Hotel. Mary checked us in and was wonderful. Connie our housekeeper was very nice and did a great job. Carl and Ronald came out to our vehicle and carried our things to the elevator and then in to our room because the only luggage cart they had was broken. The room was nice and clean and smelled great. The bed was a little softer than we like but we will continue to stay there and we recommend the hotel to our friends. The hotel had new wall paper and furniture covers in the lobby. It was bright and beautiful. The best hotel for the money. It's not fancy but it's clean and the staff are great and it's on the boardwalk. Get a room with a fridge and microwave. It's a little more but worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a fridge and microwave.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nannyp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

This is our favorite place to stay in OCMD. We have been going there for the last 25 years and the Atlantic is where we stay the most. The location is great the prices are reasonable, and the rooms are clean. The hotel is family owned and cared for and it shows. It’s where old school charm meets modern standards.

Room Tip: If you don't get a room with a fridge bring a cooler.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeteDodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends who go to OC regularly. They said "it is clean, not fancy but a good value." We couldn't agree more. If you want to be in the thick of things on the boardwalk, this is an excellent location: close to Ripley's and Jolly Roger amusement park. The staff was friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed sitting on the porch/deck above the boardwalk to people watch in the evenings.

Room Tip: We had a ground level room on the courtyard. It was easy access to the beach and quiet. The only dra...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiptopeke3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our second year at the Atlantic. Click through to my old post for the Pros and Cons of the place itself. The staff of the hotel is very friendly from the front desk staff to housekeeping. You can tell it is a family operation. As I said in my previous place the hotel is old but they keep it clean, both when cleaning between guests and every day while you are there. This year we requested a specific room since last year we were told it was ideal for families. We got room 11 which is located on the ground floor. It was nice not having any steps but the room had two minor issues. First off there was a minor odor of mildew near the bathroom. It was either in the bathroom itself or the carpet in front of it. You only noticed it when going in and out of the bathroom. The other is that due to the fact the room is in the courtyard there are bright lights in front of the windows and since the windows only have pull down shades and thin white curtains, the light from outside is pretty bright. The room was pretty quiet compared to other rooms that we checked out (our family had 3 different rooms) since there was no lobby or rooms above us. The room seemed a little smaller then our two bed hotel room we had last year but the bathroom was much newer and actually had the sink in the bathroom instead of outside like the room last year.

One of my complaints from last year was that they didn't seem to clean the deck enough from the seagull droppings. This year there were seagull droppings but they seemed to just be from that day, not weeks worth like last year. You can't beat the price for this place and also have a hotel that is so clean and convenient. All in all a great trip. We will probably be back next year.

Room Tip: Room 1-11 are on the ground floor. 100 and 200 number rooms are actually the 3rd and 4th floor.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marauder40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

After arriving late to Ocean City, we hoped to be able to sleep in and relax in our room the next day. (Hard enough to do since the queen bed we paid for was actually a small double bed). And then the cleaning crew hit the hallways the next morning at 11 like a navy platoon on a recon mission! Walkie-talkies blaring! Their shouting could easily be heard through the paper thin walls. At about 4:30 we went to the front desk to request that our room be cleaned. The attendant informed us that the cleaning crew left at 4 and wouldn't be back until the next morning. "That's one way we keep our prices low" she said. Well, first of all, the prices weren't that low! When I asked if we could at least have some clean towels I was informed that, yes we could, if we brought our old dirty towels down to the front desk to trade for clean ones... When I recommended that it might be worth while to let guests know that if they don't have their room cleaned by 4, they will have to sleep on dirty sheets the next night, she shrugged her shoulders and said "I don't change my sheets every day". The rude and unprofessional behaviour of the staff here makes it impossible for me to recommend this hotel. Won't be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlightCase44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#88 of 104 in Ocean City
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#69 of 104 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#55 of 104 in Ocean City
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.8 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 104 in Ocean City
1,016 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lankford Hotel
Lankford Hotel
#17 of 104 in Ocean City
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: Wicomico Street, PO Box 120, Ocean City, MD 21843
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing