We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel!”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #41 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel!”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

First let me tack a second to say that this hotel is AMAZING!!! It is in a wonderful location (right on the boardwalk) with direct access right to it! I love how there are 4 separate entrances, and I especially love the one for the bathers. The staff is extremely friendly and everything is impeccably clean and tidy!! This hotel has a really old fashioned charm, but everything about the hotel is updated. The rooms are very spacious........we stayed in a two queen bed room. We also opted to have the mini refrigerator and microwave in the room as well. Even thought this hotel is older, it didn't matter, everything about the room was updated (flat panel television, the shower had great water pressure, tons of plugs etc...)!! I love that the sink is outside of the bathroom, because that way someone can still get ready while someone is showering. There were enough outlets in the room to charge all of our cell phones and tablets (oh did I mention they have wifi in the rooms)! Some guests were complaining that their wifi wasn't great, but we had no issues will on the network (also you can get it in your room, so what is there to complain about....some hotels make you stay in the lobby while you use their wifi, so this is a perk)! Another nice thing about the room was the double doors. There was the actual door that went to the floor that you closed during the evening hours, but while your in your room you can leave that one open and use the little secondary door (it was almost like a dressing room door with slats, but it locked) it is a nice little feature because we had family in the room across from us and it was nice to just use that door so we could hear when they were approaching! The cleaning staff is great, very friendly, and you could smell how clean the rooms were after they were done tidying up! Love the decks that look out at the boardwalk and the beach with all the rocking chairs, this makes up for the lack of balconies on the rooms. Everything about this hotel is great!! The only thing I suggest is that if you have trouble with stairs ask to stay on the lower floor because their elevator is still old fashioned (they need someone from their staff to run the elevator, but we never had any issues getting someone when we needed to transport beach gear from the top floor to the lowest level) there was always someone willing to get it when needed. Anyway this hotel is amazing and I'm sure glad that we stayed there!! Thank you Atlantic staff for a great summer stay! We cannot wait to book our vacation for next summer!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajd2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    59
    16
    5
    7
See reviews for
91
40
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

First let me make it clear that this is an excellent hotel. Superb location with direct access to the Boardwalk. Universally friendly, polite and helpful staff. A high standard of decor and cleanliness. A large parking lot, free for residents (other hotels please note). However this is also an old hotel, and that has to be taken into consideration. Rooms do not have individual balconies, for example, although there is a large deck on the first floor overlooking the Boardwalk, well supplied with rocking chairs where you can sit back and enjoy the evening firework displays and listen to the shrieks emanating from the adjacent amusement parks. There is a large, inviting lounge to sit in if the weather's bad. No restaurant or bar but there are plenty of those in the surrounding area.

Our twin-queen room was adequately large and spotlessly clean. Plumbing and electrics were modern, with a remarkable number of power outlets. Air conditioning was effective if somewhat noisy, otherwise the room was very quiet. There was a large flat screen television with multiple channels. But the bathroom was just that, a shower/tub and toilet, with a washbasin in the room but no vanity surfaces at all to spread out toiletries and only limited rails to hang towels. The closet was also rather small. There were no drapes and the pull-down blinds were not light-tight so the room was never dark due to the light level outside.

But if you have any difficulty with stairs you should be aware that the single elevator dates from 1930 and is in original condition with a rattling lattice gate and a big handle that swings backwards and forwards to drive it. It has to be operated by a staff member and there can be delays before one becomes available, particularly at night when only one person is on duty. There are four rooms categorized as Accessible on the ground floor but otherwise all rooms are up two or three flights.

Assuming the above limitations do not concern you (some people might find them an attraction!) you will have a wonderful time at this hotel which exudes far more character than the standardized high-rise establishments that proliferate further up the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have difficulty with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocripps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hughesville, MD
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is our fourth year in a row staying at Atlantic. This year, our family spread out in four rooms. Everyone loves the old world charm of the hotel and the roof top balcony overlooking the boardwalk. Perfect location to sit and watch, listen to the amusement park at the end of the boardwalk. First time we did not get in the pool but have in the past, very nice. Fair prices for Ocean City, wish they stayed open longer in the year - found out they close in September. The only reason I would stay somewhere else is if I had issues with stairs, there are a lot of stairs. Thanks for the great stay again this year Atlantic!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishtherapy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Continuous with other reviews, the location is awesome and the place is very clean. We had a 2 double bed room on the 2nd floor. Big enough for the 4 of us. Bathrooms are a little small. AC is nice and cold. This is our 4th time staying here and we will be back.

Room Tip: One bed may be too small for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Although we have been coming to Ocean City for years, this is the first time we've stayed at The Atlantic...and now we will never stay anywhere else! The entire hotel was absolutely pristine, exquisitely decorated, and extremely clean. The cleaning staff exceeded our expectations every day, which is a HUGE rarity in most boardwalk properties. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating, as were all staff members we encountered in the hallways. Nothing is better than rocking on a balcony as the sun sets over the ocean in front of you! If you are a history buff, the hotel is a hidden gem on the boardwalk...we will recommend to anyone staying in OC!

Room Tip: Double Queen room with microwave/fridge is spacious & lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divatina13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanesville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

First off. Hotel location was ideal for kids. Right by pier and inlet amusements. Hotel has a lot of "old world charm" which unfortunately in this instance means having to adjust. Such as Narrow stairways an ancient elevator and paper thin walls are just things you will have to tolerate if you stay here. Also our room 105, had a strong odor similar to cat piss. So much so we chose to throw away our beach towels rather than ride 2 hours in the car with them. But with all that I would still stay here maybe for a weekend or overnight if just me and the wife. That would be if and only if the hotel hired a new cleaning company. The hotel staff was courteous, PROFESSIONAL and spoke respectfully. Which I can not say for the cleaning crew, who are obviously a 3rd party contractor as they did not display any similar qualities possessed by the hotel staff. 4 nights stay and every morning the cleaning staff was in the hallway(with previously mentioned paper thin walls) hooting and hollering carrying on loudly with walkie talkies. Now idk most folks but I for one do not drop over a grand on a hotel to be awoken prior to 9am while on my yearly family vacation. With 2 mornings the noise starting before 8am. Then the icing on the cake was after 2 nights using the "do not enter" sign on the door telling house keeping not to come in. We get a note under our door basically stating they demand to be let in the room. And will come in on their own if need be... excuse me???? Well long story short we left early the 3rd morning for breakfast and the beach. The night before changing the do not disturb sign to the "housekeeping please clean room" same sign different side. Well my wife had to return to the room after approximately 4 hours to nurse our newborn. An d heard the head house keeper proclaim "ohhh hellz no. Day thinks i'z cleanin' dat room day crazy. Do not disturb sign up all day andz now day turn duh sign and wants it cleaned? I ain't doing dat at 2pm" this prompted my wife to let another housekeeper know the sign clearly was on the "clean room" side. At which point the head housekeeper shouted from 4 rooms away "WHAT? What she sayin'!??!!? So I suppose the housekeeping either can not read or are too lazy to check the signs. either way not the guest's problem. But the cleaning crew single handedly assured that my family would never set foot in this hotel ever again... IF MANAGEMENT/OWNERSHIP IS READING PLEASE HIRE A NEW CLEANING CONTRACTOR. OR IF NOT CONTRACTORS FIRE THEM ALL. NOT A ONE DID A SINGLE POSITIVE THING FOR US DURING OUR STAY.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

If you want fancy do not stay here, but if you want a clean , friendly staff, convenient location for a hotel, stay here. Lots of charm being a turn of century hotel. Still use a key to enter your room. There is an elevator, but you have to to summon staff to operate it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GPS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#87 of 103 in Ocean City
72 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#61 of 103 in Ocean City
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Talbot Inn
Talbot Inn
#65 of 103 in Ocean City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Walk Hotel
Beach Walk Hotel
#56 of 103 in Ocean City
111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: Wicomico Street, PO Box 120, Ocean City, MD 21843
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing