We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst service ever”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Let me start off by saying Linda the assistant manager and louane or however you spell her name she works overnight. They were the most rudest people i've ever had to deal with and racist at that. Linda sold our room that we booked two weeks ahead of time and tried to put us in a double bed room instead of the suite which we had originally booked.. she insisted that we didnt know what we were talking about and that she would gladly put us in the motel. She claimed the person who booked our room had worked there for 10 years and that she would never make a mistake she kept yelling at us as if we were idiots and we had our information that was given to us over the phone. She put us in a room where they put people who had been injured in a boat accident and had no where to stay "charity" room. Later that night the front desk lady louanne claimed she had better stuff to do then help me get my parking ticket ...do you think she helped and gave me one NO instead she yelled at me while an employee sat there along with her. I do not recommend this hotel to ANYONE! There racist, rude and dont give a damn about any customer whos a minority. Linda should be fired along with louanne. The room was sooo ugly and dirty! If you want a peaceful vacation STAY AWAY FROM THE DUNES HOTEL...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yolo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    544
    195
    62
    41
See reviews for
848
699
39
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I've been visiting OC annually for 35 years. This was my first stay at Dunes Manor, but wont be my last. The staff went out of their way to make you feel welcome. We needed a middle of the bed change-sick child- and the front desk was quick to get us new linens. The next day our housekeeper, Mildred, was unable to get to our room due to our early return from the beach. She made sure we had everything we needed in the interim until the evening cleaning crew arrived. Our room was serviced when we returned from dinner. Mildred followed up the next morning to make sure we were taken care of the previous night. I appreciated her gesture. The room was clean and perfect for a 3 day beach visit. The complimentary coffee in the morning and iced tea in the afternoon were a very nice conveniece. The mini fridge was helpful in keeping the Candy Kitchen chocolates in tact. Thank you for a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here for a week following the July 4th holiday. The location is great, right at the end of the boardwalk, and right on the beach. We were greeted with fantastic service throughout our stay. We also enjoyed the 'high tea' service every afternoon at 3 pm. We had stayed here over 15 years ago and we were surprised to see that there hasn't been much updating since we were last there. However, everything was not run down and was very clean, soviet feel that is a minor point. Overall, we had a great time, even our 3 kids enjoyed it. We are already planning our stay there next year.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlcates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have been in many hotels in Ocean city over the years and the Dunes Manor Hotel is on top of that list. The parking was plentiful, in front of the hotel and two more spots on the sides. Check in was easy and fast. We were traveling with a 9 month old, so the condition and the location of the hotel is very important to us. The rooms were good and the balcony overlooking the ocean was great. The location of the hotel was 2 blocks from the boardwalk, so the noise levels were down, yet the location was prime. The hotel staff were also very accommodating for the last check out due to the baby naps, we could check out a bit later without any fees, which was great. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to everyone from family to singles as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mikep06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

If you don't mind HARD beds and being policed this is your place. It looks nice from the outside and has a Fantastic deck but the lobby reminds me of a funeral home inside.

NEGATIVES:
1. BEDS are super HARD. Where we could not sleep and that is importantt to me.
2. They will not let you bring drinks in.
3. They police the pool and make you feel uncomfortable. It not like it's a nice pool and outsiders would try to break in and swim!
4. Don't feel welcome even though there is a bellboy at the door.
5. The pool area
6. Exercise room - not much there

POSITIVES:
1. Fantastic location
2. They have happy hour every day and the bar staff is wonderful and friendly.
3. It is a very quiet hotel because all the policing they do.
4. Great if you're over 60 and don't mind hard beds.
5. Rooms are clean
6. Happy hour
7. Dining
8. Nice deck Over looking the ocean

My final Thought is this hotel is nice if you don't have kids or if you are the quiet (boring)type and don't like activities. They do offer a few different dining options and happy hour.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelingdad38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Located on the beach the Dunes Manor Hotel's "ocean view" rooms (a premium accommodation) is no different than any other balcony ocean view - absolutely wonderful! This almost makes up for the dated accommodations that include low thread count bed sheets (sand papery feel made worst with sunburn) on very firm beds with standard foam pillows. Modest furnishings are anything but refined to include a tube TV to round out the features. Disappointing considering the premium rate. Despite this the room and bathroom were clean as they should be. DMH is also located at the end of the boardwalk which eliminates the heavy crowds. Beach access is a snap. Hungry for lunch or a cool beverage? A beach-side bar/cafe is conveniently located at the base of the hotel. In all, the accommodations were adequate at best and staff friendly and helpful. Pool and restaurant are also provided. However, with all there is to see and do and eat in Ocean City why bother?

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandDanielle05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for two nights. The hotel is at the begining of the Boardwalk but is very quiet. All rooms are oceanfront with great views, wonderful for sleeping to the sound of the waves. The rooms are a nice size and clean but could use with a bit of updating. There is some rust around the the door frames and could use new fixtures in the bathroom,And a flat screen tv would be nice. The large veranda with rocking chairs is a great place to enjoy the complimentary tea and crumpets. The staff was very accomadating by granting us an early check in and a late checkout.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
850 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Property: Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing