We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Kept Secret in Ocean City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Kept Secret in Ocean City”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This hotel will take you back to a quieter time as soon as you enter the doors. The Victorian period and the beach go hand in hand and this hotel has lots of Victorian touches, starting with the double staircase as you enter the lobby upstairs. Every guest room faces the ocean and all have been recently renovated to reflect the soft blues and greens of the beach. The beds are comfortable and housekeeping does a good job here. The restaurant is conveniently located on the Lobby level and serves breakfast (until 11:30), lunch and dinner. The food is very good and will satisfy your tastebuds. Vince, Pam and the serving staff make it a very pleasant experience. The entire hotel staff is friendly and very accommodating and you'll get to know them better with each visit because many of them have been here forever! Each afternoon, tea and krumpets are served. It will take you back to a more simpler time when families came to the beach to enjoy the sun, the ocean and the boardwalk. This hotel will not disappoint you - it is a gem among them all. Oh, and don't forget to check out the pool and jewelry store. On certain evenings, you'll hear the piano playing of Shirley Toms who's infectious laughter and playing ability will make you want to linger in the lobby until your eyes fall asleep as familiar melodies past and present are played on the grand piano. Try The Dunes Manor just once, and you'll be hooked like we have been for the last 10 years. We're retiring here thanks to the experiences we've had at The Dunes and Ocean City. Don't wait too long...make your reservation now! Enjoy The Dunes experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are oceanfront so no complaints there! They also have handicapped rooms that are nicely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Wow we couldn't have said it better! Thanks so much. We can tell that you have been coming here for quite some time. You said it all and how wonderfully written. It really is a step back in time and a hidden gem. It's the familiar faces like yours that make it so easy for the employees to stay working here year after year. Well okay, they are treated great also but mostly it's the return guest that we look forward to year after year and your review just proves that point! Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,252
    559
    206
    66
    42
See reviews for
890
715
39
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have come to the Dunes Manor Hotel for the past 6 years bringing 20-30 couples with us. We have been extremely happy with the willingness to listen to needs and their attention to detail, for a diverse group. We feel that the Waite staff have been particularly wonderful in responding to our needs. As we are a couple oriented group we would recommend this Hotel and it's Victorian style for anyone who is looking for a romantic getaway. We will continue and have already booked our weekend for next year, as they have met and exceeded all of our expectations.

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean no room is bad. Marvelous sunrise if you wish to see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peglites2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks so much for your review. We are so happy to hear that we are getting it right for your group. We like to think of all our groups as family that we welcome home each year. Yours is no exception to the rule! Glad you had a good retreat and we look forward to seeing you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean Pines, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

For the past seven years I have organized a retreat for the women of St. John Neumann Catholic Church at the Dunes Manor Hotel. This year proved to be as excellent as the other years. The Waite staff was especially friendly and attentive to our needs. It is difficult to feed 70 women at one time and keep the coffee and tea flowing. The Waite staff went out of their way to make our weekend especially pleasant. The entire hotel staff was courteous and efficient and bent over backwards to help to make our stay enjoyable. The rooms are clean and newly decorated. The afternoon tea is a special treat for all. We will continue to have our weekend retreat at the Dunes Manor.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Every year we are blessed to have the women of St. John Neumann Catholic Church at the Dunes Manor Hotel. The pleasure is ours and it is seeing the same faces year after year that brings a smile to faces of the team here at Dunes Manor. I say this for the entire staff because I know it to be true of your group along with all the other folks we have, that come back year after year. We are thrilled to hear that every thing went well again and we look forward to seeing you all next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schuylkill Haven, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We arrived on 1/1/14 & checked out 1/4/14. The staff was very polite & helpful upon check in. We got a room on the 9th floor. Boy what a view of the ocean!! The room had a huge bed & much to our relief the room was clean. The hotel was still decorated for Christmas-the decorations were beautiful. Thursday evening they had someone playing the piano & there was quite a crowd sitting around the piano listening/singing. It had actually snowed during the night & we woke up to snow on the ground on 1/3. Yes folks, there was snow at the beach! We had breakfast on Saturday-it was half decent & price wasn't too bad. You can watch the ocean from the restaurant. They had a charming little bar. I had hoped to sit on the veranda in the rocking chairs, but the high winds prevented that. I am sure it would be very peaceful in warmer weather. There is a jewelry store in the hotel-got a great deal on a pair of coral earrings. They have a heated pool & a Jacuzzi at the hotel. 1/2 of the pool is indoor & the other 1/2 is outdoor. Although it was heated, once the snow had hit, it was still a bit too cold to go in the pool. I did get into the Jacuzzi though. The pool attendant was nice enough to reset the timer a few times for me. The hotel provided a booklet with a lot of useful information regarding the hotel amenities & different points of interest in the area. They have a nice size flat screen tv in the room. My only complaint would have been there had been a few pieces of ice with dirt in it from the ice machine. I know sometimes this can happen with a machine so I just got another batch of ice & it was fine. All in all, it was a very nice stay. The view was amazing, the rooms were nice & clean, the hotel was nice & peaceful, & the staff was very friendly & polite. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sapphire92868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review for us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and you got to see snow on the beach! You are correct it is quite a treat to sit on the veranda and relax. Hopefully you can come back during the warm weather and get the chance to experience it. We'll be waiting for your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I visited Dunes manor back in 2013 with 2 of my siblings, we went to OCMD on a whim and did not book a hotel in advance, it was mid-July and very busy. Dunes manor gave us a room at a reasonable price for the time of year. So many things about this hotel I liked. The building itself reminds me of the south and felt very comfortable. Not too mention there are 2/3 bars and restaurants along with a pool and each room has an ocean front view. My fiancee and i are planning a trip to the shore this summer and this is where we will stay :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank knyce101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
So glad to hear you were able to visit with us and that you liked our hotel. We look forward to your return trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, VA
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I forgot to write my review last summer but just wanted to say this is a great hotel. The location just off the Boardwalk is great because it is quiet but you can get to the boardwalk and tram quickly. The staff was very friendly. The rooms were recently updated and very nice. Ours had good light and views since on the top floor. The bathroom is still a little dated (the water pressure/heat was variable at times in the shower). Appreciated the coffeemaker and fridge. The balcony was large and great but we spent a lot of time on the first floor porch with rocking chairs. The crowd was definitely older but we did not mind since we wanted quiet. Restaurant had a very good breakfast. There is also a great donut shop across the street. My FIL comes to this hotel every year on a group trip and I can see why he is such a big fan. Free parking was appreciated. I wish they had multiple bedroom suites since we really needed a separate bedroom for our toddlers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gointochile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks so much for taking time to come back and write a review, especially since it was a while ago that you stayed with us. So glad you remembered to do that. We are thrilled that you got the opportunity to relax in the rocking chairs on the veranda. We did want you to know that most of our rooms have adjoining rooms and we also have a few suites with a separate bedroom. Perhaps the next time you visit you can get an adjoining room for the toddlers. It's a great way to have some extra room and would give you two bathrooms also. We hope to see you back again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We stayed there while attending a seminar in Ocean City this past December. The hotel is nicer than most of the ocean front hotels we have stayed at while on Ocean city. They don't seem to cater to the youngster set - tons of 20-somethings stuffed into one room to party. They are more upscale then that, with a very nice restaurant, bar, and sitting area next to reception complete with beautiful flowers and piano. They seem to aim more for the adults and family set. The room, a standard double queen, was very clean and comfortable, but for me the bed was too soft. The room had a balcony facing the ocean, nice clean bathroom, and small convenience area with mini-fridge, small microwave, and coffee maker. Being that we were there way off season, I can't speak to what it would be like in the summer, but I believe it would not be as hectic as the hotels that cater to the 20-something crowd. It is a couple blocks north of the boardwalk, so it is just a short walk to the boardwalk. I would recommend this for older people looking for a beach front hotel, or families.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean from what I can see. They do offer adults only floors for a little quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PL21046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley D, Director of Sales at Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience while staying with us at Dunes Manor Hotel. We are certainly glad to hear that you had a good visit and our hotel was nicer than most of the Ocean front properties you have experienced in OC. There are a lot of properties to choose from in Ocean City and we are happy you chose ours. We were sorry that the bed seemed to soft for you though and hope that despite that you got a good nights sleep. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town. Again thanks for taking the time to write about us, we appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3,250 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
858 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
309 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Property: Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing