We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVE THE DUNES”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This is our first time going to Ocean City in the summer, we usually travel during the off season. We had reservations at a Hotel further up on the boardwalk, and we were so disgusted by it that we checked out and went back to our old faithful Dunes.
I have been staying at the Dunes since I was alittle girl--so well over 20 years. We usually stay at the Dunes Motel, which is very nice--but the DUNES MANOR is Excellent. The room was clean, and had an ocean front view. The staff was EXCELLENT, very friendly and accomidating.
I will never stay anywhere other than the Dunes again!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flutmstrjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,371)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,243 - 2,249 of 2,372 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2009

We went with our family and another family to Ocean City. We found the hotel staff to be efficient, polite and very helpful. This hotel has an excellent restaurant with great food and reasonable prices. The restaurant staff is very accommodating. The hotel offers complimentary coffee in the morning and complimentary tea (hot & cold-both delicious) with cookies and crumpets at 3 pm. They have two talented piano players who entertain in the evenings. They take requests and are both friendly and fun. The porch with the many rockers is a wonderful place to relax. The atmosphere is relaxed with a Victorian touch of elegance. We highly recommend this hotel. The location is a block past the boardwalk, which makes for quiet sleeping with the surf as the only sound. Yet you are only a block away from the boardwalk. There is a bike rental right at the start of the boardwalk for morning rides. The heated indoor/outdoor pool was very well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorraineCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

I made a mistake in booking, but the staff really took care of us! The Hotel seems brand new, and is a beautiful place to stay. Victorion decor with very nice furnishings, including piano playing and singing in the lobby! Only steps from the beach, we couldn't have been happier! Restaurant is top-shelf with ocean views.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
3  Thank RayboPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I have to try to separate my opinions about Ocean City from my opinions about the hotel itself. We went to OC to be with family. I don't really like OC, and I would not recommend OC to a friend as a vacation destination, but if someone were going to OC anyway, this hotel is a reasonable choice. The location is great -- it's right on the beach, just two properties north of the northern end of the boardwalk (the quiet end). So, you can access the boardwalk without having to find a parking space, but you don't have to deal with all the boardwalk-related noise and congestion at your hotel. For swimming, it is a nice stretch of beach. My problem with just about everything in OC is that the prices are extremely high and the facilities are rather crude for what you're paying. The room at the Dunes Manor was very 1980s, with a worn, tired feel. With taxes, we paid about $400 a night for a small suite -- two double beds (not queens) and an old pullout couch in the other room, with one bath and an unappealing little kitchenette. They only have about three months a year of good business in OC, and it shows in the limited investment in the facilities. For that kind of money, you could have a far nicer room in a major NY, LA or DC hotel. At $400 a night, when you're staying in one of the nicest places in town, and the hotel doesn't even provide beach towels, and everything feels worn and sort of cheap, I am not thrilled. But I don't want to single this hotel out for criticism -- it is typical of what I don't like about OC in general, and not unique to this hotel. That's the market in OC. I do applaud the Dunes Manor staff, which seemed more attentive and gracious than most of what I have dealt with in OC. They also see to it that the hotel has more character than most, with a well-known local pianist leading evening sing-alongs in the lobby, complimentary morning coffee, complimentary afternoon tea, and lovely rockers on a veranda overlooking the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WaterEnthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

The DUnes Manor is probably one of the nicest hotels in Ocean City. All rooms are ocean front and have a private balcony. The stff couldn;t have been more helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GinnyQWaterburyCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We came down from New York for a few days with another couple. We did not have reservations, but liked the location/looks of the Dunes Manor Hotel. With so many choices, we were glad we found this place at a "relatively" fair price. (Frankly, most boardwalk hotels seem ridiculously overpriced for this economy.) The warm & welcoming feeling of the lobby was a surprise (not the glass and chrome coldness of some others in the area.) We loved the decor, very lovely - and of course the priceless view.

The Victorian Room Restaurant was another wonderful surprise! We were going to go out, but are so glad we stayed and ate there! Each of us had something different, but every meal was outstanding. The Chef on both Friday and Saturday nights sure knew what he was doing!! Our food was fabulous, and excellently prepared just the way we asked! We were so glad we opted to stay in the comfort of the hotel.

We will definitely be returning!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hevyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We got a recommendation from an acquaintance to stay here on a recent short notice trip to the shore. We had not been to OC so were unfamiliar with the area. We could not have had a better choice. It is an older hotel and because of this it presented some housekeeping challenges. The cleanliness was not immaculate but acceptable. The rate was pricy according to my standards but not near the price of the Marriot or Hilton so expectations were lowered as you get what you pay for.. But with a just a few steps to the beach,a rinse shower facility for returning from the beach and beach bar/food just inside the dune line and great view from oceanfront balcony with separation and privacy from other rooms the stay was a great experience.Parking was easy and near the entrance. Nice looking lobby and nice feature of rocking chairs on porch overlooking the ocean. Another positive was the cooperation, help, pleasantness and attitude of all the staff that we came in contact with including front desk, restaurant, bellboys, barkeeps. A minor maintainance problem with our TV was handled promptly and with a smile and politeness. It appears the hotel puts forth an above average effort to make ones stay satisfactory. WE would not hesitate one second to return for a stay at this hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank obxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,663 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.0 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#7 of 104 in Ocean City
880 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842-3442
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £50 - £300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing