We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Some Sprucing Up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Ranked #2 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Hyattsville, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Needs Some Sprucing Up”
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We have stayed at The Dunes Manor Hotel countless times over the past decade and beyond. We always seem to gravitate to The Dunes Manor when staying in Ocean City, MD. The current management is, well, cheap. They cut corners at the expense of the guests. The hotel rooms have not been renovated for many years. Same ole, same ole. I'm sick of looking at the same light yellow blanket on the beds. These blankets provide very little warmth. They are very worn-out and have become thin over the years. I filled out a comment card to this regard, but no change. The mattresses are hard and uncomfortable. You are lucky if you have fitted sheets. Most of the time the mattress is covered with a flat sheet which slides right off when sleeping. You end up sleeping on the mattress. The towels are so-so, thin and somewhat worn. Interestingly enough, a few years ago new windows were installed in the hotel rooms. However, these windows are cheap and very inferior. When you slide the window up, is drops right back down. This can be injurious to a person's hand or fingers. There are no brackets in which to hold the window up. What a waste of money. If the management were not so cheap, better and functional windows could have been installed. The carpeting itself is old and becoming worn-out. The regular hotel rooms are relatively small, comprising two beds, one small night stand, two small reading lights, one TV cabinet with three drawers, a table and two chairs and one floor lamp. That's it! The television is the old-fashioned type (not flat-screen). The walls are thin, so hope for quiet neighbors on both sides and above the hotel room. The sink is located in a small area with a tiny fridge, microwave and coffee pot. The complimentary in-room packs of coffee tastes like battery acid. I can't stomach the stuff. Same is true for the complimentary coffee in the hotel lobby. The room-service menu is extremely limited and expensive. Don't go there. The bathroom is small and generally the toilets have plumbing problems. The room is so small, you can't stand to look out the windows because the bed is almost adjacent to the wall/HVAC unit. You have to look out the glass door with built-in venation blinds or go out on the deteriorating deck to see the ocean. The ocean view is magnificent at The Dunes Manor. Internet service in the hotel room leaves a great deal to be desired. I have never had much luck with connectivity. There is an indoor/outdoor swimming pool and tiny little hot tub which holds no more than four people (two is more like it) and with scorching, steaming hot water! There are only two elevators for this large hotel, so expect long waits especially during the busy season. Good luck getting a bell-cart for your luggage during busy periods. The Victorian lobby is the finest feature of the hotel. Hot tea and stale, store-bought cookies are available at 4:00pm each day. Do yourself a favor and don't bother with the daily "Tea," as it's no prize. The restaurant is so-so, but has a beautiful view of the ocean. That's the main draw card for us -- the ocean view from all parts of the hotel and the wooden porch (veranda) facing the ocean. The rates for these tiny hotel rooms in the summer are ridiculous. That's when we head south for much better, larger oceanfront hotel rooms for two-thirds the price of The Dunes Manor Hotel such as we did at Myrtle Beach, SC, this summer. Winter is the best time to stay at The Dunes Manor to reap the lower rates. They get you on holiday weekends with a 2 or 3 night minimum. Plus, if there are any events in Ocean City the weekend of your stay the rate will be higher and the AAA discount will not apply. I have found the hotel rooms to basically be clean. However, the cleanliness is overshadowed by the old furniture and worn-out bed/bath linens. I would recommend this hotel taking the above comments into consideration.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EarthyBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    513
    183
    59
    40
See reviews for
796
661
38
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galloway, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2009

This hotel is perfect for relaxation. We stayed there in early October for three nights, and to be honest, we did a lot of nothing and had a wonderful time.

The staff was friendly and efficient. Check-in and out was a breeze. The hotel had two eateries open, the Victorian Restaurant which served breakfast, lunch and dinner, and the Zippy Lewis Lounge which was open for lunch and dinner. We had delicious prime rib in the restaurant one night, the other meals we enjoyed at the lounge, where much of the same food was available. There are dining tables out on the veranda for eating outdoor during good weather.

Teatime in the lobby was nice, as was the evening piano entertainment. Sitting in the rocking chairs out on the veranda, watching the fishing boats and dolphins go by was lovely. The beach in this area is great for walking, and we saw many people surfing, surf fishing, kiting and metal detecting.

The hotel rooms themselves are a bit smaller than we are used to, but comfortable nonetheless. Our pillows were a little on the hard side, and we wished we had remembered to bring our own from home. Otherwise, all was good.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JerseyBounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

What a surprise how nice and reasonable this hotel turned out to be... all rooms on the ocean, very nice size and comfortable beds, less than one block from the end of the boardwalk and a great little 2.99 pancake and bacon breakfast... we went at very nice time in OC last October... the large crowds were gone so a slower paced time... we played golf, relaxed in the hot tub at night and basically had a wonderful relaxing couples vacation... would absolutely recommend the Dune Manor to all... it was a wonderfully quaint convenient and value priced hotel...

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dgreene99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottsville, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2009

My fiance and I have stayed at the Dunes Manor 3 years in a row. We are never disappointed. The rooms are always clean and they are all ocean front. The hotel has a great happy hour I believe from like 3-5PM (didn't partake in it this year) with some really cheap drinks. I like the options of eating in the main dining room or the bar. Both have different menus and both have the option of sitting outside on the front deck. The front deck also has a bunch of rocking chairs to relax in and listen to the ocean. The staff has always been very kind to us as well. My favorite thing about this hotel is that it is only steps from the boardwalk and tram station. The only 2 cons are that the elevators are extremely slow and are often packed in high season and the pool is in the back/side. The elevators are only a major problem for us when checking in or out with the luggage cart. This year we had to wait a few trips until we could squeeze in at checkout hour (also "everyone is going to the beach" time). We usually avoid the elevators and take the stairs. As for the pool, well it's no big deal. I don't go to the beach to swim in the pool, I go to relax on the beach! I wish they had some kind of rewards program like the Holiday Inn because we'd really benefit from it. I would never stay anywhere else in Ocean City except the Dunes Manor Hotel!!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank girlrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
227 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

I attended a 3-day seminar at this OC hotel. The hotel is on a nice wide stretch of beach and unlike others, is surrounded mostly by low rise accomodations on the ocean and bay side so the beach is not as busy. Our twin bed room was fairly spacious with what appeared to be a newer bath tub-shower unit than that at our last stay 3 years ago. Beds were comfortable tho not pillowtop luxury. Room and A/C was quiet. Alll rooms face the ocean, include a small frdige and microwave, and complimentary wireless is available but spacey. High tea at 4pm. Shenanigans on the boardwalk has good fish & chips and Brass Balls restaurant on 94th st has good pt bbq.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We stayed at the Dunes Manor for four nights during the last week in August. The room rate was very reasonable considering the hotel has all oceanfront rooms just a block from the boardwalk. We found the room to be a bit dated (microwave, vanity area, and bathroom), but everything was extremely clean. My only complaint was that the bed was not very comfortable. The view from the private balcony was amazing and the hotel restaurant was very good. We enjoyed being able to relax in rocking chairs on the porch to admire the ocean and to also have direct beach access with umbrella and chair rentals. The lounging area around the pool was a bit small so it became crowded, but overall it was well maintained and really nice. The afternoon Tea Time was great - free cookies, hot tea or iced tea....and it seemed like guests also enjoyed the piano entertainment in the evenings. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cjd219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

-great ocean view
-terrace
-nice staff
-clean
-good value
i've stayed at other hotels in ocean city and this hotel is better than all of them, there's nothing really to complain about. and the best part about staying here is the fractured prune doughnuts located right outside the hotel...best doughnuts in the world!

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — the pool was a little small, but it doesn't really matter when the beach is 10ft away.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank racecarracecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
951 reviews
0.6 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites

Property: Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Address: 2800 Baltimore Ave., Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#2 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunes Manor Hotel & All Suites properties offer a unique hospitality experience when visiting Ocean City, Maryland. At the Dunes Manor Hotel you will walk through our front doors and be transported back to the gentle days of a bygone era. Truly ocean front, these properties embrace the stunning views with each guest room offering a private balcony and, at the Dunes Manor Hotel, a wide verandah complete with rocking chairs to take it all in. A location second to none, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites properties are the perfect choice for couples, groups and family getaways. Our all-suites property is at the onset of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk and is equipped with a full size refrigerator, microwave, cook-top stove and 46" HDTV. While at the Dunes Suites property, all the amenities at the Dunes Manor Hotel are available for your use including the full service restaurant, The Victorian Room; the indoor/outdoor bar (seasonal) Zippy Lewis Lounge, heated indoor/outdoor pool and Jacuzzi. All properties offer complimentary Wi-Fi access and free off street parking. Afternoon Team is served daily at 3:00 pm and is a tradition started by the Hotel's owner and entrepreneur, Thelma Conner back in 1987. Join the staff as they serve the signature tea with cookies and crumpets with genuine hospitality. What a great opportunity to mingle with fellow guests and learn more of the history of Ocean City Maryland. Whether you choose to relax by our heated pool, enjoy the salty ocean air from the outside deck, explore the Boardwalk, shop, dine or visit some of Ocean City's best attractions, the Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites will help make your dream stay a reality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunes Manor Hotel Ocean City
Hotel Dunes Manor
Dunes Manor Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing