We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"We would definitely go back!"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Highland mills, new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"We would definitely go back!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

My family and I stayed for three nights at this hotel and we were very happy with our stay. There was some contruction renovations going on outside the front of the hotel, but we heard no noise. The service was courteous and the room was up-to-date and clean. Our room wasn't an ocean front view but we didn't mind due to the fact it was "off season" and cloudy. The beds were comfortable and the kitchenette was a great help ( especially with heating left overs). There was a game room that kept my teenager entertained and a small, but clean indoor pool. There was also a workout room that was clean and had everything you need to get a good sweat. The Resturant Refections had good food (with both a lite menu and dinner menu). My husband misplaced the car keys and they were waiting for us at the front desk! We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor away from the elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTay333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    283
    148
    68
    60
See reviews for
350
251
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
philly
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

The overall experience was disappointing and not typical of other Holiday Inn stays. Layout of lobby and first two floors is very confusing. The room had an excellent view and balcony but couldn't get the sliding glass door open. Room smelled musty but that is typical of a beach property.
I needed to leave a day early. I went to the front desk early and told the young woman that I wouldn't be staying another night and needed to check out. She brought up my room and said with a smile that I was free to check out anytime...but I was still being charged for the night. The clerk and her manager proceeded to treat me like I was trying to rip them off by wanting money back on a special rate. This conference rate was the same as the online rate on their website. They were turning away customers that were calling in looking for rooms while they lectured me about policy. Nobody can lecture you about policy like a 20 something assistant manager and her team. In the end they did me the favor of refunding the nights stay but made sure I understood I had to be out by 11.
The desk staff was young and inexperienced. The could use coaching on how to handle special requests and that their being right is not always the best thing for the customer or the owners.
I will continue to stay at other Holiday Inn properties, but not at the one in Ocean City.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alzsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Dear alzsailor,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. We are glad a manager was able to resolve your concerns. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.



Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manahawkin, NJ
Level Contributor
185 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay here over East break. I was concerned about the indoor pool. There was a person pouring granulated clorine in it when there were swimmers in the pool. they looked like 25 bags dumped at a time, 3 times! Can't be good for the body!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank qtdesignz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback and review. We are glad you had a good stay. I wanted to address your concern with our pool. We are proud to offer our guest our indoor pool which is a mineral pool. A mineral pool is a salt water pool which through a system we have installed in our pump room a reaction with the salt occurs and creates natural chlorine, rather then the liquid type commonly used in pools. The results are better quality water which is softer and does not have the tradition chemicals in it, but is still treated pool water. What you saw them putting in the pool was 25 lbs bags of salt, perfectly safe for use while swimming. Thanks again, and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

What a wonderful experience that our ladies had this past weekend at the Holiday Inn Oceanfront! The hotel was wonderful and the service that we received was excellent!!! From the time that we entered the lobby when we checked in until the time that we exited the lobby when we left, the people of the hotel were great. The were so very helpful and always smiling and friendly. The meals that were prepared for us were delicious and the staff and servers were great! Whatever we needed or wanted was arranged for us. The rooms were great! Plenty of room, clean. All of the details down to the large bowl of fresh fruit in the lobby from the time you got up until the time you went to bed.

I would greatly recommend the Holiday Inn Oceanfront on 67th Street Ocean City, Maryland

A shout out to Warren Lloyd, Kim Mueller, Keri Kurger, Janet (restaurant manager), Jewels, each of the servers for our meals and to all of the great people at the front counter!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was a first-class experience for thirty women of all ages who came together for a time of spiritual refreshment and reflection. Thanks to all of the staff for making it a memorable stay. You're the best.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECOGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I was very please and with the staff this has been the first hotelI have been to that the pool has been open till midnight.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

I guess a had somewhat higher expectations for this hotel by reading some of the reviews. Although I can’t say that it is a bad hotel, I can’t rate it more than average.
We visited OC in the last weekend of March when the city was hosting a cheerleading competition with thousands of participants. So I can’t comment on the price as it was probably inflated in all hotels because of this event. Here are my impressions:
Positive
- Right in front of the beach – nice!
- Room has a good size for a family of 4 , with 2 double beds and sofa bed
- It has a kitchen (although very small)
- Restaurant is good and has 2 options, fine dining and casual

Negative
- Everything looks old and worn out from hallways and elevators to bathroom and refrigerator
- It’s far from the boardwalk (2.5 miles) and the most picturesque part of the town.
- At the end, as a “thank you” gift for our stay, the hotel refused to extend my check-out time for just 1 hour (I can’t imagine that they would have many new guests arriving on a Sunday afternoon in off-season). They instead tried to sell me another night stay for discounted price.

Overall it was an ok stay. But if returning to OC I would try to stay on a walking distance to the boardwalk and on a newer or recently renovated hotel.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bccam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Dear bccam,

Thank you for your recent stay, and feedback. I'm sorry you were not fully satisfied with the accommodations received, but I am pleased to see you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We are always working to be the best we can be, and feedback like yours will help us to accomplish this. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,903 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Ocean City
Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing