We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hewitt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

First the Pros: 1.Great location! Quick & easy to get to after a long drive. 2. Great location! I know, but I am saying it again, right on the beach! 3. Great ocean views! Stayed in room 720, overlooked the tennis courts & pool area and beyond that, the beautiful ocean view! The grounds of the hotel are pretty & well kept. 4.Great pool & pool bar & bartenders were great! 5.Great food at the pool bar restaurant, perfect burgers, chicken fingers, sandwiches all at a pretty reasonable price. 6. Nice that every room has a mini kitchen, even though we didn't really use it much. Was terrific to have a full size fridge! 7. Balcony was a nice size, again great view! When we first arrived, I have to say I wasn't thrilled with my reception, but everyone we encountered during our time was friendly and helpful. ESPECIALLY the 2 men that were at the desk when we checked out and then found our car battery dead! These two men were EXCEPTIONAL!! I am sorry I did not get their names! They wound up finding us jumper cables and jumped the car!!! Shortly we were on our way!! THANKS SO MUCH!!
Honestly have to say the only major con was the beds. Could definitely use some new mattresses. The room we had was clean & smelled clean, the hallway could use some air fresheners though. The room, for the most part it was updated enough, maybe some new carpeting or just tile in my opinion. This is a older hotel with updates, it is not a high end resort hotel. However, they do offer activities and some entertainment, like a resort would. A magician, kids cooking classes, a juggler, tennis lessons. Was more than I expected.
All in all, If I come back to Ocean City, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view! Stayed in room 720, I think it was listed as a eastern fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaze1469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    286
    150
    68
    60
See reviews for
352
253
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This hotel is in a great location in OC, and we had a great stay there! The hotel just recently renovated the restaurant and lounge, and it is very nice. Good food, very pleasant staff, clean. Our hotel room was very nice, decor is a little bit older, however new bedding package was very comfortable and room was very clean! Great view of the ocean, and also of the courtyard where the pool is. The property is very clean, and the staff very attentive and pleasant. We will definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z_man_and_the_girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Tv wasn't working staff was rude room was GROSS too much for 280 bucks a night I would rather go anywhere else my experience was bad I paid extra money to have a 9 can view and they give me a a view of the tennis court go anywhere else

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coolness123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We are sorry your stay fell below your expectations. We certainly pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and accommodations and it appears we fell short in your visit with us. Please feel free to contact our guest services manager Warren to discuss your situation in better detail so we can understand what went wrong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed with the family for summer vacation 4 nights 5 days right before 4th of July. This hotel has a very good location in OC. At first we were disappointed that it was not on the boardwalk, but later was glad we didn't have to deal with the boardwalk. We stayed in an ocean front room. Nice mini kitchen with fridge, oven/stove, microwave, etc... Great if you want to make breakfast or lunch in the room. Two full size beds (Why does any hotel have full sized beds?) and a pull out couch. 32" flat screen with DVD player (very handy). Lots of channels. Bathroom very small, as this property must have been built a long time ago and redone many times. Well appointed, nothing too fancy at all. Great view. Outside of room hotel is kind of dirty. They just don't seem to care too much about the details. Here it is one of the busiest weeks of the year and the there is a pile of dead palm trees on the way to the beach and dead palm leaves that need to be trimmed off of each palm tree. There's a very nice outdoor pool with swim up bar, but there were way too many people in the pool. Empty cups where all around the pool and no one seemed to be going around picking them up. There were small pool towels, but they were practically sand paper. I recommend bringing your own. We lost quarters in many of the arcade games and just stopped going to the disappointment of our little ones. The breakfast buffet, although priced right, wasn't worth it based on the food quality. The crammed space where the elevators are became a real pain. There are only 2 elevators, right next to the service elevator. It was just awkward getting past people checking in with luggage carts and employees with tool carts. Although for the most part the employees were very helpful, I did overhear someone at the front desk say to another front desk staffer during a quiet time when the phone rang "I'm not answering that. There are 5 people in the back. Let them get it." Also, when I asked for a late checkout for the next day (I'm a Priority Club Member) you'd think I was inconveniencing the person at the front desk. Then the next day they actually called and asked why we hadn't checked out yet. Overall, not a bad experience, but some things just stick out like a sore thumb. I would stay here again, because the location was right. I just wouldn't expect the extras that I am used to getting at other properties.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Has2bJustRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Has2bJustRight,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room amenities.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding front desk service, food selection and the elevator. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here over the holiday weekend. The staff made our anniversary weekend VERY special, and went out of their way to be helpful to us. Rooms are clean and the beds are very comfortable. Also enjoyed the pool bar and the convenient location. The staff service, though, is the best part. Would definitely recommend staying here, and we look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your great feedback and review! We are glad to see we helped make your celebration very special. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed here the beginning of June, We loved it, the room was nice and had a kitchen in it with utensils, dishes and pots and pans. The room was clean and the atmosphere was relaxing and enjoyable. I loved the pool and being able to get my virgin pina colada by the pool. I was very disappointed that the hammocks weren't up at the time, I was so looking forward to them. Our door didn't work correctly but we fixed it with a butter knife. Overall we had a great time and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We are in the middle of a 4 day stay at this hotel using IHG points (35k per night) and found that the hotel is in dire need of an update.
Lets start with the good:
- Location is great, right off 66th street and walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the beach.
-There are hammocks, tennis courts, 2 pools, and a nice gym.
-Parking is plentiful and free
-Rooms have kitchenettes and balcony with partial to full ocean views.

Now to the bad:
- Service at the breakfast buffet is horrible. They bring the check immediately, which is not only rude but classless.
-The food at the buffet is horrible with very poor selection at 13 bucks pp.
-The outdoor pool is fun but very full of children (ok not that bad but it can be crowded)

Room Tip: The cheap rooms still have partial ocean and bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstmet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review and sharing your experience with our hotel. We appreciate both the good and the bad. We were pleased overall it appears you enjoyed the hotel and facilities. We are sorry the service and breakfast were not up to your standards. We did just open the restaurant in mid June after a complete concept change to Touch of Italy. They have been working on the breakfast program and are much improved over the past few weeks. The delivery of the check when the food comes was not meant to offend you. It is a service standard of Holiday Inn as guest typically want to eat and go at breakfast (business travelers especially) so this prevents the waiting on the server when you are done. I hope you will give us another chance in the future, but we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Ocean City
Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-3063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing