We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great ocean view and great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ranked #27 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Middletown, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great ocean view and great service”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

we really enjoyed our 2 nights at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. had a small problem with a noisy a/c unit and it was fixed within 1/2 hour. The hotel was clean and well kept. My only small criticism is that the hotel is "dated".

Room Tip: we paid extra for an ocean front room - was off the main part of the hotel. you had to walk a bit t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betty m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    286
    150
    68
    60
See reviews for
352
253
21
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel the week of July 27th and really enjoyed it due to the location and the resort like feel of the hotel. It is located on the beach and has an out door pool with a pool-bar and concession stand for lunch. There are also hammocks and chairs outside the gated pool area on a sundeck which was a very nice option. The pool bar indicated there was live music, but I did not see/hear any while I was there. The rooms all have an efficiency section with a full-size fridge, small dishwasher, small stove, microwave and toaster. I loved this for many reason and it was very useful for me. The rooms were roomy and comfortable with lots of storage. MINOR COMPLAINTS: I was a bit disappointed with the overall look of the hotel. It is a bit dated. The lobby was clean and efficient, but nothing to brag about. It was very small. They offer free fruit which I found to be old and spoiled most of the days. Bananas were brown and you had to be there first thing or it was no replenished. The hallways of the room floors are terrible. Dimly lit and really old with popcorn walls and ceilings. The elevators were terrible and always felt like they were going to get stuck. They were also extremely slow and always packed. The staff was nice and efficient. We had an issue with our safe and it was addressed very quickly. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again, but would look to get a better price.

Room Tip: Gardenview is NOT gardenview. It is the side street rooms with no ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chatterboxbk987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Our hotel stay was simply wonderful. The hotel was nice, clean and the staff and Manager Mary Lou were excellent. The Italian restaurant located on the main level of the hotel was out of this world. Although this hotel is not located on the boardwalk there are plenty of great restaurants and things to do for the kids within walking distance of the hotel. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The southern view rooms are just as good as the eastern view rooms. No need to pay more for the eas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great location on the beach hotel.Check in was ok the whole lay out of the lobby is dumb.with only 3 working elevators with people going up with carts from checking in and people coming down to go to pool and beach . Hallways of hotel seem like your in some kind of hospital real dreary looking walking down hallways.This hotel is old IMO it definitly needs work all over. broken glass on elevator window,garbage on floors pool area a total mess.This pool is NOT kid friendly when i was here rowdy adults by swim up bar getting drunk all day yelling at kids if they got splashed with water.Pool bar, bartenders had their FRAT buddies over taking pool area so they could do shots and laps in pool while they werent even guest in hotel on 2 separate occasions something upper management should look into.As for pool towels all week there were hardly any.Touch of Italy restaurant was o.k. at best i saw many guest complaining about there meals.which are kind of pricey.First and last time for this hotel!!!

Room Tip: Direct ocean front , upper floor if possible
See more room tips
Green Features: I didnt see any all i saw was garbage every day by pool area on floor. Old wet hotel pool towel thrown around.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear nickchris,

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. I am happy to learn you like our convenient hotel location. However, I am sorry our hotel amenities and staff service did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Again I appreciate your candid feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel and replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cazenovia, New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I chose Ocean City because we wanted to go somewhere we hadn't been and within a 6 hour drive from home. It was about 6.5 hours.
Not knowing the area, I chose a hotel on the beach (upon arrival to learn that there are many) and wanted it to also have an outdoor pool. Beach in the morning and pool in the afternoon. Great beaches in OC and right outside our door.
Prices are high in July because it is peak season. Our room was about $375 a night inc. taxes.
The room had a kitchenette which I wasn't looking for but was handy for breakfast.
Our room was large and clean and had a small balcony and a slight ocean view.
The lobby was so-so and I was surprised not to find a cold water dispenser, but there was a large bowl of bananas and out of season, dry oranges every day.
What surprised both of us were the hallways-shabby and stained carpeting. Kind of creeped us out but the room was clean and that's really what matters.
The pool and pool bar were very nice and there were plenty of chaise lounges.
This hotel is in the middle of the island. I think wherever you stay necessitates finding and driving somewhere for dinner. Worth researching before you arrive.
We liked OC but will probably try Rehobeth Beach next year. We drove there enroute home and more to our taste and liking.

Room Tip: none, really
See more room tips
Green Features: Energy saving guest room controls. I really have no idea about the hotel's environmentally-friendly practices and am just trying to complete this section so I can submit my review.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazcindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear cazcindy,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the pool and bar.

Howver, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the hallway and carpet condition. We will address these concerns. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We were driving up Coastal Highway an decided to stop at Holiday Inn to check rates. The front desk attendant offered us a weekday rate which was very affordable. Our room was located on the first floor which turned out to be a nice surprise, even though we had no view of ocean we had easy access to the outdoor pool, the beach, tennis court and even shuffle board (which we played) ! The king size bed was very comfortable and a kitchenette with full size refrigerator came in handy. The pool was clean with a deep end and also a snack bar , pool chairs and hammocks. We enjoyed it so much we ended up staying an extra night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christopher l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ok at best. Our room was ok. Some areas of the room were run down and in need of cleaning. The carpet felt damped. I think that the hotel is overpriced. Basically, it was a place to sleep, there was nothing really extraordinary about the place. Not sure if I would go back again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ocean City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jim O,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
2.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.7 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Ocean City
Address: 6600 Coastal Hwy, Ocean City, MD 21842-3063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanfront Resort Hotel and Conference Center is located directly on the beach and ocean. Our hotel offers a great location in midtown Ocean City, MD, with the sandy beaches as our backyard. Spend a sunny afternoon relaxing on our oceanside hammocks or take a dip in our outdoor pool with swim up pool bar where you can enjoy a refreshing cocktail. We also offer activities such as tennis, a game room, shuffle board, tanning bed, and supervised children s activities in-season. Kids 19 & under stay free, while children 12 and under eat free. Ocean City Golf Packages are our specialty with over 20 golf courses just a short drive from the hotel. Family fun, including Jolly Roger s amusement park, jet ski rentals, parasailing, Northside Park, and putt putt golf are conveniently located nearby. Assateague National Park with wild ponies is located just 20 minutes away. The hotel is located just one mile from Seacrets Bar and Grill, 3 miles from the Ocean City boardwalk, and walking distance from famous Fager s Island Restaurant. Enjoy an authentic Italian experience in our restaurant: Touch of Italy. Serving fresh items like handmade mozzarella cheese, pasta, pizza, cookies and crispy bread, as well as high quality imported items from Italy. Touch of Italy was born out of two Italian family traditions that trace back to the late 1800's. These two families trace their roots to the beautiful Marche and Abruzzo regions in Central Italy, where one can find rich cultural traditions and recipes passed down from generation to generation. In season visit our famous Original Pool Bar and Grill for tropical libations and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing