We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain's Suite was amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Commander Hotel
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

I had a great time staying with my Fiance at the Commander. The most impressive part of the hotel was the wrap around balcony which allowed us to see the ocean and the bay at the same time! The front of the balcony has a lounger so you can lay and watch the ocean in the morning and the back of the balcony has a table and chairs. The temperature of the room was great because i like a cold room so i need to know the a/c is going to work!

The second great part was the bathroom. The double shower heads and jacuzzi tub were a nice extra.

Room Tip: Bring your own shampo and body wash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

The entire experience was excellent from making the reservation to check-out. We have stayed here several times in recent years and have always been satisfied with the accomations, food at the grill, and the service.

My wife and I especially like the convience of the Commander on the Boardwalk, because it is about in the middle of the boardwalk shops.

We are planning to return to the Commander Hotel about the same tinme in 2012.

Rev. Warren Cravotta

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the bet for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

My family of 6 stayed at the Commander Hotel for 4 days. Stayed in an ocean front room on the 4th floor. Room was just what it stated online. 2 full size beds and one sofa bed with a balcony and small kitchenette. Air conditioner worked too well ("LOL"). It was nice leaving the balcony door open all night to hear the waves crashing....awesome!!! Room was very nice and clean. Bathroom was clean and shower was fantastic. Water pressure in shower was so good. It soothed you after a day at the beach. Maid was aware we had 6 adults in room so she gave us extra everything from towels to toilet tissue. Staff was very nice from Ms. Debbie at the front desk to "Big Joe" who worked for the Commander (awesome smile and great great attitude) to the bald white guy (can't remember his name) who so graciously found us a parking space when we came in late Friday night after going to the Ocean Downs Casino 10 min. away. We took 4 cars (adult children came at different times) and had really no problem finding parking spaces. Hotel was on the boardwalk and we stepped right out to the beach. Can't get any better than that. Had a fun time at the pool after the huge waves beat us up ("LOL"). Pool was really fun and relaxing with the bar right there. We will go back next year!!!

Room Tip: Room was exactly what it stated and fit us well (ocean front room that sleeps 6). Very clean!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bowieeaglesfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was the only option for our family because we booked our trip late and we couldn't afford to spend thousands of dollars on a hotel room. We decided on renting a two bedroom, one bath apartment for the week. When we entered the building there was a strong order of Frebreeze. The rooms were a good size, but outdated. The beds were small and not overly comfortable. The kitchen was extremely sparse - they only provided 5 cups/plates, etc for our family of six. The bathroom was very small and the shower stall was so narrow that you had to step out in order to dry off. The location was good, but waiting to cross the street was long. The outdoor pool was okay (larger than most hotels), but seemed kind of dirty. Cleaning service came everyday and did provide us with plenty of towels. Overall, we will not be a repeat customer and although we enjoyed the beach, the price was not worth the visit. Obviously the Boardwalk is the main attraction, but it got old quick.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Saratoga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We had a room on the top floor and you can't beat the view from the balcony. It is on the quiet end of the Boardwalk. Very relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edster606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

5 friends and myself stayed in the apartments owned by the commander hotel and were plesantly surprised by the rooms after looking at the less than impressive pictures online. The apartments was quaintly decorated and made us all feel at home. Its great for senior week kids, and probably familes as well. The kitchen was great and the beds were comfortable. Overall the place seemed clean and well kept. For a group of 18 year old girls living on their own for the first time, it really seemed like home. 5 stars.

Room Tip: room 601
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oliviabrooke4862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we stayed in room 555 oceanview suite, the room was good size and nicely decorated, had no problems with it...the first day i left the maid a tip of 5.00 and all she did was make the beds, the next day i left less and she did alot more ..not sure what that was about . The beds are really hard, my husband thought it was fine, i like a little softer lol,,,ok my big complaint >>> the restraunt "skipjack grill" we had breakfast one day and that was it ...not very good especially for the price, the buffet looked disgusting so we ordered ala carte and it tasted funny, the best breakfast by far is at the brass saloon just a little bit down the boardwalk, not far at all.. the other thing about the skipjack, when i was at the beach and wanted a nice drink the bar was not opened until i think 5pm, the bar at the pool is open at 11am and that was very nice, but its out by the road in back of the building :( other than that we had a great time and i really liked the hotel

Room Tip: breakfast at the brass saloon ...trust me
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TYRRELL_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.0 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,298 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 104 in Ocean City
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander Hotel

Address: 14th St. and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £55 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Commander Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander unveils a $5 million dollar renovation which features 3 different types of accommodations: Our Oceanfront Suites Our Oceanview Studios Our Cabana Suites overlooking the pool yet are still only steps from the beach. As you set sail for one of Ocean City’s finest oceanfront hotels, the vacation you deserve awaits you! On the corner of 14th street and the boardwalk, we offer you newly renovated rooms and amenities. Onsite you’ll enjoy our soothing new beach colors and modern room decors. While shopping, restaurants, churches, library, nightlife, marinas, water sports and entertainment are virtually at your fingertips. Rediscover the hotel where fun and relaxation have been the standard for generations. Here you can look forward to days spent on the guarded beach. At lunch enjoy a cold drink and bar fare at our pool side bar while soaking up the sun rays, or simply relax in the cool atmosphere of our indoor pool. In the late afternoon, you might find yourself on the private balcony of your oceanfront suite, watching the fishing yachts returning home after a day of fighting the white or blue marlin. This is a great time to plan your evening dining menu with the great variety of culinary delights Ocean City has to offer. If time or weather are an issue, simply make your way to the family friendly onsite Grottos Pizza and see for yourself why they are the first name in pizza here on the shore. After a spectacular sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, you might be inclined to grab your golf clubs and meet downstairs at the Fractured Prune for their famous made to order donuts or a tasty breakfast sandwich before playing one of the area’s fine courses. Our knowledgeable in-house golf concierge is ready to assist you. Family owned since 1930. The tradition continues…..a tradition of service, hospitality and catering to your wishes! The Commander Hotel & Suites Offers: Oceanfront Suites on the Boardwalk Private Balcony or Terrace Refrigerator Microwave Coffee Maker 42″ HD TV with Dish Network Service Guest Laundry Indoor Pool Outdoor Pool with zero entry Grotto Pizza on the Ocean Walking Distance To Major Entertainment & Dining Free Parking Golf Packages Fractured Prune Donut Shop on site Eco Friendly Olive Branch Botanicals Bath Amenities in all guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Commander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commander Hotel Ocean City
Commander Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing