We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT and CLEAN!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Commander Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Commander Hotel
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Hazle Township
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“GREAT and CLEAN!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Love this hotel. The location was perfect. The staff was really nice and friendly. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the pull-out couch. My friends and I stayed in an OF suite and there were popcorn kernels under the sofa cushions. The hotel should include on their main website that they have free wi-fi, that's a great plus. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muriel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    219
    90
    25
    39
See reviews for
363
139
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Location was very good, right on the boardwalk, Your typical family vacation 80's style room, complete with FULL SIZE refridg. the room was very dated, but clean, beds were very small, and kind of old... lots of towels provided.. the restaurant was open for breakfast but we didn't go.. no other restaurant service available during our stay, we had to go down the boardwalk. parking is very scarce on the immediate premises, but i believe that there is another lot about a block away. front desk was nice. the two double beds are really only good for one person each unless your teens.... but there was a pull out couch on the other side of the room. tv's are old,, but functional... i was told they jacked the prices up because it was a boat racing weekend, and this used to be the host hotel which we thought it was,,, we found out that its no longer the case, that they raised the prices because the racing people come to town, even though it was off season. and used to give us a discount. well they got greedy i was told and the racing organization moved the host hotel to another location.... most hotels were cheaper and for what you get this was not worth the price...

Room Tip: get a corner room, but even my friends room on the corner had the tv far away and you had to move th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alextweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommanderHotel, Manager at The Commander Hotel, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Thank you for staying at the Commander Hotel during the weekend of May 12th. Many guests stayed with us that weekend to view the offshore powerboat races and to celebrate Mother's Day. We were not one of the official host hotels for the offshore races. This was not due to increased rates. In fact, our rates for the May 12th weekend were the exact same as our rates in 2011, and cheaper than 2010, 2009, 2008 and 2007. We always give a discounted rate for large groups (20 or more rooms). We did not have any large groups inquire about the weekend of May 12, and therefore, discounts did not apply.

We offer a variety of sleeping accomodations at the Commander. We have rooms with queen, doubles, and even a few single beds on the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We arrived late Friday, May 4th. Check in was very smooth & the only reason why I didn't give 5 out of 5 is because we had to park 2 blocks away in the overflow lot. The next morning we got up early for breakfast and were able to find a parking spot at the building. The indoor pool was very small so we didn't attempt to get in with our child. There wouldn't have been anymore room with the amount of people that were already there. It has great access to the boardwalk and the rooms were nicely decorated, enough space. We stayed in room 763 and it was an end unit on the oceanview side. We had a balcony that looked out to the boardwalk & ocean as well as balcony over the outdoor pool. I would definitely request this room again! We have stayed at the Fenwick Inn many times, but the last 2 times we stayed we had to call the police on domestic disturbances in the rooms next door. That place has gone down hill with service and individuals that stay there. We think we have found our new spot for quick off-season getaways at the Commander!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank srd0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I've stayed at many of OC hotels on the boards. This place tops them all. To be at 14th and boardwalk and have a rate lower than other hotels on the boards makes you wonder but I took a chance and I was surprised! Made reservations over the phone at last minute. Person very nice. Not no snotty rude people you get at the high end (Hilton) hotels. Hotel was very clean. All staff was nice. Room was clean and laid out well. Private balcony. 7th flor oceanfront is a must! Inside pool is small. Restaruant and bar was nice also.

Room Tip: 7th floor oceanfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lionking73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles Town, West Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

American Flophouse: is a place that offers expensive lodging, generally by providing only minimal services. Couple this with the fact the Commander Hotel has no affiliation with the local BBB and a no refund policy, it supports the label of an American Flophouse. Very little available parking on the premises, worn out furniture and beds, and nappy carpet. Soap dispensers on the wall, rationed toilet paper and tissues. The Commander Hotel once represented the standard of a non-chain hotel on the boardwalk. Now it represents the Motel standard on the boardwalk. This hotel puts too much emphasis on “you’re paying for the privilege” to see the ocean and uses this as an excuse for charging high rates for a worn out room. The last time I looked at the ocean from the Commander, I noticed there were a lot of other rooms up and down the boardwalk. I recommend you check out some of these rooms and respective rates and you will be surprised what you get for your hard earned dollar.

Room Tip: Even the Captain Suites are worn out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynden R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

One of my favorite hotels In OCMD. Stayed here a few times in the past and recently stayed there in the beginning of September 2011. Always clean and the staff is always professional. The location is great and not too far of a walk to the beginning of the boardwalk. Ocean front rooms are fantastic because the hotel is slanted towards the boardwalk....perfect view of the ocean/boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank drob1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

After a lot of research my wife and I decided on the Commander Hotel for our stay in Ocean City. Upon arrival the front desk adivsed us our ocean view room was unavailable and we had been upgraded to an ocean front at no additional charge. First thoughts of the hotel were good. The lobby is nothing spectacular but it was adequate. The room while appearing slightly dated was comfortable and well appointed. The view of the ocean of course was fantastic. This hotel has a great location! My wife and I did not explore much of the hotel so we can not really comment on the other ammenities but we would most definitely return for another stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JTomo170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Commander Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Commander Hotel

Property: The Commander Hotel
Address: 14th St. and Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Commander Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commander offers 3 different types of accommodations: Our Oceanfront Suites Our Oceanview Studios Our Cabana Suites overlooking the pool yet are still only steps from the beach. As you set sail for one of Ocean City’s finest oceanfront hotels, the vacation you deserve awaits you! On the corner of 14th street and the boardwalk, we offer you newly renovated rooms and amenities. Onsite you’ll enjoy our soothing new beach colors and modern room decors. While shopping, restaurants, churches, library, nightlife, marinas, water sports and entertainment are virtually at your fingertips. Rediscover the hotel where fun and relaxation have been the standard for generations. Here you can look forward to days spent on the guarded beach. At lunch enjoy a cold drink and bar fare at our pool side bar while soaking up the sun rays, or simply relax in the cool atmosphere of our indoor pool. In the late afternoon, you might find yourself on the private balcony of your oceanfront suite, watching the fishing yachts returning home after a day of fighting the white or blue marlin. This is a great time to plan your evening dining menu with the great variety of culinary delights Ocean City has to offer. If time or weather are an issue, simply make your way to the family friendly onsite Grottos Pizza and see for yourself why they are the first name in pizza here on the shore. After a spectacular sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean, you might be inclined to grab your golf clubs and meet downstairs at the Fractured Prune for their famous made to order donuts or a tasty breakfast sandwich before playing one of the area’s fine courses. Our knowledgeable in-house golf concierge is ready to assist you. Family owned since 1930. The tradition continues…..a tradition of service, hospitality and catering to your wishes! The Commander Hotel & Suites Offers: Oceanfront Suites on the Boardwalk Private Balcony or Terrace Refrigerator Microwave Coffee Maker 42″ HD TV with Dish Network Service Guest Laundry Indoor Pool Outdoor Pool with zero entry Grotto Pizza on the Ocean Walking Distance To Major Entertainment & Dining Free Parking Golf Packages Fractured Prune Donut Shop on site Eco Friendly Olive Branch Botanicals Bath Amenities in all guest rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Commander Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commander Hotel Ocean City
Commander Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing