We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean place to lay your head”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Thunderbird Beach Motel
Ranked #71 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Good, clean place to lay your head at night, and jump in the waves in the morning.

Pros:
Clean
Comfy beds
Good sized working fridge
Good water pressure/temperature in the bathroom
Easy to use and functioning safe
Good size plasma tv
Long large mirror in the middle of room, a plus when getting ready.
Provided in room Coupon booklet, and a book on what to do and where to go for visitors.
Free wifi, which you have to get pass code from the front desk.
Friendly front desk
Attentive housekeeping (They do not touch personal items. If you want your bed made, put all personal items to the side)
AC/heating unit works really well
Windows that open up really easily if your room needs to let fresh air in to dry damp clothes.
Great location to the beach
Reasonable for last minute booking.
Heated pool (Very useful, especially if you don't feel like dealing with sand.)
Little shower to wash off the sand away on the side of the motel.
Close to shops, activities, convenience store, restaurants/bars, and fast food restaurants: McDonald's, BKing, Papa Johns
Parking in the front and back of motel.

Cons:
Not a con point, just FYI, like many people have said in previous reviews, if you are looking for Luxury, modern furnishing...check out the pictures, TB is NOT the place for you. It's simple, clean, affordable and comfy.
If you have issues being around party people, I would consider checking out other accommodations. Fortunately, it seemed as though they are conscious of this fact, and placed families on one end, and party people on another end. Thank you TB! (Or we just got really lucky)
The lock to our room would only slide in the slot when we leaned against the door. Nothing major, I was happy it worked.
No channel guide in rooms, we just looked it up online.
We left damp items to dry in the room when we went out for the evening. Didn't open windows, it gets pretty damp and musty. Fortunately, the carpet floors don't get gross after walking around the room soaking wet. Note: Don't turn off the AC, this prevents the room from feeling muggy when leaving clothes in the room to dry. This is probably common sense for veteran shore visitors, just sharing knowledge to non-vets.

Overall, happy with our weekend vacation getaway. And in love with OCMD. Thank you again Thunderbird Motel!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

My initial thoughts of the hotel was okay let me see what my significant other h as s gotten me into now. The staff was responsive when we needed things like extra towels and a cup of coffee. Brenda our person who was in charge of maintaining our room was very attentive and we do not need to ask for anything she saw what we needed and had it to our room before we could ask.

Room Tip: Book your trips early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with our children. Like the fact that there is a microwave and mini refrigerator. Can be noisy as there are a lot of younger guests. Front desk very friendly and helpful. Great beach access and you can easily walk to the boardwalk. Great holiday stay in a great location.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Cwansleben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This was our 2nd stay at Thunderbird Beach Motel and we were not disappointed! The room was clean and roomy and there was never an issue to get extra towels. Our maid, room 108, was awesome! We arrived on June 14th and checked out on June 18th. Since the Fireman' s Parade was on the day of check out, they allowed us to remained parked at the hotel after check out. Already planning to go back next year!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Cindy0425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here this past for 1 night with my fiancee and son. This motel is in a great location (right off the boardwalk) in Ocean City, MD. It is a very clean motel and the staff was very accommodating. I asked for more towels and an iron and both times a motel staff member was up right away to bring the items requested. If you're expecting a 5 star HOTEL stay elsewhere, but if you need a clean place to sleep in a great location with all of the basics then this place should work perfect. There was a biker crew staying at this motel at the same time as me and it was way too loud as biker crowds tend to be. I asked the front desk if I was able to check out early and they completely understood why I wanted to check out early and they gave me a full refund for the additional night I had booked with them. They also gave me 2 breakfast vouchers to a nearby cafe which I thought was very nice of them. I would definitely stay here again !! (as long as there are no bikers staying :)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DebbieeMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Our first encounter with the staff at this hotel was terrible. The front desk clerk was extremely rude. We were 45 minutes early for check in and were told our room was not ready, which we understood. There was a bad storm and we would've really liked to get inside but were forced to wait in our car. We didn't see anyone enter or exit our room for the 45 minutes we waited.

The air conditioner did not work at all. We were told maintenance would be fixing it while we were out but that never happened. They had vacant rooms they could've moved us to but instead we spent all week in a hot room.

Our fondest memory of our stay at The Thunderbird was the housekeeping staff pushing each other around in the laundry carts for fun. See review title.

Let's not forget the plumbing issues in the bathroom. Every time someone showered, we would have to wait for twenty minutes for the shower soup to drain for the next person to go.

This place has a dark cloud over it, stay away.

Stayed: May 2013
4  Thank acakes09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troypurn, Owner at Thunderbird Beach Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that your say was not enjoyable but find it very hard to believe no one helped you with any problems you had. Spare AC units are on every floor and if you had voiced any problems with the manager it would have been taken care of promptly. He does not recall any complaints of this sort. Also don't understand why it took 10 months for you to post this. We certainly would have loved to hear about this immediately so we could have taken care of it then and there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Its just what you need for that little get away at a great price! Easy access to many different attractions in the area. Housekeeping lady was wonderful and very helpful. Had a few issues with different guest while visiting this last time but the hotel quickly resolved it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.6 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#72 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
330 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#30 of 104 in Ocean City
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun 'n Fun Motel
Sun 'n Fun Motel
#64 of 104 in Ocean City
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Beach Motel

Address: 3110 Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3398
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £83 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thunderbird Beach Motel is a quaint 63 room motel located in the downtown area of Ocean City, MD. It is on the East side of Baltimore Avenue. Rooms come standard with 2 double beds, mini fridge, microwave, color/cable TV, and Free Wi-Fi. There are also King Rooms available, which contain one King sized bed, with a pull out sofa, and flatscreen TV. There is an outdoor heated swimming pool on site, and is a 30 second walk to the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Thunderbird Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Beach Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing