We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" probably never again"”
Review of Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Majestic Hotel
Ranked #93 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We booked this hotel because of the access to the boardwalk and cost was reasonable. We found out you get what you pay for. The hotel is very antiquated. The elevator was broken, no electrical outlets in bathroom, had to move the bed to get to outlets in the room, water placed in the freezer of the fridge never froze despite being there for three days, parking spots directly behind hotel were few and very tight and worst of all the bed was HORRIBLE. Sleeping on the bed was like laying directly on the box springs, very hard. The floors were leaning and the foot of the bed was higher than the head. We were going to stay another night but opted to go home to our own bed. Not to sound like it was all bad, the staff was friendly, everything was very clean, and the rockers on the porch were great for people watching and enjoying the beach view. We would return if new mattresses were purchased but tossing and turning and getting up stiff and too achy to move is not worth the boardwalk access.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

Went on a trip with friends and this was a great place. Had parking right nearby, the pool right by us and could walk out the front door to the boardwalk. Friendly staff ordered suggestions for dinner when asked.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank eee950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

as we are checking in we are told your apartment is unavailable because of a major maintenance issue, so they figured they just give us two rooms on seperate floors, which is not going to work, because of the kids, and we packed all our food thinking we were going to have access to a kitchen which the apartment had and the rooms didnt. so we had to find another place to stay. big inconvienance trying to find another place. calling or letting us know somehow would have been greatly appreciated, very poorly managed!! will never book here again.

Room Tip: stay at a respected hotel and pay a little more than trying to save a few bucks, you will be better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carl s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This hotel and the staff were super nice. Very friendly and owned by a family who still cares in keeping your stay comfortable and affordable. One step off the front porch and you had your foot in the nice white sand and out the back door, you were poolside.

Apartments and house rentals are available. We rented the house and found everything very neat and tidy. Close to great eating places and shopping.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Plenty of free parking and your own private spot if you rent the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel the week of the fourth of July. We found it to be clean and very comfortable. It was easy to find, parking was never a problem, and the pool to be clean and not too crowded. The ladies at the front desk were always friendly, and very helpful when asked for recommendations. We may go back to the beach next month and would definitely go back. We also loved the front porch with the big rockers!! Great place to watch the fireworks from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

My family of 8 stayed in a 3 bedroom 2 bath apt at the Majestic and it was substandard. The smaller bedroom had a small AC that was full of mold spores and dirt and blowing out hot air. The bathrooms were full of soap scum and mold but we brought bleach cleaner and Lysol with us so we had to clean. The sheets had stains on them so thank goodness we brought our own linen too. The kitchen appliances were old and rusty and the floor was sticky. The last thing I wanted to do on vacation was clean but that is what we did to make it comfortable, sanitary and safe. Our bathroom sink had a leak so the floor became flooded so we called maintenance and they did come quickly to replace the pipes. The best part about the stay was the location, we were 50 ft from the boardwalk and beach. The staff was lazy and knew where nothing was. When were checking out we saw the manager exterminating which was ironic since we saw a roach in our bedroom. The place is dated which we didn't mind, it was the cleanliness of the place that disappointed us. We recommend bringing your own cleaning supplies and linen if you choose to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kiaprnll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We booked the Majestic Hotel for Friday through Sunday (Memorial Day Weekend)and got more than we expected. We had a first floor room and it was HUGE. We had two double beds with a kitchenette and separate bathroom. Two of the review rumors that I can debunk are that there was NO mold anyplace and everything was very clean especially the bathroom. We also had NO problem getting additional rolls of toilet paper but had to remind the maid one time after they were done. The TV was small as advertised with no movie channels but with CNN and History as well as 5 or more sports channels. The Beds were good not up to date. The whole place looked like it came out of the 1960's but suited our purposes. With a fridge and microwave we had everything we needed. The hotel staff was exceptionally nice and helpful with all of our questions. The pool in the back was heated to 82 degrees and was very clean. The front porch was the gem of this hotel being directly on the boardwalk with the constant sea of humanity flowing by for the watching. The only issue I had with it was that it allowed for smokers which is an issue with a non-smoker. I would recommend that there be a section for those that smoke on the one side that didn’t blow towards those that don’t. Other than that this place is a diamond in the rough and a bargin at the price! Book NOW !

Room Tip: If you don't like walking up stairs, book on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MuseumGoer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Plaza Hotel
Beach Plaza Hotel
#39 of 104 in Ocean City
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#38 of 104 in Ocean City
304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
Ocean 1 Hotel and Suites
#55 of 104 in Ocean City
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#75 of 104 in Ocean City
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plim Plaza Hotel
Plim Plaza Hotel
#62 of 104 in Ocean City
458 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#7 of 104 in Ocean City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Hotel

Address: 613 North Boardwalk, 7th Street & Boardwalk, Ocean City, MD 21842
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Hotel Class:3 star — Majestic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing