We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
Review of King Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Charles Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The owner and the girl at the front desk are so friendly and made me feel welcome when I came with no reservations. Lucky for me they had a room available and it was perfect for myself and 2 daughters. Very easy walk to the beach even with a cooler and chairs. This hotel is WELL maintained, very, very clean room and it smelled good too!
Thank you for a great little getaway! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mkjczf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    18
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
23
37
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coburn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We arrived in mid June for our family vacation at the King Charles Hotel during senior week and was pleasantly surprised by Marie and her staff meeting us at the door even before we exited our car! They greeted us and assisted us by telling us where we could park and knew who we were prior to our arrival by our vehicle descriptions we had given them. We arrived earlier than the 3pm check in time and they told us our rooms were ready. After checking in and going upstairs to our third floor room, we had another surprise! the room was beautiful and very clean and it smelled clean too! We will definately be back to this hotel again! If you are looking for a place with a pool this is not the place for you but who needs a pool when you have the ocean!

Room Tip: Had a great time here and WE WILL BE BACK!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmbook13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We were in Oc for cruisers week, and have stayed here many times before. An older hotel that is well maintained,and extremely clean. marire is the perfect hostess ,right down to the brownies she bakes for the guests. great location,near boardwalk and restaurants.We will continue to stay here every time we travel to the ocean. Thanks Marie

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arthur5760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

King Charles Hotel is a great little Mom and Pop hotel. It is perfect for a quiet couple's getaway. They make it pretty clear that it is not a place for parties which was just fine with us. We had a room with a fridge, microwave, and a large private balcony which overlooked Baltimore Ave. Everything was extremely clean and comfortable and the rates were very reasonable (note this was during the off-season in Mid-May). The service was awesome; the owner lives there, manages the front desk, services the rooms, and even bakes cookies and carrot cake for her guests. The location is great, right by 12th street, 1/2 block to the boardwalk, and close to plenty of restaurants and bars.
One warning, if you get a balcony room, remember it is overlooking Baltimore Ave, so there is some noise from passing trucks and buses. This didn't bother us at all, just thought I would mention it in case you are a light sleeper.
Overall, we loved it and we will definitely be back as soon as we get the chance.

Room Tip: Get the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JimmyBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is older; however, the owners have done a great job keeping it CLEAN, which is very important. We also noticed they are strict about younger adults / teenagers staying at this location, which keeps the noise to a minimum. The beds aren't Hilton or Hampton Inn beds, but the linens are clean and the beds are just fine for a few nights stay. The bathrooms are older, but they are clean and work great. They have window air conditioning units, which didn't bother us. We stayed cool, which was all that mattered to us. The front desk workers are very nice and accommodating. Free parking is included at this hotel. If you are looking for luxury, this isn't the place. But, if you're looking for a clean, quiet place in a great location near the boardwalk in Ocean City, this is a great option.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JessNRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We have been to this lovely hotel numerous times. The owner is VERY pleasant, helpful and friendly. She is great at recommending wonderful restaurants. Marie goes out of her way to make sure that her guests are enjoying themselves. During our visit we have had the opportunity to share a glass of wine with Marie and the other guests. Sitting on the front porch is so relaxing. This is truly a very nice place to stay. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Easton97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We booked this hotel for the 2010 memorial day weekend. It was really cozy. It is good for families and couples. The reception was warm. We got there at about 10:30 at night and checking in was an ease. The room was clean when we got there and cleaned everyday. No damp smell either. The lady, who i think is the owner & staff were very nice and friendly to us & our 4 year old. The only reason I rated it 4 is because the rooms are small and ours (with ) 2 double bed had no table, other than that it was nice. It was worth the price. I think we have found the place to stay for all our OC visits.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jentaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.2 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#10 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Hotel

Property: King Charles Hotel
Address: 1209 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — King Charles Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel invites you to relax and enjoy your summer vacation in our clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Our convenient downtown location is one half-block from the beach in the middle of Ocean City's famous Boardwalk. Charming and affordable, the King Charles Hotel is within walking distance of Ocean City's amusements, many fine restaurants, and other attractions. Each of our modest 22 rooms are smoke free and equipped with cable TV, wireless internet access, a dorm-size refrigerator, microwave, air-conditioning, phone, and private bath. Complimentary coffee and tea is available in the hotel lobby. Off street parking for one vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing