We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”
Review of King Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Clean and comfortable this little hotel by the ocean is great for families, couples and group looking for a quiet and clean place to stay just a half block from the ocean. I could not believe how quiet the hotel was at night. The Staff makes every effort to keep the hotel quiet after 11pm nightly. We will be back. A nice personal touch .. the staff remembers your name.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikola99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

When we read about this place online, we didn’t quite believe that it would really turn out to be such a nice place in a great location at a great price. But it’s all true! The hotel is located in a perfect spot; it’s just a short walk to the beach and boardwalk. The room was clean and adequate for our needs. The front desk staff are friendly and helpful, and they have a variety of items you might need to make your stay better. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Ocean City.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

From the time we walked in the back door to check in I knew my wife would be happy with this Hotel, VERY CLEAN! The staff was excellant and I can see why, Marie the owner which leads by example and does a great job of it. The Hotel is in a very nice and quite location being only a block from the Boardwalk. It does feel like your at a bed and breakfast. You have to be there on a Friday nite, Marie makes home made brownies, they are to die for and backs that up with Saturday nite chocalote chip cookies WOW! We felt at home with every guest. We will be back! Keep up the awesome work Marie and staff. THANKS AGAIN FOR THE GREAT VACATION!

Mark and Sue Pittsburgh (GO STEELERS)

Room Tip: Just listen to Marie
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

I recently attempted to call this hotel, to rent a room for a girls weekend with 3 of my closest friends and was immediately turned away by the front desk attendant. As soon as I mentioned that I was under 21(my friends and I are 20 by the way), she quickly stated that her rooms were ONLY for families. The woman was rude and prejudged my friends and I. It is a shame that we were not even given a chance due to her own preconcieved notions.

Room Tip: Apparently for families only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank KayPeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnydays1209, Manager at King Charles Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

This call was taken by me, the hotel manager, and I beg to differ with KayPee of VA. No one was rude with her on the phone nor did anyone prejudge her. We rent to groups both over and under 21. In the months of July and August the hotel is primarily occupied by families, couples, moms and daughters, groups of adult ladies, and the like. I advised her of that because the needs of many under 21 groups are different than those of families and couples. We want all of Ocean City’s visitors to enjoy the type of vacation they are looking to have. Individuals and groups under 21 may stay but require a security deposit. Our hotel’s under 21 policies are no different than any other hotel in OC. I regret that KayPee interpreted our discussion of our hotel and policies to be discriminatory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

I found this hotel on booking.com
What a deal!
Pros:
GREAT location, right off the boardwalk at a very affordable price during peak season.
Clean rooms
Staff & owners are WONDERFUL, outstanding service. Everyone is so friendly.
Quaint feel like a bed & breakfast (but without the breakfast).
Front patio decorated lovely with flowers, adirondack chairs & wicker couches (very comfortable). Pull down shade to block the sun. Smoking allowed on patio. Great for early morning reading with coffee.
Owner bakes Fri & Sat nights & leaves it in the lobby for guests (she hangs out in the lobby chatting with guests too).
Ice for sale in the lobby - very convenient!
Small fridge & microwave in room
A/C works well.
Safe, security guard on site after 11pm.
Great water pressure in shower-important after a beach day (especially with kids who get sand into every crevice).
Cons:
Rooms are comfortable but a bit small & outdated decor wise. Bedspread stiff, bring your own blanket from home to make it more comfortable?
No elevator so if you're on the 3rd floor, arriving / unpacking could be difficult with a big family.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFortoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The King Charles is an older hotel with some updates. Definitely a hotel to return to.

Pros:
Very clean rooms
Extremely friendly staff
Laid back atmosphere
Security without being intrusive
Free parking
One block off the beach
Free coffee and tea available in the lobby
Refrigerator and microwave in room
Competitively priced
Quiet

Cons:
Smaller but adequate size room
Room 203 had a small table and chairs, but no night table

Room Tip: Room 203 had a small table and chairs, but no night table Room 102 was a bit larger and had a night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricksza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The hotel is great, safe and friendly. Great clean and comfortable room, and always fresh coffee in the morning, Love the brownies at the front desk. MarieNoelle the ovner is lovely lady and always there to help. I definetlly coming back next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stravel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
0.5 mi away
Atlantic House Bed and Breakfast
4.6 mi away
Princess Royale Resort
Princess Royale Resort
#3 of 104 in Ocean City
2,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Lighthouse Club Hotel an Inn at Fager's Island
0.2 mi away
An Inn on the Ocean
An Inn on the Ocean
#4 of 18 in Ocean City
107 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Hotel

Address: 1209 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range: £106 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — King Charles Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel invites you to relax and enjoy your summer vacation in our clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Our convenient downtown location is one half-block from the beach in the middle of Ocean City's famous Boardwalk. Charming and affordable, the King Charles Hotel is within walking distance of Ocean City's amusements, many fine restaurants, and other attractions. Each of our modest 22 rooms are smoke free and equipped with cable TV, wireless internet access, a dorm-size refrigerator, microwave, air-conditioning, phone, and private bath. Complimentary coffee and tea is available in the hotel lobby. Off street parking for one vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing