We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Great Location!”
Review of King Charles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King Charles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This hotel is older; however, the owners have done a great job keeping it CLEAN, which is very important. We also noticed they are strict about younger adults / teenagers staying at this location, which keeps the noise to a minimum. The beds aren't Hilton or Hampton Inn beds, but the linens are clean and the beds are just fine for a few nights stay. The bathrooms are older, but they are clean and work great. They have window air conditioning units, which didn't bother us. We stayed cool, which was all that mattered to us. The front desk workers are very nice and accommodating. Free parking is included at this hotel. If you are looking for luxury, this isn't the place. But, if you're looking for a clean, quiet place in a great location near the boardwalk in Ocean City, this is a great option.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JessNRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for King Charles Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2010

We have been to this lovely hotel numerous times. The owner is VERY pleasant, helpful and friendly. She is great at recommending wonderful restaurants. Marie goes out of her way to make sure that her guests are enjoying themselves. During our visit we have had the opportunity to share a glass of wine with Marie and the other guests. Sitting on the front porch is so relaxing. This is truly a very nice place to stay. Looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Easton97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We booked this hotel for the 2010 memorial day weekend. It was really cozy. It is good for families and couples. The reception was warm. We got there at about 10:30 at night and checking in was an ease. The room was clean when we got there and cleaned everyday. No damp smell either. The lady, who i think is the owner & staff were very nice and friendly to us & our 4 year old. The only reason I rated it 4 is because the rooms are small and ours (with ) 2 double bed had no table, other than that it was nice. It was worth the price. I think we have found the place to stay for all our OC visits.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jentaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2009

we arrive very late in Ocean city and we go all around to find a place to spend a night. the offer in that city is very low. you can find a lot of hotels but very expencive and overrated. we were very lucky to find a room at the king charles. room was big (see photos) and clean. the owner was very nice ask her everything you need (restaurants, infos...) she was very helpful. wifi and parking available.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marco.to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

After a horrible experience at another hotel.. we lucked out on getting a room at King Charles the following day. The lady at the front desk, who I assumed owned the hotel, apologized for us having a bad experience at the other hotel and made us feel very comfortable. The rooms were a decent size, but very clean and cozy. Our room also had a balcony which was great to relax after the beach. We will definitely be back everything was amazing.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank herrtav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Feels something like a B&B without the breakfast: not large number of rooms, 2-person friendly and attentive staff, lobby and front porch for relaxing, clean and well-kept, insistence on good behavior from guests, etc. Great location one block from the boardwalk. Free parking space no more than 1/2 block away. Free wireless Internet access. Full range of cable TV channels. The room size is definitely as advertised -- "modest" -- so one isn't going to want to hang out in the room a great deal (especially with active kids), but that's what the beach is for. There is a table that functions as the TV stand with a refrigerator and microwave next to it. You can hear comings & goings of others, but the loud fan from the window a/c works well to cover most of that.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank consultant007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Martaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,217 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
329 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#8 of 104 in Ocean City
842 reviews
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King Charles Hotel

Address: 1209 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range: £66 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — King Charles Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The King Charles Hotel invites you to relax and enjoy your summer vacation in our clean, comfortable and friendly hotel. Our convenient downtown location is one half-block from the beach in the middle of Ocean City's famous Boardwalk. Charming and affordable, the King Charles Hotel is within walking distance of Ocean City's amusements, many fine restaurants, and other attractions. Each of our modest 22 rooms are smoke free and equipped with cable TV, wireless internet access, a dorm-size refrigerator, microwave, air-conditioning, phone, and private bath. Complimentary coffee and tea is available in the hotel lobby. Off street parking for one vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing