We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok”
Review of Burgundy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Burgundy Inn
Ranked #13 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed in room 21 this summer. The unit is very roomy but very dirty. the carpets were black. Lots of flies and sour flies flying around. There was nothing to cook with, thank goodness I brought cooking supplies along. The bathroom was very small and needed updating. There was no toliet paper roll dispenser on the wall. It looked like it had been ripped off and never replaced. My husband was looking for something in the bedroom and came across a used tampon with wrapper by our bedside where we layed our heads. That was gross!!!! Both bedrooms smelled like mold. They were telling us they have wi-fi but that didnt work at all in our room. The pool was outdated, full of sand and hair floating around. The only thing that was nice was the private porch to people watch and the staff was nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

I think the hotel is great for families. We stayed there 2 nights and 3 days. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the walk to the beach was only 5 minutes away. The price was very resonable and the pool is smaill but very inviting. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dc207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Decent place to stay....walking distance to everything....clean..nice and friendly staff.....cons...small rooms...no closet or place to dry out clothes....need updates..but all in all quiet and nice location

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinfamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Just completed an awesome visit to Ocean City with a 3 night stay at the Charming Burgundy Inn on 13th Street.

From start to finish our stay was perfect. When we checked in we were greeted like we were part of the family. Very nice. Our room (1 room suite) was clean and had all of the amenities we were looking for. The service crew were very respectful and accommodating. The pool was pristine and quiet but we spent most of our time at the beach of course. Our 1 block walk to the sand was through the historic district of Ocean City. All of the buildings are low rising, which provides a very nice view of the surrounding area. The landscaping at the Burgundy Inn and the surrounding area was beautiful. This was a nice little bonus for us as we loved walking around and visiting the local restaurants. The owner and owner’s daughter (I believe it is a family-run business) recommended a couple of great local places to eat – OC Wasabi had some incredible sushi and the service was excellent. We would highly recommend the Burgundy Inn and will be looking forward to future visits.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ciaobella0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

After reading the previous reviews I decided that perhaps people are too hard on hotels. My family needed a place close to the boardwalk and the beach and this was it! The location was EXCELLENT! Easy for my teenagers to WALK to the boardwalk. Easy to the beach. I LOVED THE STAY 4 NIGHTS GET ONE FREE! The staff was VERY EASY to work with, LOVE YA MEGAN! We did have some housekeeping confusion about cleaning the room but it was done graciously after communication was established. I will definitely stay here again. I don't need the Taj Mahal when all I'm doing is sleeping and showering there. It was PERFECT as a home base for the week! If you are looking for a comfortable reasonable place to stay this is it!

Room Tip: we stayed in room 115 on the end and second floor considered a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mimi183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I will never never never stay at this trap again!!!!!! This place was very dirty very very very small could not sleep because a/c units sound like a jet engine beds are sitting on the floor no dead bolt on doors and did not close tight. Pillows had blood stains on them. and this place cost us 2.000 dollars for a week people that own this should be ashame of themselfs. unit 23 youll never see us again. Ocean city should check in to this place and make them update there hotel cause it is BAD!!!! I would like a refund but I know i wont get one so this will be my refund to help people not to get ripped off and not stay at this DUMP

Room Tip: Do not rent this place is gross
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dana r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

I wouldn't recommend this Hotel/Motel to anybody! My Family and I stayed for a week. There was 5 of us! The people and mangement there was not friendly at all! There was no maid to clean our room daily, one did come and vacumed our sandy floor once. We had to keep going to the front office for new towels,etc! and during our stay there my dad had fount bugs! We had bugs all over our counters, beds, clothes, and in the bathroom! Nasty to say the least! The hotel is in a wonderful place and setting in Ocean City but needs to work on there mangement, services, and space. We had no room what so ever to move or walk around once we got our things in the room and the pull out couch out! Defenitly not worth our time anymore!

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower floor kinda close to the road had some noise! and had the noise from the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Desi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BurgundyInn, General Manager at Burgundy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We will use this information as we continue to review our property and service, and will make corrections and change our procedures where necessary. However, as General Manager I would like to respond and clarify the circumstances that led to this review.

Your stay was in May 2012, not July 2011. During the month of May we hire most of our seasonal housekeeping staff and begin training them for the upcoming season. We hire and train them in May because this is when seasonal workers begin arriving in Ocean City. This year our culturally diverse summer staff comes from the United States, Dominican Republic, Thailand, Kazakhstan, Romania, Moldova, and Ireland. They are educated, intelligent, enthusiastic, friendly, and motivated. They all speak and understand English to varying degrees and are eager to provide great service to the best of their understanding and training. Since our new staff is incomplete and not fully trained in May and into June, our brochures state that we provide maid service in July and August. But we do offer maid service upon request in May, and our housekeeping staff is assigned to go to every room each morning to offer maid service. They are told not to knock or enter if the "Do Not Disturb" sign is on the door. However, in the future we will instruct and encourage our housekeepers to try to anticipate what our guests may need and to return to rooms that did not want to be disturbed to see if their desires had changed. And we will continue to encourage our guests to just ask if they have any needs or concerns that we can help them with.

During your stay you made no mention of insects in your room, although you said you came to the office a number of times for towels. Nor were there signs of insects in any of our rooms before or after your stay. We contract with a professional pest control company to provide monthly routine preventive service so this type of problem does not occur at The Burgundy Inn. Guests can avoid bringing insect pests into their room from the beach by shaking out their towels before bringing them into the room and not keeping open food and beverage containers and food-related trash in the room. Again, upon request we will quickly respond to housekeeping and maintenance needs, including removing trash from the room and providing extra trash bags.

I'm sorry you weren't happy with the room you selected. We have a variety of room types and sizes--ranging from cozy rooms by the pool that sleep up to 4 people to our large 4-Bedroom/3-Bathroom Apartment for as many as 18 guests. Rooms are clearly described in our brochures and on our web sites, photos are available online, we describe the rooms on the phone when reservations are made, and a written room description is included when we mail your confirmation. You reserved an Efficiency Room in our Main Building, which has two double beds and one sleep sofa to accommodate up to 6 people. This is one of our more popular and economical rooms--many groups of 5 or 6 people choose this type of room and return year after year because of the price, location, convenience, and amenities of our Efficiency Rooms.

Finally, I must add that at check in we require a security deposit for every room--either signed authorization to bill a credit card should there be loss or damage to the room during your stay, or a cash security deposit that will be refunded after you leave if there is no damage or loss. Every guest also signs our Temporary Lodging document--agreeing not to damage property, endanger others, disrupt the peace, or engage in any illegal activities. The consequences of inappropriate behavior in violation of this agreement are clearly stated.

In the past much of the high cost of damage caused by a few guests was absorbed by The Burgundy Inn and resulted in rate increases that unfairly affected all of our guests. However, we have become very diligent at documenting damage to our rooms, furnishings, linens, etc. so that the responsible parties assume the consequences and financial costs of their activities during their stay. Some of our guests have been billed for damages, some of which were quite costly. All of these were witnessed and verified by multiple staff members, photographed where appropriate, documented and tracked to specific rooms and guests. We billed those responsible for the damage they caused, as they had previously authorized us to do. When these guests received the documentation and receipts many of them expressed anger, disbelief, and surprise that we had actually charged them for the damage they had caused. This review can be attributed to one of these angry guests. We will continue with this policy of charging those who cause damage to Burgundy Inn property. This enables us to protect and preserve the property, treat guests who do not cause damage fairly, keep our rates as low as possible, and offer clean affordable accommodations for budget-minded travelers to Ocean City.

It is my goal that we will continue to have many of our guests return to The Burgundy Inn for future stays, and that when they return they will find us to be even better than they remember!

Nancy S.
General Manager
The Burgundy Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#49 of 104 in Ocean City
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Princess Royale Resort
Princess Royale Resort
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,887 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Lodge Hotel
Ocean Lodge Hotel
#77 of 104 in Ocean City
68 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burgundy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgundy Inn

Address: 1210 Philadelphia Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3643
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range: £38 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Burgundy Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the "Boardwalk Experience" without the Boardwalk price! 1-1/2 blocks to beach. Outdoor pool. Tropical Deck & Courtyard with grilling capabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Burgundy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burgundy Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing