We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean City Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake Beach, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Ocean City Location”
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Hotel was very clean. Employees friendly. Evening Desk clerk was super nice.
Continental breakfast was simple and nice. Constantly replenished - great start
for the morning. Awesomely short/sweet walk to the beach. Covered and open
parking lot. Minimum two night stay. Still need to install Wi-Fi in rooms.
Would highly recommend for summer weekend trips.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank kskids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    121
    21
    5
    7
See reviews for
124
94
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
McAdoo, Pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

We had a great stay at this hotel. It was very clean and super friendly! We had a small view of the ocean from our balcony which was nice. The bathroom was very clean which is very important to me. The rug did have a few stains but that can't be helped when you have all kinds of people that don't care about how they treat hotel rooms. I would definatly stay here again. Close to the boardwalk and beach. Parking was not a problem like some people stated. The breakfast was just enough, I mean it filled my kids bellies and they liked getting and making thier own toast or bagel. As far as the pool, it is small but most of the time nobody was in it, so when we came back from the beach every day we went to the pool for an hour or so as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearcub04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We stayed at this hotel in mid-June 2011 for a one-night getaway to Ocean City. The location was great - just a block from the boardwalk. Rooms were clean and we could see the ocean (barely!) from our balcony. We didn't use the pool during our stay. The staff were competent and friendly, but service was just a bit slow (mainly due to customers, not to the staff). Breakfast is basic - toast, cereal, oatmeal, etc. We were only in town one night so we gave it a miss and went out for a nice brunch instead. Our room was clean and was nice to have a fridge to store some fruit, juice, etc. Overall, was good value and would consider staying here again if we go back to Ocean City.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwannTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Well, My husband and I went for 6 days to Maryland to visit his parents. My husband's parents own a very small house so we made arrangments at the sleep inn. It was okay but not amazing. The rooms were very small and the bed was a king and it was the same size as a queen. It also wasent that clean i found some mold spots in the shower so i called the front desk and housekeeping came up and cleaned it. The service was very nice and accomidating and they helped us with all of our needs. The pool was very small and the week we went was very crowded so there was no room to sit and sun tan by the pool. (we were better of at the beach anyway.) Also the breakfast was good they had good waffles and many cereals to choose from! But in all this hotel was pretty averege. When we come back to Maryland next year we will be staying at a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babbytravel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Great location, only 1 block from Boardwalk. Hotel is easy to find and has free internet and parking. Our room even had a partial ocean view and huge balcony.
Carol at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. Gave us great recommendations for area restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vaughnsuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

Had such a wonderful time. Stayed one night.
The staff was very nice and accomadating.
The room was really nice, great bathroom and bathtub with shower.
Perfect location to the beach, 1 block, and crossed the street to rent a bike for a fun ride on the boardwalk.
7/11 in walking distance.
The whole experience was enjoyable and I plan on returning for more trips.
Thanks Choice for another fine experience

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pgenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

We stayed for one night. The room was clean, except on one of the pillows there were some stains (looked like maybe from makeup) but I wasn't too worried about it since we had 3 other pillows that looked fine. Our shower was a bit odd, it sort of had a hallway inside the shower and the showerhead was tucked back in the corner...sort of hard to explain unless you see it! The bed was comfy and the bathroom was spacious...huge counter! Although the coffee pot was in the bathroom which I thought was interesting. Good thing I read the reviews on here before we went though...we were planning on taking our 4 door long bed pick up truck but after reading that the parking lot was tight we decided to take our compact car....great idea because the parking lot really is VERY VERY TIGHT!!!! it was tight even for my 2 dr car. The lady at the front desk was very polite, but it took quite a while to check in...she seemed sort of preoccupied. Great location!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcraig10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.8 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#48 of 103 in Ocean City
297 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Suites

Property: Gateway Hotel & Suites
Address: 11 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4016 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#9 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Ocean City
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing