We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Ranked #16 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012

The sleep inn is a good hotel for a reasonable price. It is not the fanciest, but the cable is decent to entertain the children and adults alike, the rooms are clean and comfortable with the exception of the bathroom- the shower doesn't drain properly leaving sand and other remains to stay in the tub. (The same thing happened the last time we stayed here. If this were changed, I would give this a 5 for the money and location). The fantastic thing about this place is the breakfast. It was not your traditional continental breakfast, they also provided waffles, sausage, boiled eggs, yogurt, etc. I was full and satisfied when I finished breakfast. Overall, we were satisfied here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cajeanpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

This motel is clean, spacious and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Thanks Carol for suggesting a great restaurant and after dinner cruise. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious and was even ready earlier then the scheduled opening time of 7am.

The location is great, only half a block from the beach! We also took our bikes and enjoyed riding around town, it was much easier to get around on bike then to battle the traffic. We will definitely come back when we come to OC again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

We decided on a beach weekend at the last minute and the Sleep Inn was available. Great location on 1st st just one block from the boardwalk. Easy check-in, friendly staff. The rooms were a bit small, but we were right at the pool, which the kids loved. They kept the hotel very clean. It also had a complementary breakfast, which was excellent. Parking was a bit tight, but we never needed the car, so it was no problem. The best thing was that my kids left their golf clubs behind in the room after check-out. The hotel promptly called us and we were able to get them right away. We were so appreciative and that made such a great impression on us.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ticky v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We just got back from a three-day, two-night stay at the Sleep Inn and Suites. It was our first time in Ocean City and definitely won't be the last. We had an awesome time.

First of all, the location is perfect. Two blocks from the boardwalk and beach, it is in the middle of all the fun. There are ice cream shops, restaurants, drugstores, bike rentals, and lots of souvenir shops all within a 5 minute drive or less. I highly recommend On the Bay Seafood for succulent, delicious crab and OC Swirl for healthy tart frozen yogurt. Despite being so close to the action, this hotel was far enough away that it was very quiet.

Second, the rooms (we had three) were all immaculately clean. Our rooms all had king beds and they were soft and very comfortable. There is a coffee maker in the bathroom, a table and chairs on the terrace, and a TV with plenty of channels. The TV is a bit old but it was big enough and worked fine.

Third, the breakfast is awesome. There was a huge assortment. There's a waffle station, two different types of cereal, sausages, toast, fruits, hard-boiled eggs, and low-fat yogurt. For a free breakfast, this is more than what we expected. The hours are from 7-10 am, which I think is quite generous. They even kept it open a little later (until 10:15 or so) for stragglers to pick up some coffee and muffins.

Fourth, the staff is awesome. They were kind, professional, and courteous. I originally booked a one night stay but then we decided to stay two nights. The prices online had increased by then so I called the hotel to press my luck. Not only did the woman (Carol) give me the online price ($190 instead of $200+) she also made it so that we wouldn't have to move to a different room (on account of technically having two separate reservations). We celebrated my dad's birthday a bit early and got him a gift. We forgot the wrapping paper and tape so I went to the front desk and grabbed some newspaper and the young man provided tape.

Fifth, parking is plentiful and free. Not sure if free parking is the norm around these parts since this was our first time, but this isn't the case in many other areas so I did appreciate this.

I'm usually hesitant to book hotels around beach areas. They are usually overpriced, dirty, and run-down. Not so with this establishment. Don't hesitate to pull the trigger and book. Our family will be back again at this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a family, go for a room with two double beds. We stayed in rooms with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I know that when I stay at a hotel, the main things I am concerned about are cleanliness and price. While it was a little expensive, the price was about the same as other hotels in the area. It is not beachfront and we could not see the ocean from our balcony, but the boardwalk is just a short walk away. I know it's difficult to decide exactly which end is the best to stay on. In my opinion, Sleep Inn is right in the middle of all the action. As for the hotel itself, the staff were incredibly nice and extremely helpful in finding the best crab for your money. Breakfast was sufficient, but not wonderful. They have the basics. The room was clean, which is really important, and the beds were fairly comfortable. My only complaint is that the parking is really tight. If you have an SUV, van, or truck, you may have some trouble parking. We tried to get a spot on the end of the lot, which wasn't always possible. However, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OliviaLouann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This was our first time in Ocean City MD. I called a few places until I spoke with Carol who was Out of this world Fabulous! She gave us a great room on the corner of the top floor with a cute balcony that had a perfect view of the ocean across the way! Nonetheless a great price for our 2 night stay. She even went out the side door and showed us where the best restaurants were to go for dinner. Yes they were "WONDERFUL" The only mishaps I was not happy with was that the maids did not replenish our toiletries on the first night, and that I could not connect to their Free Wi FI until the last hour before we left. This was very frustrating.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My two friends and I are currently staying at Sleep Inn. The room is very clean and the staff (Carol) is excellent. Thanks Carol for directing us to Crab Alley for lunch. We are enjoying our stay and would return to this hotel again. Rooms are nicely furnished, A/C works VERY well, nice balcony, large bathroom, clean beds and mini-fridge. It is a little pricey for my taste but appears to be a good value compared to the prices of other hotels in this area. Boardwalk is just a block away. Hotel offers complimentary breakfast but I haven't tried it yet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLHUMBLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.8 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,711 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#30 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 104 in Ocean City
1,036 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gateway Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Hotel & Suites

Address: 11 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4016 (Formerly Sleep Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £78 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gateway Hotel & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gateway Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Ocean City
Sleep Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing