We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of White Marlin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Marlin Inn
Ranked #14 of 18 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Pasadena, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good location, terrible hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

The room was dirty, the bed had no top sheet, the 2 thin towels were the size of hand towels, (they smelled stale) the hot water was off for awhile, no maid service at all the second day - we had to go to the office to get fresh towels, the tiniest bar of soap you will ever see, thin walls, a cheap door lock- we propped a chair up against it at night. ...I can't say enough about how awful this hotel is!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skygoddess333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    13
    2
    39
See reviews for
20
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

Helpful staff and wonderful location with great rates. The room is small but you get what you pay for . Despite other reviews my room was clean and had no troubles. I plan on going again because it was very reasonable and tidey.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cwassin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

This has to be the WORST experience I've had at a motel. From the moment I entered the office I knew I was going to have issues. "Buzz" (he wouldn't give me his real name) the young man "working" the front desk was not only rude to patrons but he wasn't very good at his job. Patron after patron had to remind him that they hadn't received their keys or remote (yes they give you your TV remote at the desk). After checking into the room we went to find it. We opened the door and saw a small room (what you'd expect for $50) this was ok but was wasn't ok was the GIANT BALL OF HAIR on the pillows. Upon further inspection there was sand in both the beds (obviously they DON'T CHANGE THE SHEETS!!!) After letting the management know they offered us a room that was "just cleaned" NO! IT WAS NOT! HAIR ON THE PILLOW AGAIN! The general manager Beth did offer us a refund but mentioned that her staff was not "the best." TERRIBLE.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123ALEXD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I know the only reason people book this hotel is for the pice. Believe me when I tell you it is not worth it. This place is repulsive and I did not want my children to be exposed to a heath hazord like this hotel. I usually try to find at least one good thing to write about but believe me when I tell you, this hotel had none. The management was unwilling to help and very rude. Please spend a bit more money and stay someplace else.

Room Tip: I have no tips besides choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This hotel was a disaster! So bad we chose to sit outside til 3am and only spend 3 hrs in the room and checked out asap in the morning. Room was cramped and filthy. I work at a hotel and was appalled at the discusting rm. Keys barely opened the door, trash under the beds, damp rid bag hanging from discusting a/c, bathrm was so dirty we were scared to even use it and towels that were in rm were dirty and stained. Staff was rude and just didn't care about anything we said. We slept on top of the blankets in our clothes! Should be shut down! Don't stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julz32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Where should I start? The most vile and disgusting place ever! The staff is beyond rude. The man behind the front desk asked me if what i needed (which was to check in) would take long. He also had horrible body odor. The office reeked of feces. The room is the size of a walk in closet. Every inch of the room was filthy. The room had a horrific smell and was very damp. There was a clump of hair in the shower an all of the towels were stained. (There were 2 towels). There was pubic hair in the beds and the comforters were stinky and dirty. There was garbage under the bed. No remote for the tv. You could barely get the door open. We were afraid to sleep there it was so bad. No one showered or even brushed their teeth in the nasty bathroom. We left as soon as the sun came up, sleeping on the beach is a much healthier option! Not one guest that we met was pleased with the motel, everyone was leaving first thing in the am. Please please please investigate this motel! It is a health hazard and needs bulldozed down.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lailaloo816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for two night on July 4th weekend (July 5-7, 2012), we were told on the phone when we booked the hotel that our total price for two night on a holiday weekend was going to be around $143.00. We were amazed that it was that low (their Internet price was much higher), after my husband asked several times if the price was correct we booked the hotel. When we finally arrived to check in the front desk person told us our price for two nights was $410.00!!! We were shocked! We told him this is not the correct price we were told over the phone and we would not sign for this price. Meanwhile a few days before our credit card was charged $71.50 for which their website says is the first nights stay. We were expecting to pay the remaining amount for the second night. After talking to the front desk we ended up only signing for the amount they already charged us and instructed to speak to the manager tomorrow about staying the second night. As my husband was on a deep sea fishing trip I had to be the one to speak to the manager... she was the rudest person I've EVER met!! Basically told me the price we were originally told over the phone was wrong and the correct price was $200 something a night and I'd just have to pay it! I explained that this is not what we were told and should have to pay for your mistake. She wouldn't except that and I told her that we would not be staying a second night! When I officially checked out the managed was in an argument with another customer and it escalated to the point where she was calling the cops. Her exact words to a customer were "You need to shut your mouth and leave my building, this conversation is over!" Who speaks that way to a customer?? Again when I spoke to her she was very rude and I just had to leave.
The next day my husband called to take care of the situation and she was very rude to him on the phone... we told her she had no right to charge our card without our permission and without us signing for anything. She ended up hanging up on us as we were about to tell her that we will be disputing this charge with our credit card company.
Not to mention the hotel was not anywhere what we expected!!!!! I don't know how they think they can even charge $200+ for their rooms! DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#68 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#10 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#19 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Marlin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Marlin Inn

Property: White Marlin Inn
Address: 207 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4020 (Formerly Sun Tan Motel)
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — White Marlin Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your White Marlin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Tan Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing