We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for what you get”
Review of Decatur Diner

Decatur Diner
Ranked #52 of 437 Restaurants in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Over priced for what you get”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Always see crowds waiting at breakfast time so we decided to try it last weekend. The place is much smaller inside that I thought it would be. I got blueberry pancakes which were good. One member of the family ordered the cream chipped beef. It hardly had any beef in it. Just looked like a white sauce. the same thing on the sausage gravy meal - hardly any sausage - just white sauce. The price of the kids meals are expensive and all of them include eggs which isn't very helpful when your child doesn't eat eggs. Also to charge a dollar more for chocolate milk than white milk is crazy. In addition, there is an extra charge for sharing food and a big sign on the door that you may not bring in any of your own food or you will be charged. This is not a family friendly policy in my opinion if you have a baby or young child that won't eat food on the menu.

The service was very poor. The waitress never once checked back to see if we wanted more coffee. It also took forever to get the check. Not what I would expect for a diner!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OnthegoMomMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    36
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

Best food in ocean city!! The pipeline sounds weird but it's bangin' I could eat it the rest of my life!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laxtastic4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, PA
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great little locally owned place”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We vacation yearly in Ocean City, MD and happened on this place for the first time this year. It is about a mile off Route 90, in West Ocean City. The food was good and plentiful, breakfast all day long. Prices were cheap, meals ranged from $7 to $12 or so. There was a mix of locals and tourists there, off the "beaten path" for tourists most likely. I had the Reuben and fries, kids had breakfast fare. Both were served hot however not real quickly. The place is small and fills up fast. Very friendly atmosphere, clean, family type place. Would recommend for anyone looking for good, relatively cheap food. Will certainly return next year.

I didn't have it, but I saw people having the chicken fired steak with gravy; it was homemade, HUGE and looked delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taneytown md
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A homerun for sure!”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

if you love food then you need to try this little gem by the sea.....was blown away by the half pipeline.....yes i said Half! I'm a big guy and can put down the grub but this meal is amazing....it is large, fresh,tasty, and served piping hot right out of the oven....breakfast done...now lunch....i had the hot turkey sandwich and my wife had the club sandwich.....both were excellent...service is well above average....quality is awesome and seems that its where the locals hang out....easy to find ,if your down the ocean hun,you gotta try it out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank randy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Diner Delight!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

For a straight-ahead Eastern Shore diner experience, the Decatur Diner scores on all fronts. Friendly staff, good service, very clean and conveniently located (if you're in West Ocean City or Berlin). Don't expect fancy baked goods or a latte, but if you're ready to dig into a meal that sticks to your bones, they've got great eggs, omelets, grits, and a full range of meat products (including scrapple).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Surfbrutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Decatur Diner also viewed

 

Been to Decatur Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing