We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FALSE description of accommodations - disgusting - bugs..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Mallard Apartments
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Filthy rundown very small.. What you read and view are totally false.. We booked this for a girls getaway and upon arriving in the evening the filth had us all squirming, no bedding, no microwave and we didn't want to even place r things on the floor let alone sit anywhere.. We did get a full refund when we mentioned "reporting to the health board" and we were lucky to find a place rooms available. We were willing to sleep on the beach but we were not staying there at any price..let alone the outrageous price these people charge.
The Russian couple that run this place are extremely rude .. Do not book if u want to enjoy your time at the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
There are newer reviews for The Mallard Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Do not stay at this place. Do not book this place. Do not believe what advertised on their website. Wifi is spotty and didn't not work at most of the time. Place is not cleaned professionally. This is a total scam to take advantage of people need to place to stay for their short vacations in oc. Rates are just ridiculous for such cheap, dirty units. Staying here will definitely ruin your vacation times with family or friends. Beds are too small with no blankets, no pillows, and thin mattresses. Again - do not stay at this place.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank idocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This place was so expensive. When we got there it was disgusting. One of the showers didn't have hot water. There was rat poop on the floor. The ceilings were so short, less than 8ft ceilings. The floor was so dirty and covered in grime. The whole place smells like cat piss. To top it all off the land lord, George and his wife were both ignorant Russian scum bags. They do not run an honest business and they ruined my vacation and took my money.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights over the July 4 holiday with a group of about 12 friends in Apartment E. Overall, this is a modestly priced place and is an average housing option for large groups who aren't expecting luxury living and who plan on spending most of their time outside around Ocean City. The location a block from the beach and boardwalk is fantastic. While the facilities (A/C, toilet, refrigerator, etc.) are in working condition, they are all old and could definitely use some better upkeep.

Flies
When we first checked in, the apartment was mostly clean and did seem to have any major issues except for the flies. My friends and I killed about a dozen flies during our first few hours in the apartment. When I turned on the kitchen faucet, a handful of flies flew out of the drain – not a pleasant experience. The owners could do more to get rid of this problem other than just leaving a fly swatter in the apartment.

Bedrooms
Apartment E is advertised as a 2 bedroom 1 bathroom apartment, but there is technically only 1 bedroom and a small add-on room that’s an offshoot of the living room. It has just enough space for the bunk bed and has poor A/C circulation, so it can get stuffy in there. Like in the photos, there are two full size beds in the bedroom with sheets, pillows, and blankets. I slept on one of the beds and didn't have any issues. The A/C unit is in the bedroom and is pretty old and noisy.

Living Room
There is a small coffee table, a TV, and two pull-out sofas in the living room. The TV works, but it’s small and we did not actually watch it much. The sofa beds in the living room don’t come with sheets, so make sure to bring some if people in your group are sleeping on them. The living room is pretty spacious, and we brought an extra air mattress so we could fit more people in the apartment.

Kitchen
The kitchen/dining room is a nice size, and there is a stove and microwave. There are a few mismatched plates, bowls, and silverware stored in the cupboards, but we only used the cookingware with the stove. We thought that the refrigerator wasn’t working when we first loaded our food into there, but we later found out that it was just old and needed more time than normal to get cold inside.

Bathroom
The bathroom seemed fine when we first moved in, but it did not hold up well during our stay. The toilet clogged a few times, and water spilled out of the shower and pooled in the bathroom. Given that the apartment is advertised as being able to fit 10 people, this single bathroom could definitely use an upgrade to withstand that much usage.

Outdoor area
The porch and patio areas were nicer places to hang out than inside our apartment. Our apartment shared a porch with the adjacent apartment where we could hang out outside and lay out our wet towels to dry. There were some also some outdoor benches and tables as well as a grill in the walkways connecting the six Mallard apartments.


Location
As I mentioned, the location alone makes this a great option for Ocean City boardwalk and beach visitors. There is a small convenience store in the opposite direction from the boardwalk, and the boardwalk area between 6th and 7th Street has a ton of food options. The beach is literally a few steps away from the apartment.

Parking
Only one car per apartment is allowed to park in the lot behind the apartment complex. The lot is small and requires coordination with other apartment residents because some cars have to be boxed in so that all of the cars can fit in the lot. There is a lot of street parking and paid parking lots in the area, and my friends who went to look for parking did not have too much trouble.

Room Tip: Apartments C and E share a porch, so get both of these if you plan on renting out more than one apar...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

After being so excited to go to Senior week, my son and his friends got checked in to find their room (that they each had to pay $355 each x 8) was a total hole in the wall. Totally neglected from any up keep. My son did not feel comfortable staying there, so within in 3 hours of his arrive he tried to leave (based on the conditions of room & too many people for the size of room they were given), he was toldl to bad NO REFUNDS! You signed the paperwork when you checked in.

I understand that they are running a business, but fair is fair. Give the kid his hard earned money back! After a phone call from me, they agreed to give him his deposit back. Big deal! I understand he signed in, but being there less than 3 hours they could have found the common sense and understanding to give the kids a portion of his money back!

I will NEVER recommend an establishment that treats others with such disregard! What has happened to people that can't seem to find a piece of their heart and show compassion!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank twconklin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were so excited to get this place because of it's location one block from the boardwalk. Spending our time and money to clean it after we got checked in quickly sucked the excitement out of us. Wow! This place could be a treasure. It's a shame it is completely neglected. Large splatterings of peanut butter on the kitchen light and peanut butter On much of the "clean" silverware. Our feet turned black within 10 minutes of walking through the door. We are not clean freaks by any stretch of the imagination, but holy cow! We stayed in apt F. Two bedrooms, a bathroom and a door downstairs. Kitchen, sofa bed, and main door with a covered balcony upstairs. Again....this could be a gem if they spent even 30 minutes cleaning the thing. My 12 year old found underpants in the toilet on arrival. Enough said.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AndynSuzan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#74 of 104 in Ocean City
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo Ocean Front
Hotel Monte Carlo Ocean Front
#64 of 104 in Ocean City
7 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rideau Motor Inn
Rideau Motor Inn
#88 of 104 in Ocean City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Suites
Gateway Hotel & Suites
#16 of 104 in Ocean City
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Carlo
Hotel Monte Carlo
#75 of 104 in Ocean City
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Lankford Lodge
#10 of 18 in Ocean City
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mallard Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mallard Apartments

Address: 603 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-4348
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Ocean City
Price Range: £250 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Mallard Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing