We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a hotel room than resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #40 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Potomac, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“More a hotel room than resort”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On the plus side: The room had an excellent balcony facing the ocean.
On the minus side: We could hear people in the next room; the room service was vending machine quality; the service was indifferent; the brunch was poor quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potomac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the review. In the off season our hotel does offer many great amenities such as an ice skating rink, heated indoor pool, spa, sauna's, fitness center, game room, lounge, oceanfront restaurant, gift shop and coffee shop, we do in fact offer much more during the Summer months. In the Summer we additionally offer many live entertainment options, theme nights, family activities, camp carousel, family photo night, free beach chairs and more. We thank you for being our guest and for the review. We hope to have you at our great oceanfront location again for your next beach vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    317
    230
    152
    203
See reviews for
743
153
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snow Hill, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This Hotel went out their way to make our visit a wonderful stay. We were on Ocean side and it was the week-end of storm Karen. Upon arrival, we noticed only 1 wash cloth and 1 hand towel. It was just a short time and the maid had what we needed. The 1st night the thermostat said 50-60 degrees. Went to the desk next day. They said they would send maintenance man. When we got back to room, there was a heater and the room felt so good. 2nd day I could not get into internet with the pass word. A young man by the name of Chris came up immediately and got me in. This Hotel was fast and on the ball with your needs. Very pleasant people, and wanted to be at your service.

Room Tip: Was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for all your kind words! We work hard to make sure your experience is one to remember. Our staff is some of the best in Ocean City and Chris is no exception. We are thrilled that your vacation was memorable and you had a superior guest experience. Thanks again for the kind review, we look forward to having you back at our hotel again for your next vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Always enjoy staying at the Carousel, nice location in the more quiet part of town and the price is fairly reasonable. Folks at the front desk are always great, and you always feel welcome.

Hotel is within walking distance of Denny's for breakfast and Grottos for great pizza. Life is good.

Room Tip: I prefer the atrium rooms, always fun to sit out on the indoor balcony and watch the ice skaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear valued Carousel guest, thanks so much for choosing us for your beach vacation! As you had mentioned, we have a great location close to many dining options. Many of our guests compliment us on our great staff and we appreciate all the kind words. Please stay tuned for great specials and pay us a weekend visit again this beautiful Fall! Thanks again for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I want to thank the Carousel again for another wonderful experience. We've been going to the OC Bike show every year now for awhile and we stay at the Carousel often and each year it just seems to get better. This year was no different. The condo we stayed it was excellent; clean and well appointed with the necessary items along with a great view of the ocean and the bay. We ate in the restaurant which has improved dramatically over the years. All of the staff seem to go out of there way to make sure you had everything you wanted or needed. We also like the covered parking for the bikes and the fact that the security guards are very attentive to them. We highly recommend the Carousel!! We'll keep coming back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a condo on a higher floor, you will pay more, but you get the best of both worlds - Ocean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear valued repeat customer, thanks so much for making The Carousel your beachfront accommodations! As you had mentioned, we are working hard to upgrade and beautify our property and amenity package. This year we added new carpets and a gorgeous, spacious hot tub in the indoor pool area. We will continue to work hard to innovate and create the relaxing vacation atmosphere you deserve!

Thanks for the excellent review. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodland Park
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Every year my boyfriend and I, along with some friends go to Ocean City for a big Volkswagen show during the last weekend in September/beginning of October. Since 2011 we've been staying at the Carousel, and it's always been your average hotel... fairly nice and always clean enough. However this year we rented a condo which we did in 2012, but this time I was honestly disgusted with the cleanliness. The floors in our room were sticky and you could hear the stickiness when you walked on them. The carpets were stained. There was garbage left on the balcony. There were sunflower seeds on the bedroom floor. And the worst part of all was that there was a huge clump of hair covered in BLACK GUNK on the wall where the toilet paper hangs. DISGUSTING! I went to the front desk and housekeeping came, but for the amount of money we spend you'd think the room would be clean BEFORE we got there.
On the plus side, the room was decorated beautifully... had a very pretty tropical theme with really nice furniture. It's a shame really that they don't keep up with maintaining it.
I highly doubt we will be staying at this hotel next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear valued customer, thanks so much for choosing The Carousel for your Volkswagon weekend. We truly do apologize for an inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay. Typically our condos are cleaned by a professional crew, carpets shampooed regularly and we very seldom ever receive complaints on cleanliness, especially from our condo units. We do ask that you offer us another opportunity to earn your business for next years VW weekend. Thank you once more for being our guest, we hope to have you again in the future!

Fahrvergnügen

Sincerely
The friendly Carousel Group Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

York, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

this was my 2nd time staying here just like last time my HUMMER stayed safe in the parking garage and they have yet again provided a great place to vacation wouldn't go anywhere else.. rented a 3 bed 2 bath condo had plenty of family and friends with me prices are fair and well to be frank where else are you finding a ice skating rink! I recommend to anyone with kids or teenagers.. even adults made many friends here see you next year! and these people are always cleaning!!

Room Tip: ocean view is worth it and anything above the 4th floor the elevator is less busy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks for the great review, it is always a pleasure to accommodate our repeat customers! We're thrilled you chose to make your memories once more with us for your family's beach vacation. We do have a ton to offer kids and adults alike. We are one of the only hotels in the nation who offer an ice skating rink, and one of the only hotels which offers so much to its guests! Thanks again for choosing The Carousel as your family's beach vacation getaway, and thanks for the excellent review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roselle, New Jersey, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I just got back from a wonderful weekend in Ocean City, Md. This hotel was fabulous to me and my family. We came down for the weekend to celebrate my 40th birthday and it was great. The hotel staff from checking in to our departure was fantastic. The Penthouse condo was absolutely beautiful and more room than we could have imagined. All amenities were great. The weather was beautiful this weekend so we could not ask for anything more. To give you an idea of how terrific the staff is, we had an emergency with our truck and we were not going to be able to leave at check out so they offered us to stay as long as we needed so we can get home safe. They even moved us to a complimentary room until all was taken care of. Special thanks to the security officer Mike that helped my husband and Sarah (front desk) that made sure we were ok. Carousel Hotel rocks and we will definitely stay there every time we visit Ocean City. Thank you Carousel Hotel :)

Room Tip: The Oceanview rooms are amazing. I loved hearing the ocean sound when I went to bed and when I woke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your excellent review! We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service and a superior experience for ALL our valued customers. We are thrilled you and your family chose The Carousel for your beach vacation, and your experience exceeded your expectations. Thanks for the kind words about our staff. Mike and Sarah are an invaluable asset to our company as well as all of our friendly staff members.

Thanks again for your great review, we look forward to having you again as our guest in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 103 in Ocean City
861 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
858 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
4.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#62 of 103 in Ocean City
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing