We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean City's Family Friendly Resort Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #35 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Finest amenities in OCMD. Clean, spacious, well appointed rooms. Great staff! Lot's to do! From shopping, to the indoor cafe, to ice skating, to private/safe beach access... the Carousel has something for everyone!!!!

Room Tip: While the Carousel is a GREAT place to stay anytime of year, the Christmas season is especially nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OCMDBeachBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear OCMD Beach Boy, thanks for the great review and thank you for choosing the Carousel this Fall as your off season getaway. We are really excited about the Winterfest of Lights going on right now and the Holiday season as a whole. Thanks again for the kind words, we look forward to having you again as our guest in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

762 - 768 of 1,330 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

My family has been coming to the Carousel in Ocean City, MD for years. It is a great place for families. We have always stayed in one of the condo's and have been very pleased; the oceanfront view from our balcony is beautiful. The kids love the ice skating rink; the indoor and outdoor pools, and movies on the beach. My granddaughter always takes advantage of the tennis court. They have a restaurant, bar, icecream and coffee center inside and an outside grill and bar with music. We enjoy the outside grill and bar. The hotel is convenient to shops, grocery store, good restaurants...everything. The staff is always helpful and courteous. It is just a fun place to stay. We always look forward to returning each summer for our beach vacation.

Room Tip: If you are renting a condo stay on 10th or higher floor. The view is so much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annandale_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for your return business at our oceanfront hotel in Ocean City MD! We pride ourselves on the great view of both the ocean and the bay. Experience great sunrises and sunsets all year round! Thank you for taking the time to write this great review, we look forward to having you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My husband and I decided to go to Ocean City for my birthday weekend. We have a 4 year old, so thought it might be fun to go with another family. We all made reservations at the Carousel Hotel because it looked like a fun place for the kids.

PROS:
Hotel is beachfront

Ice skating rink is super cool! My son was able to ice skate with no problems because they had walkers for the inexperienced.

Hotel had a nice pool, bounce house for the kids and gave complimentary beach chairs.

Rooms were pretty clean considering it's at the beach (sand is everywhere regardless of where you stay)

CONS:
Parking is a nightmare. There are spaces in front of the hotel to park and unload your luggage; however, every single space was taken and apparently these folks didn't feel the need to come back to their car after unloading. There was concierge out front that didn't even care that these people never moved their vehicles. Needless to say, we ended up having to park in the middle of the road to unload (in a hurry!!) then park our vehicle in a huge parking garage next to the hotel (there are no where close to enough parking spaces at the hotel).

This hotel is FAR from all the action. There is a bus stop down by the road, but plan on traveling to get anywhere.

There was a dirty shirt in the corner of our room left over front previous customers.

Patio rooms are directly in front of the pool or bar so anyone can see in.

The second day we were there, we were sitting out on our balcony and someone above us dumps their cooler out onto our porch...it went all over our stuff. I went down and told the front desk...they sent someone from security out to say something to them but that's it.

My husband and I decided to stay an extra night...I went to the front desk to ask if our room was available for another night. The lady said that yes it was available so I told her to reserve the room. I told her that I would be right back to handle paperwork because I wanted to tell my husband (he was out in the truck). When I came back in they said that my room had gotten booked before she got a chance to book it...NICE!! We ended up having to move all of our stuff (fun fun) to another room...BOOOO!

Even after all the problems I had, the hotel never once offered me a discount or anything at all. I don't ever ask for a discounts or coupons, but you would think at $300/night they would be able to offer something for such issues.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks so much for your review. As you had mentioned we are a family friendly oceanfront hotel with a great pool and amenity package. The parking situation has not been a large issue in the past. We do have an expansive parking lot, 4 story garage, street parking and over-sized lot just next to our hotel. We do allow guests to momentarily park in the fire lane while they are checking in during peak hours. Typically we do not experience much congestion in the fire lane and we always have enough parking for all of our guests. In addition to our expansive parking options, we offer Bell Service for those who would like assistance moving into their vacation accommodations.

The hotel may be 5 miles from the boardwalk but we are close to an array of great dining options, Northside Park, mini golf, movie theaters, Fenwick Island, bowling and many family friendly attractions as well.

The Patio rooms are located directly on the patio next to the pool, tropical lawn and bar and grill. These rooms are often in high demand due to their quality and rate. We are sorry a guest spilled water on your balcony, we cannot take responsibility for the actions of others but we did take action by kindly reminding the other guest to be more careful in the future.

We do apologize for the room move. During the peak season we do typically sell out and in your particular situation it simply had to be done. We do offer complimentary Bell Service which can be provided even if you are away from your room.

We offer so much to our guests including Free Family Photo's, Movies on the beach, discounted ice skating, Theme Nights, free beach chairs and the most amenities in OCMD which is why we are one of the most popular hotels in the area.

Thank you again for being our guest, we hope to accommodate you again during your next family vacation in beautiful Ocean City!

Sincerely Carousel Hotel Management Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

On the plus side: The room had an excellent balcony facing the ocean.
On the minus side: We could hear people in the next room; the room service was vending machine quality; the service was indifferent; the brunch was poor quality.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Potomac_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for the review. In the off season our hotel does offer many great amenities such as an ice skating rink, heated indoor pool, spa, sauna's, fitness center, game room, lounge, oceanfront restaurant, gift shop and coffee shop, we do in fact offer much more during the Summer months. In the Summer we additionally offer many live entertainment options, theme nights, family activities, camp carousel, family photo night, free beach chairs and more. We thank you for being our guest and for the review. We hope to have you at our great oceanfront location again for your next beach vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This Hotel went out their way to make our visit a wonderful stay. We were on Ocean side and it was the week-end of storm Karen. Upon arrival, we noticed only 1 wash cloth and 1 hand towel. It was just a short time and the maid had what we needed. The 1st night the thermostat said 50-60 degrees. Went to the desk next day. They said they would send maintenance man. When we got back to room, there was a heater and the room felt so good. 2nd day I could not get into internet with the pass word. A young man by the name of Chris came up immediately and got me in. This Hotel was fast and on the ball with your needs. Very pleasant people, and wanted to be at your service.

Room Tip: Was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear valued guest, thanks for all your kind words! We work hard to make sure your experience is one to remember. Our staff is some of the best in Ocean City and Chris is no exception. We are thrilled that your vacation was memorable and you had a superior guest experience. Thanks again for the kind review, we look forward to having you back at our hotel again for your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Always enjoy staying at the Carousel, nice location in the more quiet part of town and the price is fairly reasonable. Folks at the front desk are always great, and you always feel welcome.

Hotel is within walking distance of Denny's for breakfast and Grottos for great pizza. Life is good.

Room Tip: I prefer the atrium rooms, always fun to sit out on the indoor balcony and watch the ice skaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear valued Carousel guest, thanks so much for choosing us for your beach vacation! As you had mentioned, we have a great location close to many dining options. Many of our guests compliment us on our great staff and we appreciate all the kind words. Please stay tuned for great specials and pay us a weekend visit again this beautiful Fall! Thanks again for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I want to thank the Carousel again for another wonderful experience. We've been going to the OC Bike show every year now for awhile and we stay at the Carousel often and each year it just seems to get better. This year was no different. The condo we stayed it was excellent; clean and well appointed with the necessary items along with a great view of the ocean and the bay. We ate in the restaurant which has improved dramatically over the years. All of the staff seem to go out of there way to make sure you had everything you wanted or needed. We also like the covered parking for the bikes and the fact that the security guards are very attentive to them. We highly recommend the Carousel!! We'll keep coming back!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a condo on a higher floor, you will pay more, but you get the best of both worlds - Ocean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Dear valued repeat customer, thanks so much for making The Carousel your beachfront accommodations! As you had mentioned, we are working hard to upgrade and beautify our property and amenity package. This year we added new carpets and a gorgeous, spacious hot tub in the indoor pool area. We will continue to work hard to innovate and create the relaxing vacation atmosphere you deserve!

Thanks for the excellent review. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
888 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#18 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
Coastal Palms Inn & Suites
#72 of 104 in Ocean City
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
Atlantic Oceanfront Inn
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
326 reviews
4.9 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#57 of 104 in Ocean City
321 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £47 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing