We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best resort for the whole family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best resort for the whole family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

There is something to do for every age group. The resort is filled with everthing you need to have a wonderful vacation. You don't even have to leave the ground to enjoy every minute. The children's camp nights were wonderful. My children couldn't wait to go back and the adults got top enjoy a quiet dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brismom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us. We do strive to be the best hotel for families in Ocean City, We are happy to hear that you took advantage of some of our value added activities such as Camp Carousel. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    307
    220
    142
    193
See reviews for
701
143
16
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Carousel far exceeded my expectations. I had difficulty finding a hotel in the Ocean City area on the specific date I was seeking. The Front Desk Manager, Jason Barrett, worked with me to accomadate my needs. He was extreamly pleasant and professional. He made sure all our needs were met and we had an amazing stay in a wonderful ocean front room. From the minute we checked in at the front dest the staff was courtious, friendly, and attentive. They provided is with excellent service. Our room was updated, clean, and comfortable. The hotel offers beach chairs, a pool bar, and outdoor dining where we were entertained with a musician. The wait staff was friendly and efficient. The front desk helped us with several of our needs during our stay. I appreciate their attention to detail and customer service. I appreciated the opportunity to stay here and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hopejacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Public Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to tell us that we exceeded your expectations. We appreciate that you recognized our staff members and especially Jason. We strive hard to be a wonderful place for family vacations and it sounds like you took advantage of everything that we offer. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Washington, DC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

I read some of the bad reviews and was a little nervous staying - but my wife & I had each been here with our families when we were younger, and all the amenities made it seem like a good & easy place to try in our first trip back to OC in many years, after doing Rehoboth for several years. We didnt want to commit to a full week with a condo, so this allowed us the option of just doing 4 nights.

For what it is - a large beachside hotel - it is a decent place. No its not a 5 star hotel, but our room was clean when we arrived and though the hotel itself is a bit dated, it was clean and pleasant as well. There was certainly plenty to do with pools, game room, rink, etc. I've certainly been in worse beachside places in the past for similar prices.

The presence of an ice rink was initially a little strange, but came in handy when it rained and we needed something to do that AM - kids had a good time. Would recommend some spraying of the skates in between skaters though, the shoes stunk!

The back of the hotel has a nice psuedo-island-like vibe with the bar, music playing and some palm trees. There is a small fire pit in the back that is nice at night. The pool was decent sized and water was pleasant and not too cold. There's a path onto the beach which was not overcrowded, even on the nicest day we were there.

The room was OK size, 2 beds and a pull out couch which worked perfectly for us. Bathroom was relatively small. Initially the balcony sliding door would not lock, and I called the front desk to get it fixed, but no one came, but I saw a maintenance guy in the hall and he came in and fixed it with no problem. Maid service was ok, but a bit spotty - one day our room hadnt been cleaned by 1 pm, and had to call front desk to make sure it was going to happen, but it did. I dont particularly like the way they have a different cleaning person each day - would be better and more consistent to have the same cleaning person each day.

We went to the make your own taco/mexican dinner which was decent but nothing really out of the ordinary. Breakfast buffet was ok as well - nothing special, but kids were free so thats hard to beat. We ate there mostly for convenience in both cases. Got fries/onion rings/wings, hot dog from the outside grill - a little on the pricey side, but decent/standard grill fare. The inside restaurant was very knowledgeable on gluten free (which my son needed) - the grill staff was less educated.

Overall for our family it was a nice stay. Right on the beach, indoor & outdoor pools, the skaing rink, game room, restaurant, etc. Its a bit dated and certainly not a fancy place, but I think on par with most "beach hotels" and had enough going on to keep our family busy and we really had everything we needed there, including on a rain day which we unfortunately had. Would stay here again next time we come to OC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebs0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write your review. We too recognize that we are not the newest property in town…in fact we are one of the oldest. With that being said, we do try to maintain the property, add new amenities each year and always have something for families to do together. We are glad that you took advantage of a lot of our amenities and restaurants and appreciate your comments about our staff. We look forward to seeing you and your family at the Carousel again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orbisonia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

My family and I just got back from a five night stay at the Carousel. This is our second time there. Who wouldn't love the deals you get by booking early? Upon arriving, we went to our room and I was unhappy that it was directly above the swimming pool and my oceanfront view was partially blocked by a palm tree. I went back to the front desk and this very nice young man switched my room to a floor up and down and it was perfect. It was the view of the ocean we all wanted. We were above the Patio Bar and Grill and we enjoyed watching the people and listening to the music. The only problem we had was our last night there, there were about six teenagers (probably ages 11 to 15-where were their parents?) sitting on the chairs at the outdoor patio directly below our room from about 10:30 on. They were loud, swearing and woke my 8 year old up. Unfortunately the security guard walked right by them, told them they would have to go in through the front of the building and left them there being loud, obnoxious and rude. Check in was wonderful. We were early but had a room right away and checkout was so easy. We checked out around 9:15 and there were no lines. Needless to say, we will keep coming back! So much to love about it!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We love to hear from our repeat guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review. We are so happy that our staff was able to accommodate your room change and that you enjoyed your vacation. We will make our security department aware of your comments to ensure that this doesn’t happen again. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next year for your 3rd vacation with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Though the layout and view are good the place is worn. No maid service, no glasses in the kitchen,washing machine was broken, dryer will only take small loads, not as clean as it could be. For the price charged I could have a week in Disney world including air fare. The restaurant was mediocre and over priced. The help was foreign and under trained. The good things were the indoor pool and the ice show.

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank al b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. It’s possible that you stayed in a condo that is not part of the Carousel Hotel or Condo Rental program. While there are 190 condos in the Carousel, only about 100 of them have high enough standards to be in our rental program. While we don’t offer maid service in any of our condos, all of our washers and dryers are full size. We apologize that you thought our restaurant was mediocre and your comments will certainly be communicated with the staff. We are glad that you enjoyed the ice show, but when you book next year, please book directly through our rental company so that you can enjoy complimentary beach chairs to use each day, restaurant food vouchers, gift shop vouchers, camp carousel for the kids and so much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We've been a longtime costumer at the Carousel every summer staying here for our vacation. This time around was not up to par. Our room was not cleaned as well. There were hairs in the shower/tub and the room itself had a strange odor in it that smelled like cat pee. The ocean front room are always nice but bc it's so close to the atrium it's super loud till about 10-10:30 at nite. They used to have good coffee at the little shop but now they did away with the mochas and cappuccinos and just have plain coffee. Not sure if we'll stay there again since we were not as impressed this time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkline82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you were having issues with your room not being cleaned well enough or your temperature not being satisfactory, we would have gladly fixed all of those things had you told us. While we did do away with the cappuccinos at our bistro, it was to be able to offer other refreshments that were in higher demand by our guests. We do hope that your next visit to Ocean City meets all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here in June and had a good experience. We had a 4th floor oceanfront room with a great view and balcony. Housekeeping did a fine job and maintenance responded promptly to any requests we had. (I.e. Thermostat wasn't working correctly). We had no problems with elevators either. I think the condos use different elevators and those did seem to get crowded.

Obviously, the beach access was great. The outdoor pool was small, but adequate (although no lifeguard). The indoor pool was really a good size and locker rooms/fitness area seemed ok too.

The kids really loved the ice rink. The ice does melt in areas, so staff had to sweep ice off or block off areas of the rink. It would see nice if they had a permanent staff member to "patrol" the ice since more advanced skaters some times take over the rink. The show is cute, but gets repetitive as it is the same every night and the music seems dated.

In any case, we had a nice time and would definitely recommend the hotel to others for a fun family vacation. The family photo night is a nice touch. We didn't eat at the hotel, but the kids liked the ice cream and smoothies (although from a mix) at the snack bar in the lobby. Perhaps if they updated the lobby and fence around the ice rink, it would look more appealing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrisMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It sounds like you took advantage of all of our value added amenities such as the ice shows, free beach chairs and family photo night. We are planning to re-do the lobby and the area around the ice rink next year so we hope that you join us again on your next family vacation.
We are glad you had a nice time and we appreciate your feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
4.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
4.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
5.9 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing