We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than average hotel room but good amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My family and I stayed in a hotel room at the Carousel and the room was less than average. It is dated, had an exposed pipe, floor trim missing from the wall, old blankets and dim lighting. It suited our needs for the days we spent in Ocean City but we were less than impressed. The hotel itself does offer good amenities such as an indoor ice skating rink that had a nightly show while we were there, an indoor and outdoor pool, snack stands both inside and outside,a store, a game room, great beach access and even provided two beach chairs to use daily. The amenities saved our stay at this hotel. The staff was very pleasant as well and even provided us with a room before the check-in time of 4 pm. The Ocean City bus stop and a grocery store is also located across the street which was nice as well.

Room Tip: If you have the extra money, opt for a beach view. We had a street side view and although we used o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Front Office Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

We are sorry that you felt our rooms were less than average. While we are one of the oldest properties in North Ocean City, we work hard every year to make upgrades to the property and will continue to do so in the future. All of our oceanfront rooms have been renovated and while we are still working on some of the non-oceanfront rooms, we do apologize that your room was not as good as it should have been. Thank you for recognizing all of the wonderful amenities that we offer to our guests. We strive to make our hotel a family friendly environment where all ages can have fun. We do hope to see you on a future trip so that you can see first hand some of the upgrades we are doing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 1,335 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our toliet was broken! But the manager Patrick said it was "clogged", I said we just got in the room not even 2 minutes and it was the lever, even the maintenance person who came to the room told us! Then the ceiling in the bathroom was wide open and debris all over the balcony. We didn't have a working toilet the whole stay!when asking to be placed in another room we were told they are none available, I requested a refund due to the horrible condition and unsafe room and was given nasty attitude and no help at all from management. I have been coming to this hotel since 1997! And will never return again after the treatment I received!! Beware to all...

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nataliep1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Your review is just not truthful. As soon as you told us that the toilet was not working in your room we had a maintenance person go to your room and fix it. Several of our managers have spoken to you both during your stay and after your stay and you have been quite rude to all of them. We have given you a fair and reasonable compensation for the short time you were inconvenienced. We do hope that your next stay in Ocean City, wherever it may be, will exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stay at the Carousel twice a year: winter weekend and about a week in the summer. It's reasonable and in great location, with Food Lion and restaurants within walking distance. You don't have to leave the resort unless you want to. Also, there was a Jolly Rogers (pier) discount offered to guests. Our daughter brought a friend on vacation with us. The girls enjoyed ice skating. All of us enjoyed ourselves and I'm already looking at the calendar for next July.

Room Tip: My daughter likes the Atrium rooms to watch people ice skate and it offers a good view of the ice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your vacation and we love to hear from our repeat guests. We strive to provide you and your family with a welcoming and fun environment for your whole family. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

we stayed at the carousel from july 29th through july 31st of this year. we rented two rooms both of which overlooked the side parking lot and all the dumb things the employees would due as they were coming or leaving work. the roof below us was terrible in that there was a pair of mens underwear and tons of trash. the rooms were ok however one of the two rooms front doors lock was stuck. when we spoke to the front desk they just said to slam the door to get it to work. we did that the entire stay. talk about feeling unsafe in a hotel. the other issue was the rudeness of the staff. we encountered cleaning crews, pool attendants, what appeared to be security personal and front desk all of which need retrained. the only light at the end of the tunnel came from the restaurant employees who were a pleasure to deal with.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tsw5013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We checked in on the 15 and we're not given the condo we booked, but a handicapped street view hotel room. If our youngest child wasn't 4 we would have stayed. The next morning we went to the front desk to change rooms and they moved us to room 462 it was beachfront and clean and it had a out of date kitchenette but we only used the fridge. The restaurant food was good but it wasn't anything to rave about. My husband and I thought there should be a big carousel instead of a ice rink. Before we left we purchased a condo with a beachfront view so we wouldn't have to stay in the small hotel room again.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saraandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

I think there was some confusion on your part when you made your reservation. While we do rent condominiums, they only rent from Saturday to Saturday as weekly rentals in the summertime. What you booked was a standard non-oceanfront room. We are very happy that we were able to accommodate you into a larger oceanfront room and that you enjoyed your stay. While we would love to have the room to house a Carousel, a majority of our guests enjoy our world famous ice skating rink and would be upset if we didn’t have it.. We are so happy to hear that you purchased your own condominium while you were here and look forward to your next visit in a place you can now call home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My family and I stayed at the Carousel 8-9-2014 to 8-16-2014 in 2 condos and were extremely disappointed with our experience. Not only were we unable to dry our clothing after washing them, but only one shower was in working order in the first unit with the option of scolding hot water or freezing cold water. In the second unit the circuit was tripped every time a blow dryer was used. In addition both units had water pouring from the ceiling at different times, one from a shower and the other from an overflowing toilet. Although these things could happen anywhere, the true disappointed came from the fact that the condo rental did not hold up to its end of the rental agreement, and that the maintenance staff was disturbingly rude. The only explanation we were provided was that it was “old building and what do you expect?” To which one can only respond that $5000 should ensure a better experience and next year we will choose to spend our hard earned money elsewhere. Needless to say we will never come back to the carousel even though we did enjoy the added activities provided for younger guests. It is truly a shame.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank shnbrkjns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My husband and I decided a family vacation was long overdue and booked room 711 a few months ago. I was in contact with Julie Schmidt, the Director of Condo Rentals, from the beginning. Julie was always very quick, helpful and very nice when I would email her with a question leading up to our vacation. Wesley at the front desk was very welcoming at check in. The condo was clean, nicely furnished, recently remodeled and even though it's a beach front room and even though we knew beforehand it had somewhat of an obstructed view of the beach because of the rooftops in the front part of the hotel, it's not as bad as the pics they have on the website. You can see the water and parts of the beach just fine. We had 6 adults and 3 children under the age of 7 in the 3 bedroom condo and it was quite spacious and didn't feel crowded at all. Our grandchildren loved the 2 pools and the skating rink on the one day that wasn't a good beach day. We will definitely be back soon and will request room 711 again. Thanks Julie and staff at The Carousel.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LollieandPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Guest Relations Manager at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

We are so very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff and the cleanliness of the condo you stayed in. We are also very pleased that you took advantage of the many amenities that we offer and that everyone enjoyed their stay. We look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#35 of 104 in Ocean City
889 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,752 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#32 of 104 in Ocean City
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bonita Beach Hotel
Bonita Beach Hotel
#18 of 104 in Ocean City
484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#40 of 104 in Ocean City
337 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £51 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing