We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stiff as a board..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Stiff as a board..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2008

We checked in for an off season escape after Thanksgiving. GOOD - Room was dated but clean and odor free. Service here was exceptional. TV did not work in the room, they had it replaced within 10 minutes. We needed sheets for the pullout sofa and they delivered them to the door in less than 5 minutes. Guy at the front desk and the girl working the skating rink was courteous and helpful. Room had mini-fridge, coffee maker, blow dryer. Pool and skating rink were nice.

NOT SO GOOD - Bed was uncomfortable, woke up sore. I can't imagine more than one night in that bed. Shower did not maintain a steady temperature. Breakfast buffet was tiny and not very tasty(although I didn't expect a whole lot being off season).

I would love to stay here next summer merely for the great service and amenities for the kids, but the Carousel would have to upgrade their matresses as I would be useless after a few nights.

  • Liked — Good people, skating rink
  • Disliked — awful beds - breakfast buffet
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank respuelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Carousel Resort at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 30 April 2009
Thank you for your comments. We’re so very glad that you took advantage and recognize all of the extra value we give to our guests and very proud that our staff took care of you. We are a family hotel and we make every effort to give you so much more than just a hotel room. We’re sorry that you felt your mattress did not meet your expectations. We want all guests to be comfortable and relaxed during their stay. Please be assured that your comments have been reviewed with the appropriate staff members and we are looking into your room and will inspect the mattress. Thank you for your patronage and we hope on your next trip to Ocean City that you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    308
    223
    143
    197
See reviews for
708
145
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, DE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

I stayed in this resort hotel from August 11th through the 13th at which time our family needed to leave the premises prematurely to tend to an emergency regarding our beloved 11 year old yellow lab retriever - Rudy. Unfortunately, Rudy needed to be put down that evening and needless to say it was a hard time for our family. After explaining the situation and faxing the required documents to the Carousel Resort Hotel, the hotel management and staff never returned my calls or fax and DID NOT reimburse or credit our unused stay (over $700).

Outside of this unfortunate incident, the accommodations were outdated, low quality (our TV was old and sound quality poor -- we reported the problem with no response from the establishment), beds were uncomfortable, balcony only had 3 chairs for a family of 4, cooling system too loud, food quality was poor (there on site Pizza was perhaps the worst I've ever had), fitness center old, pool was small and indoor pool depressing, overall run down and not by any means worth the money.

The beach was nice -- but since it's public I would recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Liked — Close beach access
  • Disliked — Poor quality room, food, decor, and did not reimburse unused stay when we had to leave due to emergency
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhanapole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Carousel Management at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 30 April 2009
We are very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. After researching your stay, we have never received any documentation from you of your misfortune. Our T.V.’s are very modern and are much larger than most tv’s in standard hotel rooms rooms. All of our oceanfront rooms are provided with 4 chairs and a balcony table. We apologize that your room did not have the appropriate number of chairs. We also apologize that the food you had did not meet your expectations. We get many compliments about our various food and beverage outlets and the variety of things we offer. Our pool is one of the largest indoor pools in Ocean City and we are always told by our guests how nice it is. Our fitness center is very modern with up to date equipment. We are sorry that they did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your patronage and we hope on your next trip to Ocean City the accommodations and service exceed your every expectation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2008

I liked the location of this hotel. I also liked the atrium area, the pool and the restaurant's atmosphere and breakfast buffet.

The room itself was in need of updating. It was clean but very old and run down..

  • Liked — Atrium area
  • Disliked — the condition of the room
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanneDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Customer Service at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 7 May 2009
Thank you for your posting. We are one of the oldest hotels in North Ocean City however we pride ourselves on being a family hotel that offers many value added amenities such as family movie nights, professional ice shows during the Summer months, complimentary beach chairs during your stay and much more. We have made extensive improvements to the property over the years and continue to do so in the future in order to earn your business. We look forward to your next visit to The Carousel and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2008

Chose this hotel for it's location (attending a conference down the street) and for the rate. The reservation process went smoothly and the rates were low. The front desk photocopied my driver's license and credit card (obviously no privacy/identity theft concern on their part). The hotel is very old and in need of complete renovation/revitalization. The ice rink atrium looked the same as it did in the early 80's (when I went there as a kid). The room was plain, but dirty. There were long hairs on the sheets in both beds, and there were about five pieces of gum on the floor behind the nightstand. The sink in the bathroom dripped, the screen on the patio door was broken, and the interior doors were all marked with dirt and stains. The room had a musty odor. The oceanside pool was nice and well maintained, and the back deck bar was new and clean. Acess to the beach was a short walk.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Customer Service at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 7 May 2009
We are sorry that your most recent stay did not exceed your every expectation. While we are one of the older hotels in Ocean City, we have maintained and made improvements to the building consistently. All issues that you have mentioned have been discussed with the appropriate staff members and we hope that you will visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2008

Upon arrival some confusion at the front desk. Original reservation was made and charged to my credit card. I explained to the person on the phone that when we arrive we will be putting this on my boyfriend's american express card. I was told that would not be a problem. Not only was it a problem but we were both billed. We asked at the front desk to put the entire charge on my boyfriend's card. Well that was not done our credit card statements came in we noticed it and I made the first phone call. I spoke to Duran who works in accounting. He explained that if I needed to have these charges removed from my credit card and have my boyfriend's credit card charged he would need to call himself. 3 messages to Duran and 1 message to his boss Robin and not a phone call back!!!!
Just for the hassel of trying to get this thing resolved and not a phone call back. I would never stay at this hotel again. They already have our money and not in any hurry to do the right thing and return a phone call. What happen to customer service????

  • Liked — I really didn't like much about the accommodations.
  • Disliked — room was not clean.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lumex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Customer Service at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 7 October 2008
We certainly apologize for any confusion when you made your reservation or checked in. We did try and contact your boyfriend in order to get the proper authorization forms signed by him so that we could reverse the charge on your charge card and charge his card. We contacted you and told you we needed his authorization. According our phone records, we were unable to get an answer when we phoned him however we did leave a voicemail message. As soon as your boyfriend contacted us and we had the proper authorization form returned to us we credited your charge the very same day. Once again, we apologize for any confusion however we cannot charge a persons credit card without proper authorization.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hopatcong, nj
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2008

My friends and I had a terrific golf weekend at the Carousel!! Despite the few bad reviews seen on this site, the hotel was clean, the front desk staff and the golf coordinator were exceptionally helpfull, the pool was sparkling, and the bar and restaurant were great!! I go on multiple vacations every year and have learned that you have to take many bad reviews with a grain of salt, some are valid and some are sour grapes for reasons other than what is stated in the review!! I would not hesitate to stay at the Carousel again and plan on staying there with my family in the future!! Highly reccomended!!

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank mideb01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Customer Service at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 7 October 2008
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your golf outing and that our front desk staff and golf coordinator were exceptionally helpful to you. We look forward to your return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wv
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

My Family And I stayed at the carousel in ocean city, md for almost a week... well when we first arrived at the hotel and entered our room, It was soo bad all we could do was laugh and say are you kidding me for that much money? The beds are hard as rocks the pillows where soo flat everyone woke up with a stiff neck and headache, the bed comforters are soo itchy.. And let's say the bathroom is so small you can't even turn around in them, also the bathtub was dirty i didn't even want to give my baby a bath in it that's how bad it was..So we stayed that night and got up the next morning and went to the lobby to tell front desk about the problems, to see if we could get our money back to go somewhere else, she said they could not do that she could just show us another room, so we looked at it exactly the same terrible they are like 20.00 a night rooms...that there charging 340.00 at night for...so in order for us to stay comfy in the hotel since we couldn't get our money back was to rent a condo on the top floors which was theres also, they where a little better but still not good..we had to sleep with 4 pillows a piece lol! and no they didn't give us a discount on the condo we had to add and extra 300.00....just terrible staff there. I also had to go to cvs to buy disinfect spray to spray the beds and other furniture with. Don't let me forget about how thin the walls are you could here other people taking a bath or shower, and also when they flushed there toilets.! The Carousel i will never stay again and would not recommend it to anyone.. You can go somewhere else and pay cheaper and get a better room! the carousel needs some major updates and new staff! oh i just remebered we had got ice cream from there and it was freezer burnt..:( bad

  • Liked — n/a
  • Disliked — everything....the outside looks nice..but look out for the rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank oceanlover84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carouselresort, Customer Service at Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums, responded to this review, 7 October 2008
We are sorry that your most recent stay did not exceed your every expectation. While we are one of the older hotels in Ocean City, we have maintained and made improvements to the building consistently. While trying to research your stay, we could not find any guest that moved from a hotel room to a condo for a 7 night stay in September nor do we have any record of a complaint for a guest that moved from a hotel room to a condo. Being the largest hotel at the beach, we have over 340 rooms and if you were unhappy with your room, we would have been more than happy to move you to a room that met your expectations. If you could please contact us at 410-524-1000, we would like to discuss your stay with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
4.1 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
5.1 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
5.9 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums

Property: Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums
Address: 11700 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-2506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ocean City
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your family can enjoy a tradition of fun and relaxation at one of Ocean City Maryland's most popular family resorts. Come join us on our famous Ice skating rink or relax in our spacious atrium. Kick back and enjoy our beach patio with live music, exceptional Ocean City cuisine, and sip a frozen cocktail as you lounge beach side. Drop the kids off for ice skating and relax in our indoor pool, hot tub, or sauna. No matter what your expectations are for an ideal family vacation in Ocean City Maryland, Carousel has it all. We are Ocean City Maryland's favorite family resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carousel Resort Hotel & Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carousel Resort Hotel And Condominiums
Carousel Hotel Ocean City Md
Carousel Hotel Condominiums

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing