We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay at a cheap price”
Review of Beach Bum Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Bum Motel
Gardners, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice stay at a cheap price”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Motel was very close to the boardwalk. We stayed in the newly renovated first floor of the main building. The room had only the basics. There were no extras such as a hair dryer or extra toiletries. Also, there didn't appear to be any phone and only one hanger in the "closet" area, neither of which really bothered us as we weren't in the room very much. I would have liked some sort of security chain or deadbolt on the door since the door only had a doorknob lock opened by a standard key. There was, however, a flat screen tv, a refrigerator, and microwave. The carpet and paint looked newish. It was VW week so it got pretty noisy on occasion from people walking past and cars on the street until late, but that wasn't the motel's fault. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the staff was super friendly. For the price, it was a nice place to stay, but it was certainly not five star accommodations. I would definitely stay there again since we mostly just needed a place to sleep and were not in the room very often.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 669gayleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    16
    7
    7
    19
See reviews for
31
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
HANOVER, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Great location close to the boardwalk and beach, no need to use the car after we arrived and parking was not an issue. Room was fairly simple and not decorated with cheesy seashell pictures but with modern pretty bright paintings of beach scenes and had some outdated furniture and limited TV channels, some of which the sound was out, but it was clean and quiet and beds were comfy. Staff were very friendly and polite. The only suggestions I would make would be to provide an alarm clock, individually wrapped plastic cups, a luggage stand to put suitcases on, some new and some more Channels on the TV. All in all we had a great time and and will definitely be staying at The Beach Bum Motel each time we vacation in OC next summer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank princessmel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Came for a week end getaway. Room was great, effiency type, up to date appliances, comfortable beds, clean, short walk to the beach, nice staff. Will most definately stay here again when we come for a longer vacation. See you next spring Beach Bum motel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianesaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

It was a nice motel!!! was clean the people that work there were friendly!!! And was very close to the boardwalk and that was nice since I have a 4 yearold! I would stay here again!!!! we were in the newer rooms on first floor which was good (no stairs) the pool aera could of been better! it needs updated! and the back of the motel was wet from alot of rain which thay need to fix but all in all it was a good place to stay!!

Room Tip: there was no fitness center and no kids activities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolebraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

So it depends on what you're looking for. Lots of frills and extras? Not it. There's wifi, but not much else. Brand spanking new place? Nope...it shows it's wear in some places, but it's clean and well kept. Right on the beach? Nah...it's a short stroll, so woe to the person who hates walking. Peace and solitude? No way...people hang out on the picnic tables outside and chat. Great price? Ding-ding, you got it. My husband I felt it was a great value, and we'd stay again. It was close enough, comfy enough, casual enough, and just enough to allow us to have a good time.

Room Tip: The suite was worth the little extra on the price! It's nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icarrybaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Room was ok service was ok . Only 2 blocks from beach. Pool was ok .i think it was way too much money for what you got but that's what you pay in a resort area.people were friendly and room was cleaned every day. Pool was clean and got plenty of towels . All in all it was clean and we would stay there again when we go back to ocean city Maryland.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatboydoobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Eh...it could be worse was the mantra for this hotel. The room was Ok. Broken and missing tiles in kitchen. Bathroom vent had years of built up grease and dust. 1 bed was comfortable the other not so much. Fridge was very clean. TV has 10-15 channels (no espn). The drapes were four individual panels that you need to position perfectly to keep light and people from seeing in. The efficiency had 5 random cups and two tea cups that made us laugh, not exactly well stocked nor would I be brave enough to use.

With all that said, it's why we joked eh...it could be worse. The primary issue was the deck area with picnic tables outside our room was a party area. Music, singing and loud conversation woke us up in the middle of the night it continued until almost 6am. The front desk closed at 3 and supposedly there is security but they only drive by. The police finally broke it up at sunrise.

Obviously in a beach town there will be drinking and partying, my biggest concern was there was no one on site to address. When I spoke to front desk they were unable to do anything without the manager. They were hesitant to call the mgr because they were off. They suggested that I email them. I did talk the clerk into emailing the mgr and had him call, but he did not leave a message. I also emailed.

The manager did respond within a hour and " allowed" me out of my reservation, which saved the fight with my credit card company. They also gave me 10% off the problem night which I thought was a little cheap.

I would not stay here again but if you want to party all night disturb other guests and have no fear of being stopped by mgt this is the place for you. Without the noise I would describe it as eh...it could be worse

Room Tip: A tip for a good room...hmmm photos are better than reality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,160 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#34 of 103 in Ocean City
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#78 of 103 in Ocean City
38 reviews
0.6 mi away
Madison Beach Motel
Madison Beach Motel
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Bum Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Bum Motel

Property: Beach Bum Motel
Address: 203 9th St, Ocean City, MD 21842-3705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Beach Bum Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing