We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Ranked #29 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Ontario, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

been to oc 3 times before and stayed downtown area love this location away from crowds and easy to drive any where you need to go staff extremely helpful pool was great didnt get to use the free breakfast but looked good a lot of choises will be coming back next year

Room Tip: bayside rooms quieter no traffic noise as we where there during delmarva bike rally
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    157
    40
    17
    7
See reviews for
175
93
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I really like the location of this hotel. It's a block away from the beach and at most a 10 minute drive to the boardwalk area. Within the vicinity of the hotel (less than a 10 minute walk), there are various restaurants, local bars and delis.

The amenities of the hotel are great, especially the free breakfast - they do serve hot food (eggs, bacon, sausages and pancakes). The room has a microwave and fridge in case you would like to stock up on food and drinks. You will have to buy your own plates and utensils. The rooms also look fairly new and they are quite clean. There were plenty of towels for 3 people so I did not experience what others reviewers have. The hotel is also pet friendly. The staff was very friendly and provided fast service. The weather wasn't great during my stay so I was not able to use the pool.

Overall, I would recommend staying here. It's a great place for a group of friends or for a family.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LM1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I searched for a few hours for the right hotel...and I choose this one based on the reviews and the free hot breakfast. It is on 117 th street but the bus picks up right out front and the beach is right across the street. The park behind the hotel is a great place for a walk. The outdoor and indoor pools were always clean. The jacuzzi was broken the entire time we were there (4 days) Every member of the staff was very friendly and helpful! The free hot breakfast was great..bacon pancakes and all! This saved us a good deal of money. The small kitchenette was stocked with disposable plates, utensils, and covered plastic platters to warm up left overs..this was a pleasnt surprise..:-) when we needed more towels they were promptly brought 2
us:-)The indoor pool is a life saver if ur traveling with kids and it rains..the beds could be more comfortable but the linens were fresh and nice.

Room Tip: If traveling with kids get the suite..it adds a couch and extra space :-) for not much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hopep1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed here over Labor Day weekend and we really liked the location of the hotel. Our room overlooked the bay and a pretty park behind the hotel. It's a quick walk to the beach and there are many restaurants within walking distance. The mattress was comfortable but most of the pillows were lumpy which was a little weird. Our room as very clean upon arrival but Housekeeping did not come the second day we were there. We were a little surprised about that but all we really needed were new towels which the front desk sent up right away when we called them. We enjoyed both of the pools but were a little disappointed that the hot tub jets were not working...it was still nice to soak in the warm water after a day of swimming in the ocean. We only ate breakfast at the hotel once during our stay but it was good and the attendants were great. In fact, all of the hotel staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandRoadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here through a reduced rate we found online through the Holiday Inn website. We went right after Hurricane Irene, but the hotel was already up and running. Our room, the King Jacuzzi suite, was large and clean. My only complaint about the room is that there was a loud noise in the bathroom that was annoying at worst and the Jacuzzi tub was not working, but the hotel's manager very quickly offered us another room, which we appreciated.

The complimentary breakfast is very extensive - pancakes (that come out of a cool machine which intrigued us all), biscuits with sausage gravy, eggs, and bacon or ham, in addition to the usual breakfast items. Both of the pools were very nice, but the hot tub was not working when we were there because someone's kid had stuck rocks in its jets (some people really need to keep a closer eye on their children). That was a little disappointing (there was nothing on the website about this), so if that's something that is important to you, I'd call to check to make sure it's up and running. It was also nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room to heat up leftovers from dinner.

We enjoyed the location - a quick walk to the beach (just wait for the signal to cross the road), a beautiful park in the back, and near many dining options. It was definitely quieter and less crowded near here, which was nice. Not sure how much this costs normally, but we paid $150/night, which I think was good for the area. I wouldn't be happy paying around $300/night for the room I had, but at $150, it made for a good getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ice machine/vending machine; it can get a little noisy because there se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Your staff should pay NEED to pay more attention to being much more hospitable and friendly towards your guests. After dealing with Holiday Inn's "Guest Relations" due to THEIR major screw-up in which property we booked, we agreed to stay here. When we arrived and asked to check-in, the front desk person had major attitude and was rather direct by saying "we have no rooms available until 4PM." When we asked if there is a room we can change so we can walk to the beach while we wait for our room, we were told to use to use the men's and women's room. Try doing this with two kids! After we checked out and went to the beach, we asked if we could use a room to at least change and shower before we had to drive home. Their response..."You can use the pool shower and pool towels." Really?!

Bottom line, if you have no choice but to stay here, hotel guest beware. You may want to consider either staying in Delaware or change your vacation dates to stay in another hotel.

Room Tip: Must cross 6 lane highway to and from the Beach (yes, you have 30 seconds to cross).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSpadys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Day 1 of 5 & so far and the exploration is great.
Came into Ocean City via the center (route 50) to see how busy it was. Very tightly packed buildings, but the crowds are not here yet. Very sunny this week so I should have brought a hat.

Parking:
Street enforcement from 9am to midnight so be prepared to pay via coins, or credit cards for longer times. Parking at this hotel is free.

Hotel:
This establishment is far away from the boardwalk (127th ST vs. boardwalk at 30th ST), this quiet hideaway is reasonably priced due to its location. Set back away from the coastal hwy, towards the bay & Northside park, this hotel is only 3 short blocks from the beach. Note - if you are carrying LOTS of stuff to the beach, this walk is long; overall distance to the sand is about 500ft. The walk to the water after that may seem forever! The rooms do not have a kitchen, but it does have a small fridge and microwave. Staff is very friendly (so far I have met 4 of them and they all have smiles and helpful). Have only been here a day, but the stay is quite pleasant.
There are 2 pools: inside and outside.

Food choices:
Food Lion is down the road at 120th St. Coastal Hwy has a bike lane so it is a short ride on a bicycle. Their deli staff is friendly and active all day long. How many times do you see a supermarket that cooks at 8pm! Fresh Fried Chicken at 830 at night is amazing! Restaurants close at 10pm during the week so having this option at the end of the day is great.

More later in the week.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wubear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#30 of 103 in Ocean City
319 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
846 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#45 of 103 in Ocean City
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
306 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Address: 12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-6056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located on 126th street in North Ocean City. The hotel has 122 rooms with 66 suites, some of which have whirlpool tubs. We are only a block and a half from the beautiful beaches that Ocean City has to offer. We are also conveniently located in front of Northside Park Sports Complex that host s lacrosse, soccer, basketball and softball tournaments. The hotel is just a short drive away from the world famous Boardwalk as well as some of the finest restaurants in Ocean City. If you want to play a round while you are here, some of the best golf courses in the area are within a fifteen-minute drive. Our guest room amenities include free wireless high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and a hairdryer. For your convenience a guest laundry is also available. You will enjoy starting your day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast served daily from 6:30am until 9:30 am. The tropical atmosphere of our outdoor pool and sundeck (open in our summer months) will make you so relaxed you will not want your vacation to come to an end. We also have an indoor pool with whirlpool that is open year round. Located between the beach and the bay, Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing