We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Ranked #28 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

Went for a romantic long weekend this past thanksgiving weekend. the weather was so nice that we decided to take a last minute trip to ocean city, md. the staff at the holiday inn express couldn't be nicer. we had a great room overlooking the ocean. the place was clean and the service was perfect. we cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    156
    40
    16
    7
See reviews for
172
91
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
156 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My husband and I have stayed one night on two separate occasions this winter mid week in this hotel. The front desk clerk was friendly and professional. The rooms were clean and inviting. Price was good for mid winter, mid week. The breakfast was good, varied and plentiful. Both times, I was not happy with the pool. The hot tub jets did not work and since the enclosure is mostly glass, it was rather chilly in there. The lights in the pool area were very dim. I did look for a light switch both times but decided I could just make do since it was chilly and I knew I wouldn't be staying a long time.
Overall, it is a good hotel and definitely on our return list

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TigerLily1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteford, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

This HOTEL was great to stay at our room was very clean and the employees were very nice and helpful if we need anything, breakfast was hot and very clean area to eat at, pool was clean and the Jacuzzi was hot and relaxing, we went during new years weekend so the xmas lights were still up and they were beautiful, winter fest was all so still going on and it was in the back of the hotel so we walked over to see the lights beautiful. T he beach was a short walk and there was so many places to go eat at around the hotel walking distance the blue ox is right in there parking lot good food there, we come down every year for new years its our anniversary and we always stayed at another motel but for now on we will be staying here i highly rec amend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmacy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This hotel has a lot going for it: it's well located, only a short walk to the beach. As you need to drive to get around Ocean City, it's important that you can quickly get from room to car. In this regard the hotel has ample and easily-accessible parking so you can get on your way quickly. We particularly enjoyed the good-sized outdoor pool, which was clean and spacious. The room was standard Holiday Inn, pleasantly large and clean and well-equipped - A/C is fine for those who like things a bit windy, but could be an issue for those who fear draughts! We found staff pleasant and helpful throughout. Gripes? If any, the fact that there was a long line for breakfast might be one, as the breakfast room is quite small for what is quite a large hotel, so all in all a 10 minute wait before we sat down to eat. This is a Holiday Inn Express so the dining options are limited - however there are plenty of other places to eat nearby for those pondering a longer stay and concerned about getting bored with hotel fare. In terms of ambience I thought this was a very good hotel for families, with both younger and older kids. This felt very much like a holidaymakers' hotel, cheerful and relaxed, and not at all pretentious.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We came here expecting a basic level of quality. The pool and jacuzzi are filthy -- a virtual Petrie dish. Then at 4AM two guests moved in, loud and on drugs as seems to be common in Ocean City. They had the radio blasting, so I told the front desk clerk. When the raunchy noise continued, I asked him again to remedy the situation and his attitude was rude and unhelpful. If you stay here, be prepared for disappointment. It's a waste of money and you'd be better off staying in Bethany, Lewes, Fenwick Island, or Rehobeth for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HolidayInnReviewerOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Delaware
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

My husband and I are building a house in Delaware, so we have been traveling back and forth from New Jersey to check on the progress. We have stayed a few times in other hotels that we would never stay in again so we decided to try the Holiday Inn Express in Ocean City.

The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays (we were there the week of Thanksgiving). Very nice room, very clean, nice bed and bedding and good amenities. Great location and within walking distance of very nice restaurants. The property behind the HI had a "Winterfest of Lights" exhibit which was beautiful.

The only drawbacks to this particular stay was that the indoor hot tub was not working properly. The water was hot, but the jets did not work. Even so, the pool area was very nice.

Also, the maid came by very early in the morning and while cleaning the room next to us every day we were there was extremely loud. Doors banging, vacuuming, banging on the walls - too much noise! The 'do not disturb' sign on our door did not protect against noise unfortunately.

Otherwise we did enjoy our stay and if we need to visit again before our move, we will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: I would request that they speak with their maid staff to make sure they clean the adjoining rooms wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelrat4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oc_hi_express, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
We would like to Thank You for your review. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the near future. We appreciate any and all reviews, good or (on occassion) not so good, because it helps us know what we need to do to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

This HIE sits on the bay side of Ocean Highway. It's absolutely worth being off the Boardwalk to stay at this location. Restaurants and shops are an easy walk. It's right next to North Side Park --- an excellent park for people of all ages! The lobby is beautiful. The front desk folks were extremely nice and helpful. The room was perfectly cleaned. The beds - super comforable. The breakfast selection -- included with the room -- was very abundent. I could not believe the terrific variety of items offered. I am already planning another trip back! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oc_hi_express, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
We thank you for your review and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Northside park is a city owned and managed park, and they do a wonderful job with keeping it clean and safe. I hope that you were able to see the "Winterfest of Lights" display all lit up. If not, youll just have to come back and see it ; ) its worth it. Thank You again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#44 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean City Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#23 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Address: 12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-6056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located on 126th street in North Ocean City. The hotel has 122 rooms with 66 suites, some of which have whirlpool tubs. We are only a block and a half from the beautiful beaches that Ocean City has to offer. We are also conveniently located in front of Northside Park Sports Complex that host s lacrosse, soccer, basketball and softball tournaments. The hotel is just a short drive away from the world famous Boardwalk as well as some of the finest restaurants in Ocean City. If you want to play a round while you are here, some of the best golf courses in the area are within a fifteen-minute drive. Our guest room amenities include free wireless high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and a hairdryer. For your convenience a guest laundry is also available. You will enjoy starting your day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast served daily from 6:30am until 9:30 am. The tropical atmosphere of our outdoor pool and sundeck (open in our summer months) will make you so relaxed you will not want your vacation to come to an end. We also have an indoor pool with whirlpool that is open year round. Located between the beach and the bay, Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing