We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ahhhhhhh-ma-zing Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ahhhhhhh-ma-zing Pool”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

This will be a pool-biased review. I am a pool person so I chose this hotel for the hot tub and pool first then considered the room. The room we had overlooked the bay and smack over the Winterfest lights so if that is your thing this is the perfect hotel at that time. Our room was smallish but neat and clean and good for two of us. The front desk was fine, we are priority members and stayed on points, we were not offered water or gift bags or anything like that which was fine by us because that may help in keeping the prices as low as they are at this time of the year. Also the only toiletries in the room is shampoo and conditioner but the note said you can have other necessities on demand, I just wanted lotion, this too was fine, I loved the price if we were paying. There is a really nice refrigerator which was really cold if set all the way up it semi froze our water etc., microwave nice too. Now to the best part of this hotel: The Pool!!! It was steamy in a rather cold room....no problem because you just want to get in the water and stay there it was in the high eighties, no kidding, I had it all to myself both days as this is the slow season. The hot tub is a corner part of the pool and was nice and hot, little jet issues but no worries it serves its purpose. I really didn't even need the tub becasue the pool was balmy and no shivering getting back in the pool from the hot tub. Ok so the place is not spectacularly 5 star but is in good repair and very clean. The area is home to numerous seafood restaurants many of which were closed for the winter but the Crabcake factory is just two blocks away open year round and had amazing food and fries and REALLY strong drinks. There is a Denny's not too far away for breakfast...oh that is if you sleep past 9:30 for the free breakfast.We looked at the 6600 Holiday inn and the 1701 also on this strip and further down the strip near the end and they looked really nice from the outside and directly on the water but thanks to the reviewers here who said they were dated we went with this one and had a good time. We did have trouble when they changed the wi-fi password and didn't give us the correct info we had to do some digging, but that was minor. All in all if you like peace and quiet and lazing around in a nice hot pool while the cold wind whips outside and you can see the five (now brown) palm trees waving around outside while you warm up your bones... I say go and relax here. Good value in the off season and a nice getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for the high floors and bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myrts78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    163
    41
    20
    7
See reviews for
183
94
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We have stayed here several times this year....the last 3 days in a 2 week period. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The last 3 stays we were given rooms that faced the Winter Fest lights...what a pure joy. Hotel rooms are always clean, beds are comfortable and no annoying air freshner smells. Internet connection is good and tv selection is good. Nice indoor pool and hot tub. Great location, free parking, good value and plenty of restaurants in the area. Breakfast is plentiful. We will definitely stay here again when we are in the area. Consistently great experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerLily1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

Stayed at HIX over Thanksgiving weekend. Front desk personnel very helpful and friendly. Had a suite; lots of room! Great location close to Wawa and movie theaters. Loved being so close to the Winterfest of Lights. Will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leopardgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I stayed there over a holiday while visiting some friends. Great location. Super price and very friendly. Would definitely eat in the restaurant again even if I wasn't staying there. Free parking was a real treat. Love the city.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor41003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My wife and I have always chosen this Holiday Inn Express and have never been disappointed. Courtious and helpful staff. It is located on the bay side of main street, but short walk to the beach. The breakfast meal is a winner, unless you want a formal breakfast. The room was clean. There was a minor problem with the tub drain, but was tolerable. I think they have a smokers section, so smoke does not spew into other area. We'll likely stay here again. Oh, the community park located behind the inn is great for running, biking, or walking. Sit on the benches, watch the ducks, or the crabbers along the extended walking deck to the bay area. (My wife and I did not like the italian restruant located behind the Inn), but this was several years ago...cups, utensels, found its way in the artificial greenery and left there, next to the tables. Total turn off while eating wondering what the kitchen looks like or whether food is handled the same. (Holiday Inn says not affiliated with restruant)

Room Tip: Front, 3rd floor. Smokers are on the 2nd floor, (based on the strong odor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frank2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

My family of 4 adults stayed at this hotel during labor day weekend. It was pretty much the last available room in the ocean city vicinity that weekend. Thank goodness we found this hotel!

Hotel: We stayed in a suite (2 queen beds, a sofa bed). The room was clean and spacious enough for all of us to not feel overcrowded. The staff was great and extremely helpful and pleasant. The pool was nice. Indoor pool was a little small (but good to have) and the outdoor pool was great. Breakfast buffet was awesome, the only thing about it is that the line gets very long. (Get there early!)

Surrounding Location: There is a park area behind the hotel which has a pier for fishing and a great park for children. There was also some baseball going on in the two fields they have. A path about a mile or so around the park is available for running or biking which was a plus. There are great restaurants in the area and convenient stores for snacks and such. The beach is across the street which is great. Quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk. Speaking of the boardwalk the bus stops right in front of the hotel to go to the boardwalk ($1 each way or $3 all day pass). However, the ride is about 45 mins to an hr long on the bus with all the stops. But it beats parking if you can't find cheap/free parking. Casino is about 10-15 mins away driving.

Overall it was a great time with many benefits even though it is not right on the boardwalk. No complaints, will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I have repeatedly stayed at this hotel. The beds are comfy (pillows have a little to be desired), room was very clean, breakfast was delicious and bountiful and the front desk folks were terrific! The indoor pool is a bit small but the outside pool is large and the pool area very nice, Excellent beach access right across the road. Close to lots of restaurants and the bus stops right in front and is extremely inexpensive to travel anywhere in the town. I was very very pleased and will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MDBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
323 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 103 in Ocean City
865 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#46 of 103 in Ocean City
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
3.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Address: 12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-6056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located on 126th street in North Ocean City. The hotel has 122 rooms with 66 suites, some of which have whirlpool tubs. We are only a block and a half from the beautiful beaches that Ocean City has to offer. We are also conveniently located in front of Northside Park Sports Complex that host s lacrosse, soccer, basketball and softball tournaments. The hotel is just a short drive away from the world famous Boardwalk as well as some of the finest restaurants in Ocean City. If you want to play a round while you are here, some of the best golf courses in the area are within a fifteen-minute drive. Our guest room amenities include free wireless high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and a hairdryer. For your convenience a guest laundry is also available. You will enjoy starting your day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast served daily from 6:30am until 9:30 am. The tropical atmosphere of our outdoor pool and sundeck (open in our summer months) will make you so relaxed you will not want your vacation to come to an end. We also have an indoor pool with whirlpool that is open year round. Located between the beach and the bay, Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing