We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Consistent HIX Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Ranked #38 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I'm a fan of Holiday Inn Express, and this was no exception. We usually stay at a beachfront hotel, but due to making late reservations, it was not available. So we opted for this Holiday Inn Express in front of Northside Park. The hotel was very clean, with plenty of parking. The front desk staff, especially Josh, were very nice and helpful. The breakfast was adequate. We stayed for five nights. The outdoor pool was very nice and clean. The indoor pool was small, but I'm not a fan of indoor pools anyway. The walk to the beach was very easy...not a problem at all. It was nice having the park in the back of the hotel. We walked in it several times, morning or evening. The only complaint was the WIFI. Not reliable connection. Seems to be a known issue. We would stay her again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tprwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

First let me say that I am extremely picky when it comes to hotels. I was having a hard time choosing one for a last minute beach getaway. I always rely on trip advisor to help me make my choice. My husband and daughter booked this hotel and I couldn't have been more surprised! (because I had not looked at the good ratings first!) This hotel was great for a 2 night stay in the much more quiet north OC and on the bayside. I had never stayed up this far and would definitely come back. The hotel was clean- with my high standards says a lot! The room we had was a king and a pull out sleep sofa that my girls slept on. The king bed was great! I have trouble with most hotel beds being too hard,soft or squeaky and this was neither of those. The pullout sofa was your typical sleep sofa- with the uncomfortable spots from the framework. There was a table and two chairs to sit and eat at, and a nice comfy chair in the bed area to sit and relax in. The bathroom was spacious and clean!! There is a small but useful kitchen area tucked into the wall with a sink,small fridge and microwave and coffee pot. It was sufficient for our brief stay. The outdoor pool was nice,plenty of seating and not too crowded when we were there. The indoor pool was ok, small but they open up the glass doors to allow access from the outside pool to the inside pool. The complimentary breakfast each morning runs from 6a to 9:30a. The earlier the less crowded , but who is up too early on vacation?? The line will start to run long the later it gets. We chose to get our food and take it back to our room. The food choices were fine- juice ,coffee ,milk, yogurt ,scrambled eggs, biscuits/gravy, breads ,cinnamon rolls! and conveyor belt pancakes! Seriously the neatest thing to watch! The hotel staff were always nice. The nicest thing is the park behind the hotel-beautiful! Walkers and joggers each day,nice paved walk way, great thing to do and playground for the young kiddos. There are restaurants close by to walk to and the Abbey Burger Bistro is tucked into the side of the hotel- they have great burgers on the menu and you can build your own !! Even vegetarian options !! The beach is across Coastal Hwy- you can walk or get someone to drive the group over as we did and then walk back. The beach was not over crowded there. I would definitely come back here!! For the quiet,clean and cost with breakfast- it is a winner for me! It is also very family oriented!

Room Tip: The higher floors have better view of the park and bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle20113006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We went for four nights. Here are my comments. The indoor pool was cloudy and the hot tub was dirty until they drained and refilled it on our last full day. The lines for breakfast were long. The food was subpar but typical for a hotel breakfast. No Splenda for coffee. I don't think they switched out our sheets each day but just remade the beds. They became full of sand by our last night. The room was super moist. I don't think the air units were pulling out the condensation properly. The staff was kind and polite. Especially the front desk people. We will look into going to a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scarrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear scarrmd,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This is our second summer stay at this hotel. As others have said, great location and the service is consistent. Two things that are small, but still bother me.
The front door is a pull open door. Twice this trip, I had full hands and could not open the door! The front desk is too far away to motion or call them for assistance. Wouldn't a sliding automatic door be worth the investment? Most hotels have them. Second, we were on the 4th floor. The WiFi in the room really didn't work very well at all. Not a big deal unless you have small kids and thought you would be able to occupy them on a rainy day with Netflix or had to access the internet for something important. Disappointed with my call to the desk for help. Pretty much got an answer to try moving around the room and maybe you will connect....Sounded like they knew it was a problem. Not what I wanted to hear.
HI Express OK for a trip lasting a few days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomahawk1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My family and I have stayed at this HI Express for the last several years, and while the experience is still really good by OC Standards, we noted some slippage this year.

First the positives...location is and always will be EXCELLENT. Lots of services in the area, walking distance to the Dumser's Drivein (always awesome ice cream), quick cross of coastal highway to the beach and a beautiful park behind the hotel for my morning runs. Room is clean again by OC standards, and the breakfast is still top notch. Most of the desk staff (especially Josh) is very welcoming.

What went wrong this time - first time I've seen them run out of cinnamon rolls, and trust me, if you have ever had these, this will make you upset. Second - the room wasn't cleaned especially well from day to day, inconsistent at best. Third - we got a bit of a dress down one afternoon from someone on the desk staff regarding the level of sand still remaining on our son. News bulletin...this is the beach, that kind of thing can be hard to avoid. They welcomed us to use their hose (seriously) outside. Take a few dollars and install a spigot if you care that much.

Still a good stay and far better than most in OC. That said, I do see signs of it heading in the opposite direction.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rstravelerMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My family and I always choose this hotel for summer vacations. I usually get a great room with the bay view which makes us very happy. But the rooms are always clean, my family enjoyed the breakfast but I really want to acknowledge your front desk staff. Jamie seems to always be there when we come although the day we checked she was off but she is just Outstanding. Always pleasant with a big beautiful smile and very helpful. We really enjoy seeing her everytime we come. Just met Keicha and she was very nice and accomodating as well. Keicha took good care of us at check in even though she was by herself at the time and there was a lot of people she was very professional. We had 3 rooms and a suite and they were ready for us upon our arrival.
Thank You Jamie and Keicha
My husband and I plan to be back soon. We had a lot of people with us, from parents to grandchildren so we need another vacation. Looking forward to seeing you all soon
Margaret Thompson

Room Tip: I prefer 5th floor bay side. We had bay side but could only get 3rd floor but it was good cause we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We arrived a couple of hours before check-in and decided to wait until our room was available. We gave our phone number to the desk clerk and went out to the pool area. We didn't hear anything for a while and went back to the desk-another shift came in since then and we discovered they had a room on the first floor for us but we didn't need to be on the first floor. Once they discovered that we had a room right away. Nice facility and a good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EstherChardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 104 in Ocean City
330 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
885 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#50 of 104 in Ocean City
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn Oceanfront
Quality Inn Oceanfront
#36 of 104 in Ocean City
687 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Address: 12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-6056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#16 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £58 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located on 126th street in North Ocean City. The hotel has 122 rooms with 66 suites, some of which have whirlpool tubs. We are only a block and a half from the beautiful beaches that Ocean City has to offer. We are also conveniently located in front of Northside Park Sports Complex that host s lacrosse, soccer, basketball and softball tournaments. The hotel is just a short drive away from the world famous Boardwalk as well as some of the finest restaurants in Ocean City. If you want to play a round while you are here, some of the best golf courses in the area are within a fifteen-minute drive. Our guest room amenities include free wireless high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and a hairdryer. For your convenience a guest laundry is also available. You will enjoy starting your day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast served daily from 6:30am until 9:30 am. The tropical atmosphere of our outdoor pool and sundeck (open in our summer months) will make you so relaxed you will not want your vacation to come to an end. We also have an indoor pool with whirlpool that is open year round. Located between the beach and the bay, Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing