We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Ranked #31 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Our room was quiet, very clean and comfortable. Everyone was friendly, from the front desk staff to the cleaning staff. The hotel is located literally steps from Northside Park, an excellent facility for walking, childrens' playground, and the home of Winterfest, a beautiful display of Holiday lights ( You ride thru the park on one of the boardwalk trams).
We had a great visit, and plan on staying there again ! Price is reasonable and you get a free hot breakfast !

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantictoPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed here with my husband overnight. It was okay. It was quiet and pretty clean. I do have to say though, it's not what it used to be. We asked for a bayside room, so we could see the Winterfest of Lights display, but were given a room directly facing the pool building. No street view or anything. Weird because there were hardly any cars in the hotel's parking lot... we thought we'd have a good chance at a bayside room since there didn't seem to be many patrons at the hotel. We were wrong.

The room we were given on the 2nd floor seemed a little older than the room we stayed in the summer of 2009. The carpet was pulling away from the wall and some of the wallpaper in the bathroom was coming off the wall. Also, the hallways smelled a little like cigarette smoke. I was impressed with the hotel in 2009. This time, with this room we were given, not so much. The bed was alright and the pillows were awesome! We were given ample clean towels, washcloths and soap.

I think that some of the hotel's rooms need to be updated sooner than later. It was clean, safe, and I would stay here again, but it wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MagMagoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

The hotel is adequate and in a great location. The biggest factors for me is cleanliness and safety, which the hotel provided both. The furniture and decor in the room was outdated and a little banged up. The beds and small open closet space were the only downside to the hotel. While the sheets were comfortable, the bed was hard and sagging and the pillows uncomfortable. If you are traveling with a large family, these rooms may be a little small. A big plus is that they have a huge indoor and outdoor pool as well as a hot tub, which was a nice addition.

This hotel is on the North end of OC, and South end of Fenwick Island. There is beach access right across the road, and a beautiful dog-friendly park with a fishing pier behind the hotel. This location is great if you are looking to hit the beach but to be in a more family friendly environment. There are many places within walking distance where you can eat (or party) which is nice because you don't have to drive. Included are Hooters, Blue Ox, Old Mill Crab House, Dumser's Dairyland, Subway, Olive Tree (Not Recommended), Candy Kitchen, and DQ just to name a few.

Bottom line is for the price, this is an adequate, safe, clean hotel that is close to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fin_essential
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

The hotel staff was very friendly with everyone we met greeting us and making us feel welcomed. The room was clean and neat and the maid service excellent. The continental breakfast was also better than average with some hot items. The hotel location is "far" from the boadwalk but we never found it to be a problem. There are some good dining places nearby and the beach is only a one block walk.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveler196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

My family and I stayed in this hotel for one night while in Ocean City. It wasn't ocean front but it was pretty close! The hotel is situated right on Coastal Highway--one side of this highway is the beach and the other side is where the hotel is. So really all one needed to do to get to the beach was cross the street and the beach was right there just about!! The boardwalk is 6 miles down Coastal Highway from the hotel. There are bus stops that take you there, or you can ride a bike or drive. The location was excellent in my opinion, especially for the great price.

I wouldn't be able to know what a standard room has for amenities as my family and I stayed in a suite. Might I add, the suite was nice. It was spacious and very clean. The house-keeping woman was very friendly, and everytime we nagged her for an extra towel or more sheets she obliged amiably. We were on the 4th floor and the air conditioning was working just fine. The ice machine had plenty of ice, and wasn't all out like others have said. The rooms were great--comfortable and cozy. Our room even had a view of the beach!

The service at this hotel was wonderful. Everyone at the front desk served us kindly, and the house-keeping staff also. The breakfast was very good, and complimentary. The pools were awesome. There was an indoor pool and indoor jacuzzi. Then there was an outdoor pool area with nice chaise lounges and chairs.

The only issue I had at this hotel was that the beds weren't too comfortable. A couple of springs were broken, or at least it felt that way. Also the lobby had a funny stench to it. Other than these minor issues, this hotel was fabulous. The price was to die for. It was clean, and the service was wonderful. The rooms were great and so was the location!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Germophobic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We have stayed at this hotel a few times. We love the location. The park behind the hotel is really nice and it's only a block from the beach. We really like the pool area too.
We always feel comfortable there. I did notice that the bathroom wasn't as, up to par, as I would have liked. The grout on the bathroom floor around the tub and the bathroom floor itself could have been cleaner. When you see something like that, it just makes you wonder how clean the rest of the bathroom really is. A clean room is so important for us. Hope the hotel isn't slipping. It would be a shame. They could still redeem themselves if housekeeping steps it up a little.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

We just returned from a (6) night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in OC. We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. It's not an ocean front hotel, but very near both the beach and the bay. Behind the hotel is a large park for walking, biking etc. with a large pier that goes out into the bay. During our stay the hotel was sold out and somewhat busy, but we never noticed noise when we were in our room. Our suite was quite large with two double beds and a seperate area with a sofa, coffee table and small dinner table and chairs. The suites are equipped with a small refrig., m/w and sink. Our room was very clean and well maintained by the cleaning staff. Due to the season, there was usuallly a line for breakfast in the morning, but it was always well stocked and we never had to wait for anything to be filled. The staff was very courteous and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. The only drawback's that we saw with the hotel is that it is not oceanfront, and it is at the upper end of Ocean City, almost in Fenwick Island. That is not necessarily a bad thing though, because it gets you out of the high traffic area down near the boardwalk/inlet area. We felt very safe in this area and there were plenty of places to eat and activities here as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OC_Travelers_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 104 in Ocean City
894 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#21 of 104 in Ocean City
338 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean City Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#43 of 104 in Ocean City
340 reviews
7.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#45 of 104 in Ocean City
315 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ocean City

Address: 12601 Coastal Highway, Ocean City, MD 21842-6056
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £49 - £199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ocean City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located on 126th street in North Ocean City. The hotel has 122 rooms with 66 suites, some of which have whirlpool tubs. We are only a block and a half from the beautiful beaches that Ocean City has to offer. We are also conveniently located in front of Northside Park Sports Complex that host s lacrosse, soccer, basketball and softball tournaments. The hotel is just a short drive away from the world famous Boardwalk as well as some of the finest restaurants in Ocean City. If you want to play a round while you are here, some of the best golf courses in the area are within a fifteen-minute drive. Our guest room amenities include free wireless high-speed Internet access, refrigerator, microwave, iron and ironing board, coffee maker and a hairdryer. For your convenience a guest laundry is also available. You will enjoy starting your day with our complimentary Express Start breakfast served daily from 6:30am until 9:30 am. The tropical atmosphere of our outdoor pool and sundeck (open in our summer months) will make you so relaxed you will not want your vacation to come to an end. We also have an indoor pool with whirlpool that is open year round. Located between the beach and the bay, Holiday Inn Express is the place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing