We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ocean put me it sleep!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The ocean put me it sleep!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The view is fantastic, can't beat an ocean view!
The boardwalk is nearing completion (they are working on it during the day)
We thought that the beds were very comfortable.
I liked the sliding screen door to the balcony so that we could enjoy the ocean sound with no bugs.
We found the room very clean.
My husband liked the nearby "Subway" shop for inexpensive meal choices.
We have stayed at the Hilton prior to this and it was the same room style but seemed newer but does not have the boardwalk.

Room Tip: no smoking/no pets/no near soda or ice machine/no handicapped/ higher up room for view/no near elect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M200789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    326
    107
    26
    31
See reviews for
463
246
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We went for a quick overnight to the Holiday Inn and Suites in OC. It was a spur of the moment trip and we got a decent room rate for pre-season. The hotel is not sparkly new anymore (we haven't stayed in at least 4 years). There is a little wear and tear...but in general it is a fabulous place to stay for families. The extra room makes it great for spreading out. You could choose to cook your own meals in the full kitchen. However, with so many awesome places to eat in easy walking distance I wouldn't bother for the night! :) (We love Layton's for breakfast!!!, and Fishtales for hanging out~there is a play area for kids).
All staff we encountered were friendly. The bar has great happy hour prices from 3-7, so it's nice for the adults while the kids play in the pool. The one bummer for us is that the prices are pretty steep during peak season, so the kids haven't gotten to try the outside pool which looks VERY fun.

Room Tip: we "splurged" for an ocean view this time and really enjoyed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ajohnsonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel has a wonderful location on the boardwalk/beach. We had an ocean front suite with a living room with pullout couch and a full bedroom with 2 double beds. Also, a balcony facing the ocean. The rooms are comfortable and clean though not luxury (which was FINE for us but depends what you are looking for). Bathroom is large. A small kichenette is there as well. The beach is steps from the hotel lobby. The tram is available right on the boardwalk by the hotel. Dunkin Donuts and a drug store (maybe CVS?) is walking distance as are several restaurants.
The pools with waterslides also offered tons of fun. It was a family favorite vacation and we're doing it again this year. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean facing suites are roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobalFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Even though we got a decent rate, the hotel is rather old and dreary. The furniture in the living room area is old looking and uncomfortable. The room echoes. The bedroom was fine. However, the internet does not work in the bedroom and it barely works in the living room. It's not reliable. When we called about it, we were told basically that they knew it didn't work - even though they advertise "High Speed Internet Access". A couple we traveled with us also had the same issue (they were on a completely different floor). The desk sent someone up to their room who said he would send the manager up. No one ever showed. The location is excellent but during our stay the city was working on the boardwalk so there was no direct access to the boardwalk or the beach. We had to walk about a block down to get to the boardwalk. Certainly not a big deal but the hotel should have provided this information on their website. What WAS a big deal was the start of construction work at 7am Monday morning. Not too pleasant. Again, they should have made this information available. The manager insisted they are not in control of what the city does to the boardwalk but I think they are responsible for informing their guests so they can make an informed decision prior to staying there. During checkout, the manager did give us a little off our total bill but I will not stay there again. Especially during high season when the rates are astronomical!

Room Tip: Supposedly the higher floors have better internet access. We were on the top floor but access was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kgdspd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
kgdspd,

Thank you for your recent stay, and taking time to provide feedback. It is unfortunate you were not fully satisfied by the accommodations of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We loved it here! It had everything we needed and more. Our little family of three had more than enough room to stretch out in these suites. It could have easily fit more people.

The living room was large with a fold out bed, flat screen tv and dining table with four chairs. Our toddler in slept in here in the provided pack-n-play.

The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and more. It had silverware and dishes, a blender, toaster, coffee-maker, pots, pans, a full size fridge and stove. It was all very clean and new. It was nice to be able to make our own breakfast in the morning, and to have all the food we needed through out the day with out having to rely on eating out for every meal.

The bathroom was great! Our toddler LOVED the giant jacuzzi, and she swam in it several times during our stay. It also has a nice rain style shower head, very luxurious. Plenty of counter space and lighting.

We had two queen beds in he spacious bedroom. We loved how high the ceilings were, and that we had a TV in here too. It was far enough away from the living room that we didn't disturb our sleeping baby. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The sliding doors leading to the balcony were lovely, and we enjoyed watching the sun rise over the ocean from our bed.

The hotel is on the beach, so access is very convenient. Since it was the off season, there were hardly any people there, which was great! Lots of covered parking, no crowds, and a very quiet hotel. We appreciated that there was an indoor pool too! The outdoor pool(s) looked amazing, and I can imagine it would be a kid's dream come true during the summer.

We ate dinner one evening from the restaurant in the lobby. It was very quick service, and our ribs were great! We especially enjoyed the fried banana cheesecake pastry offered there. I highly recommend it.

The staff and employees were very kind and accommodating. We were given and early check in at around 10. We also asked for a late check out so our toddler could squeeze in one more nap before we headed home, and that was no problem at all. The only problem we encountered was in our first room we were given, the curtains and valance had fallen off the wall, but we just informed them about it, and were given a room just a few doors down. Easy fix!

We had an awesome stay here, we wish we could have stayed longer. I definitely recommend visiting Ocean City in the off-season. Perhaps it is a little colder and lots of places are closed for the season, but I loved the sparse crowds and no traffic and there were still enough places open for us to have some fun. Please the beach was practically deserted! This hotel is in a great location for all the fun you want to have.

Room Tip: I think nearly every room has an ocean view, but the higher up you go, the better it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liliribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Just got back from my weekend getaway with my boyfriend at the holiday inn. The room was very large with a king bed & ocean front balcony. The bed & pillows were so comfy I felt like I was sleeping in my own bed at home!!! We chose not to have housekeeping come, but they left a bag in front of our door with fresh towels and coffee & bath essentials. They had mini bath & body works shampoos, lotions and conditioners. Will come back in the summer too! A++

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Courthalecki6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Va
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This hotel is such a great hotel and we DO love it. There is plenty of space for my family of 4 in the suites and no fighting over tv's or trying to make kids be quiet so someone can nap because there is always the other room to retreat to. We go there every single June (this year will be our 5th year) and the staff is so nice many of them even remember us, which makes us feel special. The staff always try to help us in any way and leave us feeling like they care about our vacation and the impression they leave on us. However... this is an Ocean City hotel, so if you are looking for total perfection... new carpets, pristine decor, you are going to the wrong beach TOWN because I don’t think anything like that exists in OC, especially on the boardwalk. (I think there is a new and nicer Hilton that is very similar to this hotel but it is not on the boardwalk which is half the fun for us. We take this awesome location over a hotel that is sparkling like new.) To us this is the best hotel with a great location on the boardwalk, at a beautiful beach far from the public beach down on the end of the boardwalk, good bar by the 2 outdoor pools (one that is great for kids) situated overlooking the beach (not the parking lot like at most other OC hotels!) and an indoor pool for cool or yucky days as well as a decent, casual restaurant, fitness room, and suites with full kitchens and lots of space for cranky, sunburned families to spread out before someone has a meltdown. I do like the rooms very much despite the fact that we usually stay at 5 star hotels (Grand Cypress or Grand Floridian in Orlando, The Plaza in NY, The Willard in DC and so on) so this is an adjustment downward in luxury, but it is clean, comfortable, spacious, friendly and all the amenities and it’s PRIME location make up for a hard to see run in the carpet here or there. BTW, I gave this 5 stars not because I think it is a 5 star hotel, but because of all the options in Ocean City, Md… I find this to be the best choice for couples or families. Book it and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room... They are even bigger!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,063 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,084 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 103 in Ocean City
571 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-6594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing