We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We try to stay at this location at least once a year. The staff is very helpful and met all of our needs. They also upgraded us to oceanfront.

Room Tip: Our room had a jacuzzi, a very nice touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beachcouple3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

722 - 728 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

The hotel was adequete but the furniture is a little outdated.
I also question the cleanliness of the pool.
Also be careful if you have more than 6 - they charge you the 18% gratuity but nowhere on the menu does it inform you of the policy. However kids eat free with one adult which is beneficial

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irishdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear Irishdm,

Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Kids Eat Free program during your stay. We are sorry you did not like the hotel furnishings as well as the cleanliness of the pool. This is not the type of service you should expect from our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us. We take all comments seriously and welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Reference # 27697479

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The view is fantastic, can't beat an ocean view!
The boardwalk is nearing completion (they are working on it during the day)
We thought that the beds were very comfortable.
I liked the sliding screen door to the balcony so that we could enjoy the ocean sound with no bugs.
We found the room very clean.
My husband liked the nearby "Subway" shop for inexpensive meal choices.
We have stayed at the Hilton prior to this and it was the same room style but seemed newer but does not have the boardwalk.

Room Tip: no smoking/no pets/no near soda or ice machine/no handicapped/ higher up room for view/no near elect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M200789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We went for a quick overnight to the Holiday Inn and Suites in OC. It was a spur of the moment trip and we got a decent room rate for pre-season. The hotel is not sparkly new anymore (we haven't stayed in at least 4 years). There is a little wear and tear...but in general it is a fabulous place to stay for families. The extra room makes it great for spreading out. You could choose to cook your own meals in the full kitchen. However, with so many awesome places to eat in easy walking distance I wouldn't bother for the night! :) (We love Layton's for breakfast!!!, and Fishtales for hanging out~there is a play area for kids).
All staff we encountered were friendly. The bar has great happy hour prices from 3-7, so it's nice for the adults while the kids play in the pool. The one bummer for us is that the prices are pretty steep during peak season, so the kids haven't gotten to try the outside pool which looks VERY fun.

Room Tip: we "splurged" for an ocean view this time and really enjoyed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ajohnsonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel has a wonderful location on the boardwalk/beach. We had an ocean front suite with a living room with pullout couch and a full bedroom with 2 double beds. Also, a balcony facing the ocean. The rooms are comfortable and clean though not luxury (which was FINE for us but depends what you are looking for). Bathroom is large. A small kichenette is there as well. The beach is steps from the hotel lobby. The tram is available right on the boardwalk by the hotel. Dunkin Donuts and a drug store (maybe CVS?) is walking distance as are several restaurants.
The pools with waterslides also offered tons of fun. It was a family favorite vacation and we're doing it again this year. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean facing suites are roomy and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GlobalFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Even though we got a decent rate, the hotel is rather old and dreary. The furniture in the living room area is old looking and uncomfortable. The room echoes. The bedroom was fine. However, the internet does not work in the bedroom and it barely works in the living room. It's not reliable. When we called about it, we were told basically that they knew it didn't work - even though they advertise "High Speed Internet Access". A couple we traveled with us also had the same issue (they were on a completely different floor). The desk sent someone up to their room who said he would send the manager up. No one ever showed. The location is excellent but during our stay the city was working on the boardwalk so there was no direct access to the boardwalk or the beach. We had to walk about a block down to get to the boardwalk. Certainly not a big deal but the hotel should have provided this information on their website. What WAS a big deal was the start of construction work at 7am Monday morning. Not too pleasant. Again, they should have made this information available. The manager insisted they are not in control of what the city does to the boardwalk but I think they are responsible for informing their guests so they can make an informed decision prior to staying there. During checkout, the manager did give us a little off our total bill but I will not stay there again. Especially during high season when the rates are astronomical!

Room Tip: Supposedly the higher floors have better internet access. We were on the top floor but access was p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kgdspd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

kgdspd,

Thank you for your recent stay, and taking time to provide feedback. It is unfortunate you were not fully satisfied by the accommodations of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We loved it here! It had everything we needed and more. Our little family of three had more than enough room to stretch out in these suites. It could have easily fit more people.

The living room was large with a fold out bed, flat screen tv and dining table with four chairs. Our toddler in slept in here in the provided pack-n-play.

The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and more. It had silverware and dishes, a blender, toaster, coffee-maker, pots, pans, a full size fridge and stove. It was all very clean and new. It was nice to be able to make our own breakfast in the morning, and to have all the food we needed through out the day with out having to rely on eating out for every meal.

The bathroom was great! Our toddler LOVED the giant jacuzzi, and she swam in it several times during our stay. It also has a nice rain style shower head, very luxurious. Plenty of counter space and lighting.

We had two queen beds in he spacious bedroom. We loved how high the ceilings were, and that we had a TV in here too. It was far enough away from the living room that we didn't disturb our sleeping baby. The beds were very comfortable and clean. The sliding doors leading to the balcony were lovely, and we enjoyed watching the sun rise over the ocean from our bed.

The hotel is on the beach, so access is very convenient. Since it was the off season, there were hardly any people there, which was great! Lots of covered parking, no crowds, and a very quiet hotel. We appreciated that there was an indoor pool too! The outdoor pool(s) looked amazing, and I can imagine it would be a kid's dream come true during the summer.

We ate dinner one evening from the restaurant in the lobby. It was very quick service, and our ribs were great! We especially enjoyed the fried banana cheesecake pastry offered there. I highly recommend it.

The staff and employees were very kind and accommodating. We were given and early check in at around 10. We also asked for a late check out so our toddler could squeeze in one more nap before we headed home, and that was no problem at all. The only problem we encountered was in our first room we were given, the curtains and valance had fallen off the wall, but we just informed them about it, and were given a room just a few doors down. Easy fix!

We had an awesome stay here, we wish we could have stayed longer. I definitely recommend visiting Ocean City in the off-season. Perhaps it is a little colder and lots of places are closed for the season, but I loved the sparse crowds and no traffic and there were still enough places open for us to have some fun. Please the beach was practically deserted! This hotel is in a great location for all the fun you want to have.

Room Tip: I think nearly every room has an ocean view, but the higher up you go, the better it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liliribs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
888 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#14 of 104 in Ocean City
3,700 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 104 in Ocean City
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £55 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing