We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much to like, only a little to dislike!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much to like, only a little to dislike!”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Likes: mostly friendly, hard working, polite staff, location (1 mile from either end of the boardwalk-pretty quiet!), perfect viewing for Tuesday night fireworks from Southern view suite, free washers and dryers on each floor, easy parking, 40 cent sodas in the machines!, fresh fruit in the lobby.
Dislikes: dated decor and seriously smelly hallway near us on the 8th floor.

Room Tip: There are 13 floors -upper level floors are quieter and offer better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyBeach86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear SandyBeach86,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. Please allow me to apologize for the negative impression you may have had because of the smelly hallway. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as this matter will be looked into. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    322
    104
    26
    31
See reviews for
457
243
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
youngstown,ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012

I believe this HI has alot of room for improvement. The carpet should be ripped out in the bedroom and the floor should be tiled. Everytime we took a shower or bathed and walked on the carpet the bottoms of our feet were black. The balcony looked like it hadn't been swept in the last year. Everyone was friendly, and check in and out was a breeze, these suites location is great but the carpet needs to go.

Room Tip: I'd stay away from ground level at the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I've stay here every July since they opened in 2001. The "newness" only lasted a couple of years because OC visitors are hard on hotels !! The plusses are the staff, large bathroom with double-sink vanity, full kitchen, and proximity to boardwalk. These are not efficiencies -- they are suites. The minuses are as follows:
• The problem with the rain showerhead is not the water pressure -- it's mineral deposits. They worked fine when the hotel first opened. I guess housekeeping never heard of C.L.R.
• The jacuzzi tub is about 2 feet high -- very difficult to climb in and out of, or to bathe a child. Once you do get in, it's very slippery. Don't try to get a room without one because they are standard except in a few handicap rooms.
• People wait in line to reserve chairs at the kiddie pool. The chairs don't empty out until the building shades the pool in the late afternoon.
• A lot of people at the pools don't have wrist bands. It's a good policy to have them but it must be enforced.
• Garage parking is scarce at night, so you may end up parking in a lot across the street. Cars without a Holiday Inn card are given a warning but not towed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Dear Debbie R,

Thank you for taking time to post a review of our property. I am grateful for the kind comments about our staff and the amenities included in your suite. I am sorry about the problems you encountered with our shower-heads and jacuzzi tub as well as the long wait at the kiddie pool. Please accept our apologies due to the limited parking space at night. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and it seem that we fell below your expectations. Your review will be used to consider needed improvements and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to host you again on your next visit to Ocean City, MD.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Our family of four stayed one night to extend our vacation in Ocean City. Stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in North Ocean City for three nights and splurged on one night at this property. We had a corner double queen suite which was very large. The room was clean, but not spotless. The kitchen did not have a dishcloth, dishtowel or oven mitt. The bathroom was large with a nice shower. I agree with another reviewer on the odor in the hallways, very foul.

While we were waiting to check in to our room, we went to the kids pool and within 10 minutes a child had an "accident" in the water so the pool had to be cleared out and disinfected. Needless to say we were not in a hurry to jump back in.

Overall, I think we had a better experience for our money at the less pricey Holiday Inn Express on the quiet side of Ocean City.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BobnCarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Let me start off by saying that I never write reviews but thought I should just share a few things with you. First off the room/balcanoy is a nice size but for 450+ a night it should be. The room was pretty clean but I did find a few "dirty" spots as well. The location was nice and great access to the beach. The restaurant in the hotel (we only ate breakfast) was ok but the eggs did taste a little funky at times. We stayed on the 10th floor and every morning when we went into the hallway there was a VERY foul odor of vomit. I first thought maybe someone got sick but then came to realize by the second day that it was just the smell. Finally by the 5th day I called to complain and they sprayed some sort of disgusting smelling deodorizer..the vomit smelled better than that!! All in all the hotel was decent I just would hold your breath everytime you leave your room.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Chrissy G,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased you found the room to be clean and the hotel's location convenient. We always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hallway going to your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We've stayed here 3 times and each time has been very pleasurable. Kids pool is great (although it does get crowded at times). Also, if you want a lounge at either of the outdoor pools, be warned that guests line up outside the gate around 8:15 am to grab a spot. A little silly, but it's just the way it is.

The staff at this hotel is always friendly and helpful..I've seen the same faces year after year so it must be a decent hotel to work at.

Love the convenience of the boardwalk tram right outside the hotel. Great place to stay for families. Rooms are clean and the maid service is very good. A great stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkohler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is a really nice hotel on the Boardwalk. Suites are well equipped, but rain shower is annoying. Restaurant and lounge on property, as well as great spa packages. Over-priced, but everything in Ocean City, MD, is over-priced during the season. Don't stay during June - high school and college kids galore.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spa-Enthusiasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,996 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#27 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-6594
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing