We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
180 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Let me start off by saying this is an expensive hotel. It was over $400 a night. We went with it for a few reasons. 1) it's right on the beach with 2 pools 2) suites (we needed 2 sleeping areas) 3) excellent location on the boardwalk. That was my justification before we arrived. After we arrived...

THRILLED with the pools. They had an awesome kids pool and my son was in heaven when he wasn't in the ocean. The other pool is great, too. There is also a small indoor pool, but we didn't use it.

The suites were great. The bedroom with balcony was oceanfront. Had a door that closed the rest of the suite off from the bathroom, kitchen, and front area. TV quality and channel selection was good. Kitchen had everything that you'd need. There was a table and chairs on the balcony and also in the living area. One disappointing feature--the sofabed was horrible. Just to sit on the couch was bad. Absolutely no support in the cushions. Then when I pulled the bed out use, I was shocked at how bad it was. There so NO support and you could feel absolutely everything through the very thin mattress. Seriously...they need to get new sofabeds.

The location is perfect because you are on the boardwalk, but not near the craziness. There are no rowdy bars or snack joints right below you. Everything is in easy walking distance.

Around 8pm on our first night, I called down for 2 extra blankets for the sofabed. They never came up by the time we went to bed at 9:30. By the same token, my husband never called to say "where are they?" Well, at 11pm--yes, 11pm--there's a knock at the door--"Housekeeping!" Sure enough...there were the blankets. My husband was sound asleep and shocked. I told the front desk staff the next morning and they were apologetic.

One other thing. We had the "Privacy Please" hanger on our door. We came back after lunch one day and housekeeping had dropped off towels INSIDE the room. Now, I know some will say, "Well, that's nice. He/she was taking the initiative even though you didn't want the room cleaned." Yes, BUT, we might have been in there sleeping and taking a nap with our child. I can tell you that I would've been livid if that happened. I think that is another example of the housekeeping staff not giving any consideration to the guests. So, hopefully Holiday Inn will see this and make corrections.

Rooms were very quiet. We had an excellent location at the end of the hall on a high floor so not a lot of traffic. Very appreciative.

One more thing...we arrived around 1:30 and were able to check in early. What a wonderful bonus!

Room Tip: higher floor, end of hallway will have less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    474
    314
    104
    26
    30
See reviews for
450
239
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff is always incredibly helpful and friendly. The hotel/restaurants are all very clean and comfortable too. Duane was an excellent bartender and the food was so yummy! We always stay here, it's one of the reasons we love OC!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pibbles3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walden, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This place has great pools for kids and adults!!!awesome poolside bar with food also.right on boardwalk.this place is close to everything and also has a decent restaurant in building.great water slides for kids and and out door hot tub also.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reddog12586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
113 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here a couple of days. We have stayed here before and really like this hotel. The employees at the front counter are always very polite and professional. Upon arrival, our room was ready early. We were given a room that was very close to the elevator which I prefer not to have so I went back to the front desk and they were very helpful saying it was no problem and they could move us further away with a 30 - 60 minute wait. That was fine and they had a bell boy come store our luggage. We went out to use the pool while we were waiting. It wasn't 5 minutes before we got a call saying the room was ready. Awesome! The room was clean and cool. The view from the 11 floor was awesome. In the evenings, the hotel was very quite. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: I was on the 11th floor in room 1115 which is next to the last room furthest away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

We have stayed in this all suite hotel several times in the past. As others have noted, it is a great location and has great views and amenities. They try hard to get you in your room early if you need that. The corner suite we had this time was even more spacious and had so many awesome views of the beach, the city, the bay, the horizon all the way around. The furniture in the living area was showing it's ago, had stains on the sofa. There are no pay per view movies but you get a DVD player with each of the two TVs and there is a Red Box kiosk a block away at the CVS. Breakfast on Sunday morning took way too long to get in the coral err cafe! but manager did discount it due to 35 min wait time. All in all a good stay and we will be back again. Prices were $100 higher this stay than last stay in August 2012. $499 a night for a Sat. night, but nothing else was available and we needed the space with 4 people.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileend10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and was extremely disappointed. Decided due to the location and the availability I would give it another chance and was happy I did.
There were some obvious upgrades since my prior stay but I suppose everything takes time.
Kitchen area clean and new refrigerator was great. Bedroom clean and plenty of pillows.
The only issue I had was the living room sofa bed. Definitely needed to be switched out and upgraded, obviously showing wear and extremely uncomfortable. When the front desk was notified of the sofa bed issue, a new mattress was delivered within 1hour and set up.
All in all, pleasant stay, comparable to the Hilton down the road (stayed there last summer) and would come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floor room for great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa0413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our family has enjoyed this property for over six years. The location is perfect; the facilities are well maintained and the staff reflects their commitment to service. On many occasions we have observed the Holiday Inn Boardwalk team go the extra steps to assist a guest. Despite heavy foot traffic from the beach the lobby is immaculate, dry and inviting. The restaurant is kid friendly allowing my husband and I to enjoy a quiet drink while nestled up to the hotel bar while within earshot of our children. The Holiday Inn Boardwalk has become a family tradition. We know we can count of the quality of our visit as this team is consistently consistent! Karla G.

Room Tip: Rooms on the end of each floor tend to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, IHG and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing