We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, perfect location, great views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Bucks County, Penna.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, perfect location, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

Beautiful hotel right on the ocean with oceanfront balcony, full kitchen. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Hotel has a restaurant (which we didn't use), three pools (one indoors) and most anything else you'd need for a stay at the beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenY_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    314
    104
    26
    30
See reviews for
450
238
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

Its utterly ridiculous to me why a hotel would have 3 pools and then close them at 6 pm. WHY? If you are looking to use the pool for a nice evening swim here forget it. Even the indoor pool is freezing cold. For the money they get for the hotel rooms, they can't afford to heat the water?

As previous reviewers mentioned, people "saving" beach chairs is a problem too.

The location is good, but I paid a high price for the use of the pools and was very disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darlin249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

My family has been staying at this hotel for the last 4-5 years and have never had any complaints. I even recommended it to friends and family. Never again. We were robbed the day we checked in. We went to dinner and came back to find items missing from the room. We reported it to the front desk and spoke to someone in "management" she went to the back and came back and told us the "general" manager would be right out to talk to us. That never happened. The front desk called the police and reported it. They told us we could wait in our room and they would accompany the police up to our room. The police came, but management never did. We asked if we would be charged if we check out early and was told no. The police officer came back to our room after this to ask some other questions and suggested we ask if we could be put up in another hotel in the Harrison Group. I was surprised the the Hotel management didn't even suggest this. When we asked them if it was possible they did arrange for us to change the hotels and told us the rate would be the same. We got the room at the Hilton (Great Hotel -- definitely our go to hotel now) but were charged the higher rate. I didn't mind paying because the room was great, but was disappointed that I was mis-informed by the Holiday Inn management.
I was also disappointed to find out, from the police officer, that the police had been to the hotel numerous times because of robberies. I couldn't believe that the hotel staff didn't pass this on to the customers just to make them aware of the possibility.
I got the feeling that managment just doesn't care what happens to their customers -- they just want the money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oswaltb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORTHERN CAMBRIA PA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2010

hotel was clean. was quite,lots of room. bathroom was big, as well as the bedroom, and livingroom, staff was excellant.right on the boardwalk, beds were just right, tvs in livingroom and bedroon ,plus dvd players vcr, coffee pot,microwave, fridge,freezer,stove,it is really nice will stay here again and plan to soon

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLONDIE111977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. Our first time to Ocean City. We tried the Hilton but it was booked and they reccomended Holiday Inn. Location was excellent and the suite layout worked well. The hotel itself could have been cleaner and needs updating.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasjmdcfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerton PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2010

In the past we have always stayed at smaller, less expensive places a block or 2 from the beach. This year we decided to splurge and try this Holiday Inn on the boardwalk.... probably twice as expensive as the place we stayed last year. The oceanfront view from our room on the 11th floor was AMAZING! It was too hot to sit out on the deck in the morning with the direct sun, but by early afternoon it was partially shaded with a great breeze.
My kids tried all 3 pools.... the indoor pool was larger than expected but the water too cold for me, I think because it shares the space with a restaurant. Both outdoor pools were nice and warm. They especially loved the kids pool, since it had jets in areas that push you around a whirlpool and river.
We thought the room was very nice and clean -- I think from reading some other reviews, it really depends what you are used too. The kitchen was fully equipped with most things needed for cooking -- however, 2 things missing were a cookie sheet-type pan (for baking a pizza or chicken nuggets, etc) and oven mitts. Maybe these were just missing from our particular room ,,... but there really was everything else. The beds were super-comfortable! The kids tried out the jacuzzi tub and liked it but found it's very loud.
Location is great... steps to the beach and a 10-20 minute walk to the busier end of the boardwalk with the arcades.
The only frustration we had, and this was mentioned in a previous review, is that it is nearly IMPOSSIBLE to find a chair in either outdoor pool area. Guests seem to go out there early in the morning and "reserve" a chair with a towel, and then leave. 2 mornings we were there, from our deck I counted 30-40 "reserved" chairs by 8:30 am when there were no more than 6 people actually in the pool area. And people also tend to reserve a chair for each family member, including little kids, which really isn't necessary. There is a small sign about not leaving belongings on a chair when you leave the pool area but it's ignored. We were lucky to find 1 chair for the 5 of us to share, and a few times I just sat at the edge of the pool with our stuff to watch the kids. It would be great if the hotel could come up with a solution for this, since common sense and consideration is obviously lacking.
Overall, we had a great time and would stay here again... though probably not every year because of the higher cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGJJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

This was our first trip to OCMD and I was a little apprehensive about it..... I was getting mixed reactions from family and friends about choosing OCMD as a "family vacation." I was told it would be "raunchy", "overcrowded" and "dirty." However, I was pleasantly surprised that it was none of these and our family of five.... kids ages are 10, 9, 5 had a great time. I choose the Holiday Inn Hotels and Suites because of the kids pool..... slides, whirlpools, fountains, etc.... they had a blast and would stay there all day if we let them. The only problem I found was that by 10am all the chairs around the pool had been "reserved" with towels and such so there was never a free chair to sit at. I wish hotels would stop that... it is my pet-peeve in life! Anyway, the pool was great. There are two other pools as well... one indoor (water was very cold) and another outdoor which was more for the adults... but kids could go there too. The hotel itself is in a good location... not so close to the "busy" side of the boardwalk where the amusement park is, but close enough that you could walk there in 20 minutes down the boardwalk or you can get the tram ($3 each way per person... pricey!) The hotel is directly on the boardwalk and the beach is right across. We brought our own chairs and umbrella to set up. The water can be rough. My older children loved boogie boarding in the waves but my 5 year old was fearful of the waves and did not go in the water. The inside of the hotel is OK. It is very expensive for what you get, but ALL the hotels on the beach are this way. The beds were very comfortable, but overall the room was a little outdated and not the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed at. However, I would stay there again because of its location and the kids pool. One side note......we ate at Philips all you can eat........a must! Go before 6 or the line will be out the door and around the corner. Go hungry.... !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lps113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.7 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#1 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#9 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Address: 1701 Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#11 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury all-suite hotel located directly on the beach & boardwalk. Over-sized suites with separate living room, bedroom, and kitchens including residential size dishwasher, range, refrigerator, microwave, and tons of cabinet space filled with dishes, utensils, and cookware. Private balconies overlooking the ocean feature a dining table and chairs for four person. Elegant, large bathrooms with Jacuzzi tubs in every room. Elevated outdoor pool and expansive deck overlooking the beach. Four story atrium with indoor pool, open-air restaurant, fitness center, and game room. Meeting facilities. Guest laundry on every floor, free HBO & Disney channel, complimentary newspaper, coffee and fruit. Video tape players & computer data ports in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotels And Suites Ocean City Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ocean City Maryland
Holiday Inn Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing