We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"See ya next year!"”
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 24 August 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at The Grand Hotel, OC MD from 08/19/2011 to 08/22/2011. This hotel, although some reviews were unfavorable, was wonderful! The view from our 6th floor room was of both the ocean and the bayside. Beautiful! The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the ammenities left nothing to be desired. Both indoor and outdoor pool, game room, spa, and the beach was steps away! You could access every store and restaurant from the inside of the hotel so the one night it rained for a while was no problem. Our balcony was large and morning coffee, listening to the waves was very relaxing. Being right on the boardwalk in OC made our stay perfect. The lobby was large- no crowds to be avoided. For those who have had complaints, I think that you should consider the value of a place that puts you in the heart of everything and offers a great nights rest in rooms that are comfortable and clean. We walked around and looked at other hotels to see up close what we had seen online....we were glad we chose the Grand Hotel. No loud parties and very family friendly if traveling with kids. We will definately stay at The Grand again and hope to return with family next year. Thanks to everyone at The Grand for a weekend getaway worthwhile!

Room Tip: Room was dbl Queen, fridge, microwave and Coffemaker. Lots of room. All views are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mimiv39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,602)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,378 - 3,384 of 3,602 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

The Grand Hotel (also called the Stowaway Grand Hotel) is a fantastic hotel by Ocean City standards. It is right on the Boardwalk and the beach. Every room is ocean front or view and has a beautiful view of the beach and boardwalk. There are beach shops and a pizza place and ice cream parlor on the ground floor which are accessible from the hotel or the boardwalk. The hotel also has a bay view restaurant which has a nice breakfast. There are inexpensive places to eat and attractions very close by and within walking distance. There is also a motor trolley service which will take you along the boardwalk for a reasonable price. The pool and pool bar have a good view of the bay and the town.

The rooms are spacious and clean. Every room has a huge balcony. There is always someone vacuuming the common areas so there is no sand all over the floors. The personnel is friendly and accommodating. They even called our room half way through our trip to make sure we were enjoying ourselves and to ask if there was anything they could do for us!!

My daughter accidentally left her digital camera when we checked out which housekeeping recovered and sent back to us. Honest and efficient!

Ocean City is not a luxury destination, but it is a nice place for a beach getaway. The Grand Hotel is one of the nicest accommodations you will find in Ocean City (and I have been to many.) This is our second year staying there and we will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 10th and 11th floor are a bit more expensive but worth it. The rooms are very large; t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barnone80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed this past week and I was a little disappointed in the hotel. I've been to Ocean City many times and have stayed at the Rodeway Oceanfront, Quality Inn Boardwalk and the Dunes Manor Hotel. I have always thought the Grand looked so nice so I decided to book it for a friend weekend getaway. I was disapponted in a few things - the ice machines are every other floor and we had to go to 5 different floors before we could fill our very small cooler to take onto the beach, the air conditioning kicked off and on which kept us awake, there is no ventilation in the bathroom such as a fan to remove steam after a shower - which I would think that would cause alot of mold in their walls but who knows...there was constant noise from people opening and closing their sliding glass doors above or beside us, noise from people closing hallway doors, people being loud on the patios - the patios are not private from on another, the elevators didn't work so well and you had to wait forever. I dealt with a person at the front desk who was very nice the first day and the rest of the time the staff wasn't so nice. For what we paid here, I was a little disappointed. Overall it was OK but I think that it looked so much better than what I experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We have stayed at the Grand for two years in a row. The service continues to be excellent! We called for extra towels a few times during our stay; they were delivered promptly with a follow up call from the front desk to ensure we received our towels. We stayed on the third floor this time in an ocean front room. The view was great, although you could not see as far down the beach as from a higher floor - we were there to see the ocean anyway, so this was not a bad thing. There were signs requesting only handicapped and oversize vehicles use the parking lot in front of the hotel, and the lot was usually full of oversize vehicles. (We have a minivan which was no problem to park in the ramp garage - there were always spaces available.) Very conveniently, there is a pizza/sub/burger shop located in the hotel and a 24 hour Java Cafe which offers panninis, fruit, yogurt, desserts and toiletries in addition the coffee. The rooms are large and clean, and the location is great. Our only complaint was that we could hear a man hollering at the top of his voice at 7 AM "Owen, when are you going to get out of bed?!!" This, however, is not the hotel's fault; we just happened to be in a room next to an insensitive loudmouth! Overall, we continue to love the Grand and will return next summer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here for five days in July. We tried to get a booking at our favorite hotel the Park Place but could not so we tried this one. Overall, not a bad hotel. The staff appeared very friendly and helpful. There was pleny of parking in a covered parking garage. It is on the boardwalk which makes access to the wonderful Ocean City beach easy. It is a little far from the major attractions at the other end of the boardwalk but not too far. The major complaint in the worn out mattresses. Currently major hotels spend a great deal of time and effort to ensure the mattresses are new and comfortable. The mattresses at the Grand Hotel were worn out and both of us woke up with back aches. The pool and the pool bar were very nice and we spent a lot of time there. Also they have a coffee shop that is open 24 hours which is really convenient. Other than that the room is about average but clean. The price was about 200.00 plus per night which is about what you expect. Bottom line while not too bad we fell there are better choices in Ocean Ciy than this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewJerseyPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

21st Street, front of hotel right on boardwalk, ocean can be pretty much seen by all rooms. Hotel does need updating but not a bad stay. We needed more towels called downstair within minutes had more towels, same with a heavy blanket that night within minutes we had one. Hotel has coffee shop open 24 in lobby. Outside pool & pool bar, indoor pool. Six floor has a restuarant serves breakfast very reasonable. Big parking garage.
Lobby has plenty sitting area and sitting area outside. Would stay again. The only problem with this entire trip was all the broadwalk stores had many people working from other countries and it was difficult to understand them, and you had a hard time understanding them. These stores should have at least one american person working in their stores or at least people who understand and you can understand them. All in all great them would go again and stay at The Grands.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margie31167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

the service blew. i went with my family for my birthday and not only did we have to wait to be sent to our room, but once we got up there the cleaning people JUST started cleaning it. when they finished we had to wait another ten minutes for "billy" to come inspect it. PLUS they gave our room to another family, luckily we ran into each right before they were going into our room. the hotel looks nice & the rooms are fine, but i would never go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessicahandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandManager, General Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

I'm very sorry to hear of your dis-satisfaction with the check-in process. I have sent you a personal e-mail to get more information, but what I have been able to glean from your review is that you were checking in during the afternoon. If you were here before our 4pm check-in time, we do try our best to get all of our guests to their rooms as early as possible, but not so fast that we are unable to ensure a perfectly clean and stocked guest room. I'm sorry that you had to wait for the room to be inspected, but the hotels Executive Housekeeper takes great pride in our rooms and insists that no guest checks into a room until it gets her own or one of our inspectors seal of approval.

Again, please accept my apologies. I have no information on the "over-book" situation you mentioned, I look forward to hearing from you soon to get to the bottom of that situation.

Sincere Regards,
Patrick Staib - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,298 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#31 of 104 in Ocean City
885 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £49 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing