We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunrises........”
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #14 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was our first trip to OC. Staying on the 11th floor (middle) allows you to sit on the balcony, have a cup of coffee and experience the most beautiful sunrises.The hotel is on the boardwalk, but far enough from the "main" part of the boardwalk to experience calm. It's the equivalent of a few blocks walk to get to the "heart" of the boardwalk. This location is very quiet (at least in October). The staff at the hotel was very nice and accommodating. The rooms are dated, and not as clean as I'd like, but having the ability to go to sleep and wake up to the sounds of crashing waves and sea gulls was fabulous. (There are sliding glass doors to the balcony that we left open all night.) It sits directly on the boardwalk, and is literally steps and you're in the sand.

Room Tip: We were on the 11th, but any room (on any floor) from "6 - 15" you will have a spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Isn't it amazing being able to take some time out and enjoy our beautiful city? For those of us who live here we sometimes take it for granted. It sounds like you were able to enjoy many of the amazing parts of Ocean City that are just steps from our door, and we are so pleased about that. We are delighted that you found our location to be perfect and we are in the planning process for renovations so when you return we hope you will find your accommodations to be perfect as well. Thank you so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,037 - 3,043 of 3,674 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed at the Grand Hotel & Spa for a conference this past weekend and what a nightmare. Stayed here last year and since then things have went from bad to worse. Our room was on the 2nd floor beachfront, the room was dirty, wallpaper and baseboard peeling off the wall, black mold under the wallpaper (a health hazard) bath too small, no wifi service. We had to move to another room after complaining 3 days about this, only after a found a caring staff member to help me, April Mapp, she is by far the best asset this hotel has. During the conference breakfast was served to us and it was late and cold. The staff did not clean the conference room or take out the trash from one day to the next. Oh and last but not least, air vent on 2nd floor blowing into hall was full of bird feathers and every time you walked by they blew out into your face. Disgusting, dirty hotel, what a shame!

Room Tip: Do not stay on the 2nd floor oceanfront especially if you have a breathing problem due to the mold a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay with us, Miss Small. I apologize that you had to experience these inconveniences while you were here. When you came to the Front Desk to make us aware of the issues Nina, our Revenue Manager, gave you complimentary breakfast vouchers for the inconvenience and then we immediately moved you to a different room that was up to our normal high standards. I will most definitely recognize April for a job well done and we thank you for your kind words regarding her. She is absolutely a valued employee. Once again, I am sorry your stay was not satisfactory, but we hope to see you next year again for the convention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The hotel is about 14 or 15 years old. The location is great. It is on the boardwalk, near shopping and food. The staff was very nice. The maids were polite, the front desk was nice to work with as well.

The room we stayed in 219 needed some upgrades. The wall paper was peeling off the wall in several areas. The wall paper had been patched several times. Under some of the missing wall paper was mold. The dressers were missing handles. The bed was chipped up in several places. There was a large area where a chair or love seat was supposed to be but was missing. My wife did not like the fact that our "Ocean View" was obstructed by a roof top area.

The hotel was clean for the most part. The hotel hallways and lobby was clean. The floors of the room never seemed clean. They always had sand or debri on the floors. Also, our room was not cleaned until 5pm our second night. That was a little ridiculous.

Room Tip: The second floor was nice because the pool and game room were close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piasan-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding the staff, location, and hospitality. I am sorry that the cleanliness and lack of renovations were not up to these standards as well. We are aware that we are in need of renovations and we plan on making necessary changes during our off-season when it is not so busy. Although our goal is for each guest to have a wonderful stay we are always thankful for the opportunity to understand how we may improve, so we appreciate your honesty, and we hope you give us the chance to serve you next year as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

this trip was so far one of the best of all. it was my second time here (and soon to be my third) and it is very amazing here.one of my favorite parts of this hotel is how their are nice little shops in the hotel and a very nice pool/ pools and my rom was just so nice with a great view from the balcony of the beach. hopefully ill have the same experience next year as i go to the same hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tyler n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

What a nice review! I am sure your review will give TripAdvisor readers a lot of information and tips about our hotel, and we thank you for that. We are very happy you had such an amazing experience, and we look forward to accommodating you next year as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I am an avid traveler and check in to hotels all over the USA and International locations. This is one of the WORSE CHECK IN EXPERIENCES EVER! I had to wait 1 1/2 hours to check in and then was to by the Desk Manager Sorry we were booked last night. I stay at hotels from both Choice, Priority Clubs and Marriott Hotel chains and have never had to wait this long for a room and then get told that. I was not the only one told this there were numerous guest who attempted to check in and were told they would call us when our room was ready. I find that to be a sorry excuse for the house keeping and cleaning staff. The very lease they could have done was upgrade us to clean rooms that they new were ready when we checked in but no They decided that making customers wait was better then just telling us our rooms were not ready but what we will do is upgrade the guest because of the tardiness of the cleaning staff. If it was not for the fact that we were down here for a conference for my wife we WOULD NOT STAY here again.

Room Tip: Book a nicer Hotel somewhere else in Ocean City Md.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank joe d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Thank you for your review Mr. Dea. We can never guarantee check-in before 4:00 pm, but we do try our very best to check guests in early that arrive before that time. You arrived at the hotel around 1:30 pm and we were thankful to get you in at 3:00 pm, an hour before check-in time. I think there was some confusion between your group registration time (between 1:00-3:00 pm) and the hotel check-in time (4:00 pm), but nonetheless, I am happy that we were able to assist you before 4:00 pm when all rooms are guaranteed to be ready. When I told you at the front desk that we were sold out the night before that was to shed some light on the situation as to why all of the rooms were not ready right at 1:30 pm when you arrived, it was certainly not to avoid the situation all together. I apologize that you feel as if you were not treated well, because that was indeed not our intention. I hope we see you in the future and have the pleasure as serving you as our guest once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was a planned birthday celebration for my 91 year old mother , and we had a wonderful time. My husband and family travel to Ocean City 2 to 3 times a year and alway's choose the Grand for location and accomadations. Located on 21st street the hotel is close to many good restaurants within walking distance and we love the fact that it as the start of the board walk with less congestion and still have access to the shops .

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are less windy than ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keekUpstateNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you very much for such a nice review. Your review, feedback, and heart warming compliments have been shared and indeed appreciated by the team of the Grand Hotel & Spa. We always love welcoming you back each year, and we look forward to your next vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We booked our bi-annual convention with the Grand Hotel and Spa during the last week of September 2013. The rooms, service and amenities were absolutely fantastic and the rates were very reasonable. All the staff bent over backwards to make sure we were enjoying our stay and they worked with us throughout the week to ensure that all of our groups needs were being met. I would highly recommend the Grand for you next gathering in Ocean City. A special thanks to LaFabian Marshall in their Sales Department for giving us that personal touch. We felt as if we were treated like family.

Bob Devers

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertDevers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara S, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

We thank you for your review Mr. Devers! We were happy to have you and other members from the Maryland State Troopers Association and hope to see all of you return next year as well. We value La Fabian so much and are never surprised to hear of her job well done. Thank you again for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,376 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
887 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#29 of 104 in Ocean City
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £47 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing