We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "go-to" spot in Ocean City”
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #16 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Odenton, Maryland, United States
Level 6 Contributor
532 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Our "go-to" spot in Ocean City”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Grand is our favorite place at the beach. The rooms are great. The king jacuzzi room is unbelievable. The hotel contains a coffee shop, spa, pizza place, a bar, a restaurant, & indoor/outdoor pools. The staff is very friendly & very accommodating. The view from the 12th floor is unparalleled in Ocean City.

Room Tip: Go for ocean front (rather than ocean view). Spring for the king jacuzzi room to spoil yourselves!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your most recent stay with us! We are thrilled to be your favorite location in Ocean City! We value your patronage and look forward to your next visit to the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,020
    1,156
    579
    290
    214
See reviews for
1,489
1,038
68
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Arrived on Thursday for a long weekend and attendance at the Cheerleaders Nationals. Room was right on the ocean and had a nice balcony. Clean, lots of towels, very nice maid. (only con was the little refrigerator froze my cheese and my slider was foggy) Chose a spa day and thoroughly enjoyed a message by Karen and haircut by Sheila. All and all, pretty good getaway for an "almost spring" weekend.

Room Tip: We were in unite 611 which is right on the ocean. Ice machine is outside, but we never heard it or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words concerning your stay and our staff! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy your getaway. You will be happy to know we are in the process of completely replacing all our sliding glass doors, and plan to be finished by the start of the summer season! Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our room was ocean front! View from balcony spanned up and down the boardwalk. Delightful stay on the 10th floor. Rooms are spacious. Wonderful small kitchenette with microwave and fridge. Retro styled hotel with recent updates. We used large conference room for scrapbooking/stamping activities. Staff was very professional and accommodating. Quantity of food and quality of food at a reasonable price. Coffee shop on the main floor serves great brews however, you must have cash. They did not take credit cards.

Room Tip: Most all the rooms are ocean front. The heater was a bit loud when it was on, but tolerable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adragonflyhsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are so glad you enjoyed the spectacular views from our balconies as well as the amenities in the hotel. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

The four elevators are slow and inadequate for the number of rooms and conference traffic. The only saving grace being that it was the off season and the hotel was half empty otherwise moving between ballroom / hotel room / vendor display in lobby would have been impossible.

Aside from the elevators the most annoying thing about the hotel was the near constant hotel maintenance traffic through the lobby and conference vendor area.

Given the maintenance traffic and with the start of the season only a month away I would have expected the hotel to be in better shape. Carpeting was worn and door and jams needed to be painted. May seem minor but impressions are important

The conference food was below average at best even for conference food. Nothing worth talking about except the cookies at the afternoon break were warm and very nice

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank GV27OCMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all comments, both positive and negative, as it is the only way to assure we continue to grow and develop as a property. I'm saddened to hear your stay could have been more enjoyable. Our elevators are properly functioning, however it is possible they run slower when the entire capacity of the hotel is attempting to board at the same time due to conference schedules. Our busiest season has not yet begun, so the hotel is still working on getting the hotel ready for the summer. I will be sure to pass along your comments regarding the food to our Food and Beverage Department. Once again, thank you for your comments, and we hope you will choose to visit us again the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This review is more about superior and friendly service than the property's amenities. Michelle welcomed me warmly at check-in and also helped a group of lobby-based trade show vendors stay organized and stay warm. Late March snow with high winds made for some interesting lobby experiences every time the doors opened. The hotel was still operating at "low season" staffing so getting things done often meant that hotel staff wore multiple hats much of the time. Michelle was a great example of poise, professionalism, and hospitality during my stay at The Grand Hotel & Spa.

Room Tip: Rooms four stories up or more offer the best ocean views. Rooms near the staircase are preferable b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islander_wannabe4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
It is very much appreciated that you took the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor so that others can be assured of the level of service they will receive when they visit our hotel. Customer satisfaction is the foundation of any hospitality company and a practice we take very seriously at our property. All of our Guest Services staff are truly valued members of our team and we are delighted to hear that your stay was made that much more enjoyable as a result of their commitment to service. Again, our sincere thanks for your generous response to your stay, and we hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The room was amazing! We opened the door and we were staring at the ocean. Absolutely gorgeous view. Ordered room service the next morning and our attendant was extremely professional and courteous. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was a bit noisy with the ballroom above up but it was tolerable-loved the kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
I would like to thank you for choosing The Grand Hotel for your recent trip to Ocean City and also for then taking the time to write a review of our property. It was very rewarding to learn that you have indeed enjoyed your stay with us. It was also great to hear you enjoyed our beautiful ocean views as much as we do. Thanks again, and we hope that on your next trip to Ocean City we will once again have the pleasure of having you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Had a 90 minute massage with Karen. It was the best massage I ever had! She was fantastic!!! We were there during the snow and at first I had scheduled a 60 minute massage, but because of the weather, I asked for a 90 minute massage and Karen was able to accommodate me. Will only go to Karen when in OC!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hark0v8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle G, Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review of spa at the hotel. It is one of our most prized services we offer at the hotel. Its always great to hear kind words about our staff. We hope you always remember us at The Grand Hotel and Spa, and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
310 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#34 of 103 in Ocean City
861 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing