We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location.. not very clean”
Review of Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #15 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location.. not very clean”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The location is very good very convenient to go to beach and close to all shopping and kids activities. The room was not very clean.. can be compared to a motel than a 3* hotel. Didn't feel the bed sheets and comforters were fresh. Did not clean the room even after putting the sign outside... Had to hold for 5 min and leave a message to contact the room service, eventually I had to walk to front desk to get some clean towels as no response after couple of hours.

Room Tip: Choose 6th floor or above. Choose rooms between x08-x18 for better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty T, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
I thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. I apologize that you experienced issues with our housekeeping department. I am ashamed that we were not able to live up to your expectations, nor ours. It is my hope that we were able to rectify the situation with your room. Again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I know we will be able to exceed your expectations next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    965
    1,103
    543
    275
    198
See reviews for
1,373
1,003
66
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was not expecting much from this hotel because a lot of the hotels on the boardwalk of OC are motels status. This hotel was a perfect location on the boardwalk and it fit my needs. The room at first glance was clean and very big. I was on the 11th floor with direct ocean view. The balcony was big and had enough room for us to relax on. It was also quiet in my room and on my floor. I had a good night sleep every night. It had a lot of amenities there to choose from. Indoor pool and outside pool with a tiki bar! Pizza place and a breakfast place at the floor level. A spacious parking garage to leave your car in as well. The room had wallpaper peeling off the wall and the metal cover that was covering the furnace in the room was coming off the wall. The hotel front desk staff and the coffee shop staff wasn't as friendly as you might expect. The maids were friendly and very nice. They always kept the room clean and smelling good. If they could replace the front desk staff with the housekeeping staff that would be a lot better. The housekeeping people are more friendly there. I called the hotel at 9pm to ask what time the Epic Bar and Grill closed on a saturday night and they said it was closed. I arrived back at the hotel on saturday night about 12;30am and they were still open. It was responses like this that had me believe that the front desk staff didnt know exactly what they were talking about. Overall, I would consider staying there again. I just wouldnt rely on the staff, I would just find out certain things myself.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty T, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Thank you for your very detailed review. I appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. It is through guest feedback such as yours that helps us improve the training of our staff and lets us know where we have fallen behind. Apart from the few issues you had with your stay, I am glad you were able to enjoy yourself here at the Grand Hotel & Spa, and I hope to we are able to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I did not stay at they hotel but I did have a massage with Karen at the Acqua Day Spa and again it was the best ever! Karen leaves me feeling healed, refreshed, rejuvenated and relaxed! Thank you for yet another awesome massage Karen (I hope you get your star) :)

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank bikinandhikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I have stayed at this hotel since it was opened in the late 1990's. The staff is great. Our housekeeper Trifan Lilia kept our room very clean and neat. However, the hotel is getting "long in the tooth." It is in dire need of remodeling. And, quite frankly, the hotel is servicing a clientele that is neither respectful to other or the facility. We found a human feces on elevator 3 upon returning from the boardwalk one evening. The Grand would be better served to go upscale and rid itself and us of this clientele

Room Tip: Pay the extra money and stay on the 11th or 12th floor to avoid the rift raft that habitates lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toots R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty T, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very glad that you were well taken care of by our housekeeper. Let me take this time to apologize for the condition in which you found elevator number three. We have security on patrol throughout the entire hotel but unfortunately not every space can be monitored at the same time. Once we became aware of the situation, the elevator was shut down and cleaned and sanitized. As for the last part of your review, I am sure you are aware that the Town of Ocean City is a very diverse place; and as such we are proud to serve such a diverse clientele since our opening in 2001. Again, thank you for your review and I hope you will return for your next vacation to Ocean City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear Creek Twp
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My family and I have been coming to OC for about 9 years now. I had made our reservations at our usual hotel (reviewed elsewhere) but we had to cancel late in the year and could not get a room there. After looking at many hotels on here, I decided to give The Grand a try. I saw mixed reviews and thought it can't too bad. Well let me tell you, I agree with others on here that think all the good reviews are being made by management or employees and their friends and family. I'll start with the entrance, there is a fountain outside that has only one working spout of many and smells like decaying fish and cigarettes. Walk in the lobby and it smells like dog poop and feet. I got there a little before check in time and there was no line. They gave me my room key and ran my card. I had asked for a room on one of the upper floors with an ocean view or "Grand View" as they call it. What we got was a room on the 4th floor with what they call a "partial view" when I went back to the front desk to ask about this they said there were no other rooms available and there was nothing they could do. So I go back to the room where my family was waiting. During my wife's initial check of the room she found pubic hair on the bathroom counter and floor. After I told her that we had to stay in that room we checked the rest of the room. The wallpaper is peeling all over the place. There was mold on the ceiling, THE CEILING!
Neither mirror in the room had been cleaned in some time as there was a smokey film on them. The bedding obviously had not been changed from prior guests as we found crumbs in the sheets. My wife had to scrub the coffee pot as it had also had a film inside and out. There is mold in all corners of the bathroom and what appeared to be dried vomit on the side of the toilet. We had to keep our clothes in our suitcases as the drawers all had some type of debris or hair in them. The balcony is a pretty good size however there is absolutely NO privacy as they are only separated by some wrought iron railings (they say it's so you get a better view on either side). While we were standing on the balcony a child was making his way between the railings and going from room to room so if you do make the mistake of staying here make sure you lock the patio door because a thin person can easily make their way on to you balcony. I knew about the open balcony situation ahead of time, thanks to the reviews on here, I brought 2 cheap king size sheets and tied them to the railings for some privacy. The mattresses are SHOT they squeak worse than if they had come out of an old brothel.
My daughter wanted to get some ice cream from the shop in the lobby but changed her mind when she got another smell of the lobby. It poured the second night we were there so we figured we would check out the arcade and pool. Half the machines in the arcade were out of order and the claw machines were empty. So now we venture to the indoor pool. The water was cloudy and there was "stuff" floating in it. My daughter went to use the bathroom in the arcade and said that one stall had vomit all over it and one stall had a baby changing station that not been cleaned in sometime. There were no clean towels at the pool and thee were people in there drinking and eating like it was a party. The floor around the pool was slippery due to green mold all over. We left and went back to the room.
I can go on but I think you get the idea. This place is absolutely FILTHY!!! We called the front desk to try to address some of the problems but all you get is a recording, I don't think they really care anyway. You would think management would be looking at these reviews and realize something needs to be done but I guess as long as they are selling rooms it doesn't matter.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ty T, Manager at Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
First, let me begin by thanking you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am deeply saddened that you had such an experience. I assure you that this is not the standard of service that we offer our guests. Also, upon inspection of your room, the "mold" you had found was, in fact, dust that had blown out from the corners of your A/C vent. As for your room type, the Grand View rooms, are our partial view rooms on the sides of the hotel. The room you had booked was an Ocean View located just between Direct Ocean Front and Grand (side) View. I extend to you my sincerest apologies and reassure you that we take pride in offering our guests quality service and clean rooms and facilities. I appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and will direct your comments to the appropriate departments so this will not happen again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night during the 4th of July weekend. I have no complaints with the exception of the hotel being somewhat dated. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view was beautiful. We would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank CherryKeane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Just got back from the Grand today and this the first time I was not satisfied with a Hotel. For the price you might as well stay at one of the cheap motel or smaller hotel. The balcony was not private at all, it was divided by iron grills. Who want to see your neighbor or kids jumping up on down on the balcony when you are vacationing. The cheap plastic chairs on the balcony were dirty. You cant smoke on the balcony, my husband did not know that until we got to the hotel.
The sight that we book it through didn't say that. The smoking area is in the front of the building, which I thing is worst because while guest were smoking at the entrance, the families with their babies coming in, was inhaling all that second smoke.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muriell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
2,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.7 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#29 of 103 in Ocean City
845 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Castle in the Sand Hotel
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
850 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: 2100 Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-3534
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel And Spa
Grand Hotel Ocean City Md
Grand Ocean City
The Stowaway Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing