We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    416
    165
    58
    46
See reviews for
476
476
33
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annandale
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed over a long weekend. The rates were reasonable and the hotel was overall clean and the staff friendly. The bathrooms have been remodeled and are very nice and there have been other upgrades so overall the hotel is nice. There is an ocean front deck to sit and eat and the hotel is directly on the boardwalk. We were on the 7thf(713) floor in an ocean view room. On the left side of the building the 7th floor is taller than the other buildings around it so the view was really great and looked down the beach. The only thing I would say is the room was good for a short stay, but I would not personally stay a week in the room, There is a very small fridge and a microwave. However, there are no utensils, no sink or range. So other than heating up coffee of something you really cannot cook in the room. Also, there is no couch, so the room was basically small and truly just a room with no real facilities. Breakfast in the bistro was just OK, although again the wait staff we very friendly.

Room Tip: 713 is good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LovetoTravelnEatOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

They say its all about: Location, location location.. Well that holds true for this hotel!! We recently stayed for an overnight stay to enjoy the peace and quiet of the off-season. You can't beat the hotel being directly "on the boardwalk/ beach" and within walking distance to all the popular spots in OC!! The room was very spacious, clean and we had a great side-view of the ocean/ bay with an attached balcony for seating. The bed was "almost" as good as being in our own at home.. We had a very great stay at this hotel and eager to return again in the summer months when OCMD is at its peak for vactioning!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HDSoftailgirl89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Very clean room, we had ocean front deluxe, 7th floor. TV, picture was fuzzy on most channels, didn't have hd, so some stations were not available...but no big deal. Location was great, had Brass Balls next door for dinner, and has Brothers Bistro right in the building, so didn't have to drive much. the room was a lot larger than some rooms, had a nice seating area. The main thing we didn't like, and we heard a few people complain about was the elevators. They seemed to jump a lot and scared a lot of people when they stopped, it was like a big drop. Did not like them at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beach4meVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

I stayed at howard and Johnson with my husband for a night on 9th Oct. It was over all a very satisfactory experience.
Good Points:

1) Location !! Location !! Location : its located right at the beach. We didn't take a sea view room but it didn't matter as it took a minute to get to the beach. Also, its right in the middle of activity with many restaurants around.

2) Price: Not sure what the season rates are but we got a standard king for $60 as it was off-season. It wasn't a sea facing room, and the view we had was of the parking lot located behind the hotel. We spent the entire day on the beach so didn't matter to us.

3) Room: The room was very big,clean and bright, just how I like it. Lot's of sunshine and natural light and colorful decor. It also had all the basic amenities, microwwave, refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee machine, clothes iron. Much better than I have seen in some hotels with better rating.

4) Indoor swimming pool: It has an indoor swimming pool at the ground floor, looked very nice and clean though we didn't actually use it.

5) Enviornment Friendly: I really liked how they had taken steps to make everything enviornment friendly. Not sure how well all the practises are actually followed, but it did seem to be a nice effort on their part.

6) Friendly staff: I spoke to 3 people on the front desk, all of them were polite and friendly. The house keeping staff was also very co-operative.

Not so good points: There was nothing bad

1) Bathroom: It was spotless, no problems there. However it really needed some sort of mats or something for absorbing the water on the floor. It got totally wet after I took a shower and was like that for most of the duration of the stay. I do not like using towels for cleaning the floor hence it remained messy throughout.

2) Lighting in the room was very poor: The room was a very good size but there were only 2 lamps, that too located at odd corners. It was poorly lit by the night and I wouldn't have enjoyed reading in that much light.

3) The pillows: The pillows were more like cushions and a little comfortable.

Over I was 100% statisfied with the experience. The rates were good, it was clean and location was great. Wasn't expecting more.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NeeR_RG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed here when we decided to grab an extra night at the beach. We like to eat at the italian place on the bottom-- so we thought we would check out the prices and see if we could stay here. We were here on a Sunday night in early October, we paid about 60 dollars for an ocean view room--- and we were right on the boardwalk...

The room was so clean, they provided nice amenities, the shower was very spacious, and the bed was super comfy. French doors to the balcony were very cute. We loved it. Great experience.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms are nice and cheaper than ocean front they have corner room also, so you get a mix...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joppa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We wanted to get in one last beach weekend before we conceded fall had arrived - and got a good rate at the Howard Johnson OF Plaza. Upon arrival a little early on a Friday afternoon, Jenn and her male counterpart (sorry, I didn't catch his name), greeted me in a very friendly way and happily advised our room was ready and checked me in.

The room was very clean and cheerful - bright floral matching bedspread and drapes - and the carpet appeared to be new (and after walking around barefoot throughout the weekend, my feet remained clean). We had a partial view room and were able to see a nice strip of beach and boardwalk from the very comfortable adirondack-style chairs (also clean) on the balcony.

The bathroom was small, but appeared to have been recently redone. One thing I wanted to mention here is that in the space there would normally be a tub, there is now only a shower. The bottom was very slippery, so be careful or take a bathmat. The sink is pedestal style - and they've added a small shelving unit with a door (maybe 2 foot high) where they place the towels, spare TP and tissue).

Small touches were made to make the room a bit more upscale/boutique. The towels and washcloths were folded to look like packages, which was really cute - and the TP had a foil seal at the end - pillows were all stood on end instead of laid flat (we're seeing this everywhere, so it must be the latest rage in hotel-decor and I have to say it does look nice).

We were only there 2 nights - and had no mechanical issues - though the door to the balcony stuck badly, requiring some force to open and shut. Humidity is high at beach locations, but this was worse than the norm. The room had a flat screen TV that was mounted on the wall, which was very nice. However, the sofa was on the same wall as the TV, so you had to watch TV on/in bed. It would have been much preferable to have them on the opposite walls. I realize this is a fairly minor issue in the grand scheme of things - and space may be the determining factor - but it would probably deter me from staying at the hotel for a longer stay unless I got a sweetheart of a deal.

There is a very tiny "market" in the lobby next to the reception desk that sells chilled soda and individual size OTC items and a small selection of candy. We found this very convenient, as the soda machines we come across in OC are often empty or malfunctioning - and this saved us a trip to a convenience store or a journey to find a vending machine that worked.

We were very comfortable during our stay at the Howard Johnson Oceanfront Plaza Hotel. All common areas - the ground floor entrance, the first floor lobby and our third floor hallway were all clean and had a pleasant smell. We heard little noice from the hallway and no noise from other rooms. All of the staff we encountered during our stay (several, as we bought soda from their market three different times) were all friendly, accommodating and professional In this area alone, they stand head and shoulders above many of their competitors - it gave me a feeling of a well run organization. We would definitely return to the hotel on a future visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsb040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#8 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing