We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
BURNHAM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bike week”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

we have stayed here alot every time we were pleasesd with serviced and the staff a very nice place to stay will return next year .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Elouise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    418
    169
    60
    46
See reviews for
482
482
34
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2012

The Hotel is fantastic in it's location, and cleanliness. The staff is great, the food is good.
If I have any negativity it would be the Parking Garage. My wife has bad kness and with no elevator in the garage it was a tough time retrieving her bike several times a day we had to park on the top floor, 5 flights of stairs killed her, so I had to get it a few times and my knees are bad too. They should have an elevator in the garage.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Barry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BUDD LAKE
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Had a good time the room was clean the locatin was just right for what I had to do the view was out of this world I could have not ask for a nicer stay

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Morris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEATHERLY
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I appreciate the staff Megan helping us out on a room after our reservation was canceled. She was very frendly and professional .

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank 79michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Ok so I stayed at this hotel last week. I have stayed here in the past but very short trips and had probably the best room in the hotel when I stayed previously. The whole experience this time was terrible. To start out, they double billed us and booked 2 rooms instead of 1 as we requested. The room was small, smelly, sticky carpets, dirty bathroom, mildew/mold ceilings, and wait did I say small!! The linens were hideous, curtains were dirty, balcony neglected, the maintenance was shotty! Blah! The indoor pool is a joke, they closed the outdoor one which actually wasn't bad before. The elevator is rickety, the breakfast at the restaurant was terrible, the front desk staff were actually nice, but when we checked in there was only one person and it took awhile. Basically, don't waste your money and go here. It is so overpriced and needs a complete overhaul. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. This hotel needs an update for sure. Can't really take a shower without worrying the water might leak out. Paid around $150 per night with free WiFi and Parking. Consider very good deal with so close to the boardwalk and shops.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloebebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore,maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

beds were very hard, the location was perfect. we stayed in room 411 and the bathroom ceiling was leaking and also the phone was unhooked. the manager on duty was very nice and took care of our concerns. but when you are paying for 5 stars you shoud get five stars. the pool was very nice the bottom had some rough spots that hurt you feet.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hbighamjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#17 of 103 in Ocean City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Paradise Plaza Inn
Paradise Plaza Inn
#11 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-7347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing