We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OC,MD”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have been staying @ this quality hotel for years & years. It is always clean & comfortable and the staff are always courteous. We look forward to our trip to Ocean City, MD, next year, and we will surely stay at HOJOs OceanFront Plaza, on 12th St. and Boardwalk. The oceanfront rooms are splendid.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    448
    183
    61
    48
See reviews for
532
501
36
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Hot room . Small balcony. Beds uncomfortable. Ask for a room away from the noisy elevators. Fridge doesn't get cold so do not bring food and make sure if u stay here you bring soap and shampoos

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
4 Thank Tara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plazamanager, General Manager at Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I am very sorry that you feel this way about our rooms, especially since you were here last year and were in the same exact room type . We are sorry that perhaps these aren't the accommodations for you and your family but, we have worked very hard to make our hotel a place that we are proud of and would be happy to have anyone be our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time. I am always nervous about ocean city hotels, as most are questionable at best, but I was pleasantly surprised at this hotel. Parking was very convenient. Check in was easy and no problems.
Being on the boardwalk during " senior week/month", we expected noise. It was super quiet and we doesn't hear much of anything.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. The entire place was clean, and somewhat updated.
Our biggest complaint was size. The room was a 2 double, being that we were traveling with kids, however, it was small. I would not recommend this type of room for people who like even a little extra space! The bathroom was very tight and the vent fan sounded like an airplane taking off! (Believe this was only a maintainance issue). The room was humid, but not musty.... a big plus.
The location was great, steps to the beach. The indoor pool was small, and really only "ok", very strong chlorine smell... the kids didn't mind, but I did.
Overall, some negatives, but more positives. We very happy with our stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kelly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Mary Sue is the manager. She is polite, professional, and definitely a "hands on" type supervisor. Mary Sue is always visible and approachable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Todd Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 103 in Ocean City
3,361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#28 of 103 in Ocean City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
1.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Property: Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-7347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing