We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Our first visit to Ocean City, Md., and we had a very nice time thanks in part, to the wonderful, friendly, helpful staff at this Hotel. We had a son coming home on leave from the military, had to change the reservation, which was done with no problem. We arrived in the morning well before 3:00 check-in but we were allowed to use the parking garage (which is 5 stories,very convenient)
and the very nice woman at the desk took my phone# and called us when our room was ready for early check-in. The view was great, the room was clean and pleasantly furnished with fridge, coffeemaker,iron,hairdryer,microwave etc. Everything you could need. No outdoor pool but there is an indoor one. Just a great place, right on the boardwalk and we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean front or Ocean view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 3bstarmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
There are newer reviews for Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

769 - 775 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

We weren't able to get in the room because the door handle was put on upside down. The room wasn't very clean. Holes were in the sheets. And we paid for ocean/ boardwalk view and got the view of seagulls on a roof. We could see the beach if we stood up, however if you sit you can't. The water would only stay warm for a few showers and then we had to wait. The AC wasn't very cooling. Elevators took a long time. If you want ocean/ boardwalk view, don't stay on the 2nd floor.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 31 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank 7,913
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I am a TripAdvisor fanatic so I want to add to your decision making. I was very please with all aspects of my stay at the Howard Johnson Plaza. Great location. The front desk ladies were very helpful and friendly. My room was clean and the side view from balcony was good. I slept well, nice and quiet in my room 513. The housekeeper even made me a little paper rose! We ate at the onsite restaurant and it was good. They let my family play cards in the restaurant one evening when it wasn't too busy. I did not try the indoor pool, but it looked nice. They have a parking garage which was very convenient. And as I am handicapped and use a mobility scooter I was glad I could easily maneuver through the hotel. I will be back!!!

Room Tip: My room was 513, clean and quiet with plenty of space.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peg1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This was a decent place to stay during our recent trip to Ocean City. The location was great: right on the boardwalk with easy and quick access to the beach, but not in the middle of the busiest and loudest parts of the boardwalk. We had a balcony with a side view of the ocean that was pretty nice. The room was certainly spacious, though the bathroom was too small. My biggest issue, however, was the overall cleanliness of the room. We were particularly put off by the smell and the air quality. From the moment we stepped into the room, it smelled musty and moldy, and the air felt dense. We opened the balcony door and let the room air out for about 3 hours, but there was little change in the smell. I called the front desk and, although they were quite pleasant, they were of no help. The hotel was booked and so there was no place else to move us. They sent a manager up who could not locate the source of the smell, and so there was nothing he could do to fix it. So we had to return to this damp and musty room every night of our trip. Additionally, if I walked around the room barefoot (which is common when it's summer and you're in a beach town), I noticed the soles of my feet would get uncommonly dirty very quickly. I just didn't feel like the room was clean, and I am not someone who typically fixates on these kinds of details. We tried to use the pool one of the days we were there, but walked out after a few minutes because the pool was full of sand from the beach and looked like it hadn't really been cleaned in some time. Overall, the room rates were decent for the location. The size of the room was good and the staff was pleasant. The facilities, however, were not all that clean and comfortable, hence the three stars.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank calliroi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.1 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,213 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ocean City
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
0.2 mi away
The Commander Hotel
The Commander Hotel
#8 of 104 in Ocean City
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront

Address: 1109 Atlantic Avenue, Ocean City, MD 21842-7347
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#13 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#15 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £56 - £384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 90 room hotel located in the middle of the famous Ocean City Boardwalk. We are in close proximity of any amenity you could want. Walk right out our front door to the beautiful Ocean City beach! You’re not just a guest with us, your family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel - Ocean City Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel
Howard Johnson Plaza Ocean City Md
Howard Johnson Ocean City
Ocean City Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing