We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location”
Review of Flamingo Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flamingo Motel
Ranked #58 of 103 Hotels in Ocean City
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I have been visiting OCM just about every summer for the last 30 years. While I usually stay in owner-owned condos for a week, I couldn't make a whole week this year. So I decided to look for a hotel. I knew I was in for a hard time because hotels are so expensive in OCM. But I found the Flamingo for a good price. I stayed in the old section. I have to say, the room for being old was very clean and the staff was wonderful. Even providing a shower with towels and changing room well after checkout. With only about 3 blocks from the boardwalk the location was great. The beach was not too crowded.
I would definitely stay again if visiting OC for less then a week.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NortheastPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    79
    50
    26
    21
See reviews for
90
62
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hampton Bays, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I was looking for a cheaper motel close to the boardwalk and attractions. Motel has a perfect location, however rooms were dated and had some weird smell, but they were clean. I think for that price I would expect a little better quality, motel definitely need some renovations. There is a parking for guests, which was very convenient, since street parking is an issue during the summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roksolana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Right or wrong, I tend to be a bit less critical with beach hotels/motels because they tend to take a beating from beach chairs, humidity, kids, sand, etc. However, there's no reason to accept a lower standard of cleanliness. First, the hotel & room itself. The location is excellent and access to the beach within 50 yards. The layout of the room was fine - small kitchenette including a microwave, sink, and midsize fridge. (And a decent sized balcony.) They all worked fine except the fridge, which was missing the thermostat knob. Using a fork worked but should I have to? No. The shower head looked like it was installed in 1973. Small, low flow and whistled constantly - probably due to blockage of the nozzle. Mildew was quite evident in it. Unfortunately, it was also quite evident in the toilet bowl rim which is unforgivable. House keeping issues need to be addressed by management. A small amount of attention could elevate this motel significantly. A modern $40 shower head, some 'real' house cleaning and a cosmetic touch up here & there should do it. Would I stay here again? Probably. But I'd like to see some improvements.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robmac57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theflamingomotel, Manager at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

I apologize if the housekeeper missed some details in your room. I will certainly follow up on this, we usually get rave reviews about our housekeeping.

We did intentionally pre-set the fridges and remove the control knobs.. We have had problems with guests turning the temperature to the coldest setting and getting excess frost in the freezer allowing no space for freezer items.

I hope this helps address your concerns and we hope to see you back at the Flamingo again soon.

Sincerely,
Joel-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmyra
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this motel 3 years ago and had a great experience. This time, not so much. We walked in our room and there was sticky hand prints on the cabinets and walls, a sticky kitchen floor, and other peoples hair all over the bathroom (in the tub, in the towels) and on our pillows. After spending even more money on cleaning products, we spend the first hour of our vacation doing the job that someone failed to complete by cleaning our kitchen, bathroom, and floors. We couldn't walk around barefoot (especially right after showering, since our feet were wet and would pick up more dirt) because our feet would turn black from the dirty floors. Our fill in housekeeper was great, she got us things we didn't even ask for, considering our regular housekeeper wouldn't get us anything unless we asked for it specifically. The front desk staff was also helpful and accommodating in getting things that we needed for us. I'm not sure if it was because the 3 story motel is older and therefore is cared for less than the towers, but if I stay here again, I definitely won't be picking anything other than the towers, and even then, one has to question if it's worth having to spend a vacation cleaning your room...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Adoug238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theflamingomotel, Manager at Flamingo Motel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
I apologize that you were disappointed in your last stay.

We do have a very good housekeeping staff and our carpets are professionally cleaned before the start of every season and throughout the summer as needed.

Sincerely,
Joel-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

rockville, md
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Recently stayed in this hotel mid-week for a short vacation. The hotel was very competitively priced, and we were very happy with the view from our ocean side view room. Nice indoor and outdoor pool. The bathrooms in the hotel are dated, but the room was very clean. The staff were also very cheerful, friendly, and accommodating. I was staying with my father, who has a hard time walking due to asthma and they graciously offered us a close parking space, without me having to ask.

I usually stay at Flagship, but will be staying at this hotel again instead, because it is much more reasonably priced and cleaner. If you don’t want to shell out $300 a night, but want a decent ocean block room, this is your best bet. It is just 1-2 blocks up from the end of the boardwalk. AC is extra cold and Wifi works well.

Room Tip: Side ocean view in lobby building was very good, looks like it is just as good in other building, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdtraveler1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vineland, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This was my first trip to Ocean City and I was impressed with the town in general. The Hotel was a good value for the location, and the room (375) was very clean, and my housekeeper was friendly and efficient. The air conditioner and TV both worked well, and the room was comfortable. I didn't care for the old fashioned blankets though. I would stay there again if I ever return to OC.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingerbread5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the Flamingo Motel August of 2013. We paid for a Ocean View room and we were on the second floor. I would have rathered something a bit higher for a better view but we could still see the sun rise over the ocean.
The rooms were very clean for how old they are. Great water pressure and hot water. I think that is so important when you go down to the beach. Beds were ok, we would rather the option of 1 king bed instead of 2 double beds. The staff is so nice, and the Maids are usually done by 12:00. The outside pool is very clean, unlike most hotel's in the area. The parking lot get's very full, but the staff is always willing to help you get a spot even if it is right outside of the check in area. The beach is litterally a parking lot away. That is the best feature of the Motel.

It was a great stay last year, we are going there again in 3 weeks. They will have our business for years to come!!

Room Tip: Pick an Ocean View Room, Request for one higher than the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisandMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
1.8 mi away
Sea Bay Hotel
Sea Bay Hotel
#34 of 103 in Ocean City
414 reviews
5.0 mi away
Sea Hawk Motel
Sea Hawk Motel
#32 of 103 in Ocean City
255 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
Comfort Inn Gold Coast
#37 of 103 in Ocean City
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Cayman Suites
Cayman Suites
#18 of 103 in Ocean City
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Beach Hotel
Crystal Beach Hotel
#69 of 103 in Ocean City
287 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City
#35 of 103 in Ocean City
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Motel

Property: Flamingo Motel
Address: 3100 N Baltimore Ave, Ocean City, MD 21842-3399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Flamingo Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flamingo Motel offers affordable lodging in Ocean City, MD. We have 3 Ocean View Buildings that includes standard rooms as well as kitchenettes and suites. We also have an indoor and outdoor pool. All our rooms have a microwave and a small fridge, free wifi, and a 32 inch flat screen TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Flamingo Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Motel Ocean City Md
Flamingo Ocean City
Flamingo Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing