We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“St Paddys at Castle in the Sand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle in the Sand Hotel
Ranked #22 of 104 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stayed at Castle in the Sand during St Paddys weekend 2012. Check in and check out was smooth. The front desk was very nice and helpful. We stayed in the Oceanfront Penthouse, which had an awesome view of the beach and ocean. In the summer it would be a perfect view. The hotel is in walking distance to the 28th street area and the 45st village which is the ending point for the St Paddys parade. Can’t wait for coconuts to open in early May. Price, location, all in all it was a good choice and we we’re happy with our choice and stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are spectacular.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyinburrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Castle in the Sand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2012

Castle in the Sands is our favorite hotel in Ocean City! We have been staying there for the past three years, going at least twice each summer,and have had a fabulous experience each time. We stayed in the main building on the first floor where we were immersed in a tropical paradise with palm trees, beautiful flowers and plants, lights, private beach and live music. Oh and a Happy Hour that can't be beat in price. The service was top notch from housekeeping to an incredibily friendly front desk and a genral manager who made us feel like we were family. We have been to various tropical islands and the Castle in the Sand reminds me of these places.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This is a nice hotel that could use some updating. We stayed in the north building and our room was ok. It does NOT have central air. Again - we did NOT have central air and the A/C unit was located in the living room area by the balcony. That meant our back bedroom got uncomfortably warm. I actually just went and slept on the couch because it was just too hot in the bedroom to sleep.

The pool is very large and nice. They check your name when you enter so outsiders can't use the pool. I hate the restaurant located on the patio. I have no idea WHY they ruined that area with the cheesy restaurant because the food is not very good and you get eaten by bugs. They use to have a grill and you could just buy burgers by the bar so I don' t understand the point of the open air restaurant other than to completely ruin the view/atmosphere for the building right behind it. Big dislike on that one especially since they have a restaurant downstairs.
The ladies that run the kids activities were very nice and my children liked that alot. They made masks and pirate hats. Very fun for them.
The beach was fine. Plenty room to put down your towel and I did see waitresses from hotel roaming around getting drinks for folks. Nice touch. Overall - it was ok. Not sure we will bother going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Macilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

This is a privately owned resort, therefore it is the only resort in ocean city that has a private beach. We love lounging by the ocean and having waitress service! You can order delicious cocktails or food from their outdoor grill and have it delivered to your beach chair. We have stayed in the north suites and the south suites. Both have kitchens and family rooms. It's always been clean and perfect. There are townhouses you can rent also. The nice thing about this hotel is that it is not a huge high rise with thousands of guest. It's in between so there isn't herds of people trampling over you. It's closer to the boardwalk than most of the hotels this what we like. You can walk to a nearby bus stop and take the bus which goes up and down the strip all day long for a buck. They have a great tiki lounge which is open day and night, an inside bar where you can play keno. Take out breakfast place. Place your order over the phone walk two min to pick it up. The swimming pool is in the front which is great so the screaming children are away from the tiki bar which is near the sand. No reason not to stay here and enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank yogidavis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

My friends and I stayed here for a bachelorette party in September of 2011. There were about 12 girls and we rented three rooms. The rooms were spacious and all three of ours were identical which was great. There was a door to the outside that had chairs that were right on sand and the beach was steps away. Sadly it rained the entire weekend, so we didn't get to enjoy the beach, but it would have been great. The rooms have kitchen areas which is great for storing food, snacks and drinks. There were seperate tables and a couch. It was really a great space. The staff was pretty helpful as as well. There is an outdoor restaurant/bar area which was fun during the day. Even in the rain they were open. A pretty good band was playing cover tunes we could all sing along to. The food was affordable and tasty. There were really great drinks also and during happy hour they are buy one get one. Try the creamisicle one!! The only negatives were that there seem to be a lot of people that hang out in the parking lot and drink which is odd. Also, after the clubs close you can't hang outside your room. We did and were told by staff that we were loud and cops would come. That is a bit of a bummer if the weather was nice. The decor is a bit outdated but not run down by any means.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

First of all, anything and everything you do is being watched at every moment by the owner that lives next door. I can live with that as we are good and respectful tenants. The wost part of this property is bag worms. You heard me, bag worms. Google them. They are everywhere. They are disgusting and ruined our vacation. I had my brother in law go remove them and they all returned the next day. Soooo icky. I would never stay here again until they correct this issue. Seriously, google bag worms before you stay here. They are infesting this property and it is disgusting. Never staying here again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eloci63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

went out on a limb and tried a new place this year and am never going anywhere else, the castle has EVERYTHING! I was constantly impressed, everyone was so helpful from check in to check out. I could relax without worry because the kids were mesmerized all day by Sunshine, a professional children's activities entertainer. She did everything, message in a bottle they mailed to their grandparents, mermaid shows, pirate adventures... I could not believe that it was all free. Also best surprise ever.. waitresses will come serve you on the beach and pool! For some reason this is the only hotel that can do this, plus it is legal to have their alcoholic beverages on the beach too. amazing stay, definitely coming back.

Room Tip: staying seven nights you pretty much get the last night free
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.6 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#6 of 104 in Ocean City
2,216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel & Spa
Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 104 in Ocean City
3,489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
Comfort Inn Boardwalk
#27 of 104 in Ocean City
318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Ocean City
Holiday Inn Ocean City
#33 of 104 in Ocean City
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle in the Sand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle in the Sand Hotel

Address: 3701 Atlantic Ave, 37th Street & Oceanfront, Ocean City, MD 21842-3338
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maryland > Ocean City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Ocean City
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £51 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle in the Sand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premiere direct oceanfront family resort with desirable location on two blocks sun-kissed beach. Guest amenities include free wireless internet, Olympic pool with diving board, sand volleyball court, beach equipment rentals on-site, free kid’s activities, and live entertainment daily in season. Beach House dining offers a la carte breakfast and buffet breakfast daily. Coconuts Beach Bar offers open-air beachfront patio dining. Waitress service on our beach and pool deck. Take A Dip Ice Cream Shop open Memorial Day thru Labor Day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle in the Sand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle In The Sand Hotel Ocean City
Castle In The Sand Ocean City Md

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing